Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Alan Frank
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 202 203 204 205
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
MP or IMPs? I don't think it matters here, but someone could argue that pass by west is not an LA at IMPs.
19 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's simplify to declarer holding A AK AQJ. Declarer knows that the K is out. If he also knows that the spades are gone, he'll give up the club early. On the other hand, if he believes that there are still several spades out, he should cash all four of his winners because if he gives up a club early, he won't get them all. Therefore, there is nothing illogical about playing that way. If he was confused about the clubs, there is no reason to think his was not also confused about the spades.

I try to be nice to claimers where I think they just forgot to say something, but not where they have totally lost track.

Some other examples:

If declarer had A A AQJ, I would give him four tricks. That is the way I would play the hand at the table even if I “knew” the K had been played. Here there is no possible advantage to playing the clubs first.

OTOH, if he had A A A AQJ, I would give him five tricks on similar logic. Of course, if declarer were in dummy which was void in clubs, he would have to cross to his hand in some suit and open himself up there and the adjudication would be made on the basis of him picking the worst possible suit. So if West holds KQ KQ Kx, declarer loses two tricks. He does not get to cross in diamonds. However, I will not force him to unblock both major suits.
Nov. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Overcaller. Corrected.
Nov. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Dale, I don't see any reason to think OP doesn't know when it applies.
Nov. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is there some way East can signal as to whether he wants a ruff? With a stronger dummy, one might signal encouragement in an impossible suit, but that's not an option here.

If West cashes the K, then switches to a heart, he's got to have a singleton to take the risk of never getting back in for the ace.
Nov. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think East's *plan* was to support hearts, but when the option was to do so at the five level, he changed horses.
Nov. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Georgiana–sounds reasonable, but they should at least score it properly.
Nov. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Give him the 8 and a trump lead, and slam has good chances on a squeeze. And perhaps that hand wouldn't accept a slam invite.
Nov. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't see much point in 3. Partner will think QJx is an excellent holding (as if you held KTxx), when it is garbage. I would either bid the game or make a generic game try (presumably 3).
Nov. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It looks like it would be difficult to bid RKCB and if it turns out–despite Scott's conjecture–that partner holds the A, you may get too high. It does seem awfully likely that partner holds at least one club honor. I think that an immediate 6 will get him to raise with both where a slower auction may think you have other concerns. I'm not worried about side suit losers.
Nov. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Double would also lead to 4. And you don't necessarily even need the 10–just swap the 10 and 6.
Nov. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I were directing a club game, I'd say (in this case) that the ruling is that the defense gets both tricks, but whatever they enter and agree in the Bridgemate is the official score and I'm not going to police that. I'm a bit troubled by the fact that there is no legal way to play the last two tricks to split them. It's trick 12, so even a revoke won't help.
Nov. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At single dummy, both slams need clubs 3-2 (though 6 can also use a stiff jack). In addition, 6 needs diamonds no worse than 4-2 while 6 needs hearts 4-3 or for west to have five or two with no club jack.
So I make 6 about 57% and 6 about 61%.
Nov. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the hand on page 3, I am amazed that East couldn't bid the grand. Just looking at his own cards, he's already a (very slight) favorite to make all the tricks; given his partner's bidding, they must be a substantial favorite.
Nov. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Check out http://tinyurl.com/benitogreen
Nov. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With regard to Eric's comment, I tend to feel the same way. However, the question is about results, not errors. Holding KJ432 opposite A8765, of course you should cash the Ace first. However, cashing the King first is costly only 11% of the time. Last time I played, I misdefended and blocked our suit. Didn't matter, declarer had all but one of the remaining tricks anyhow. My gut feeling is that bidding errors are more likely to be costly.
Nov. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even when declarer has a strong four- or five-card club holding, a club lead may not hurt, as your queen will still stand up later in the play.
Nov. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is really hard to go down two if you play it out, given that North is squeezed on the run of the diamonds. Indeed, it might even make if he pitches all his low spades. (Not that this is material to a claim ruling.)
Nov. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
'Alice laughed: “There's no use trying,” she said; “one can't believe impossible things.” “I daresay you haven't had much practice,” said the Queen. “When I was younger, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I've believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”'

East's excuse is that he held both red queens. What do North/South have to say for themselves?
Nov. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John, what kind of penalty? A zero on the current board, a procedural penalty, a disciplinary penalty, forced to read all 666 comments on Debbie's poll into a feedback machine, something else?

You say “wrong on a specific lie.” Does this lie have to actually exist, or could it be theoretical? In the latter case, what if the declarer considers it to be ruled out by the previous bidding and/or play?

Currently, suppose I hold AKQT98 of trump as my last six cards and claim the rest. LHO heartlessly displays his Jxxx and I agree that he gets a trick. Equity is served, no penalty. Here you propose a small penalty, so we'd need to get the director involved, where currently s/he is not, right?
Nov. 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 202 203 204 205
.

Bottom Home Top