Join Bridge Winners
You be the committee!

West
Q10543
J874
AJ109
North
2
103
J9743
KQ762
East
KJ
AKQ95
Q65
543
South
A9876
62
AK1082
8
W
N
E
S
P
1
2
P
2NT
P
3
4
5
P
P
5
P
P
P
D
5 East
NS: 0 EW: 0

N/S are solid Flight A players.  E/W are solid Flight B players.  Matchpoints.

The 20-second BIT by East over 5D was agreed to by all.  The director was called after the 5H bid, and said to play on and call her back if N/S feel they were damaged.

The director was called again when dummy hit.  Director said to play it out and call her back if N/S feel they have a problem after the hand.  5H makes, and 5D is going down 1.

The director was called, again :), after the hand.  She asked West why he'd bid like that.  He said he intended to wait and see if N/S landed in spades, which is why he passed initally over 2H.  He felt that he had not fully shown his values when he bid 4H, and felt he was entitled to bid 5H even after the BIT.

N/S felt that on this auction, after the BIT, pass was a logical alternative.

The director ruled the table result (5H making) stands.  You're on the appeals committee.  Your ruling?

Table result stands (5H-E making)
Rolled back to 5D-S down 1
Other (please explain in comments).

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
76 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top