Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Alexander Flakstad
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree. This electonic playing evironment will propably fix this, but at what cost? I hope this never happens
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where is the dislike-button when you need it?

Tablets is an awful idea. Sitting at the same place the whole tourney is even worse. How would that work? Each player getting their own room with only their tablet? Table-feeling, the social aspect. This is so wrong in so many ways!

This is easy to fix: Use software to warn TD's about unatural scoring. Many tournaments use that today. Combine this software with ethics and we can still play the game we love in the way we want to play it!
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Of course LHO should understand that there are no future in diamonds, but still…. why should you declare AND defend for opps?

What if you played 6NT and had xxx to QJx in spades. You need to give opps a trick to get a squeeze going. Would you concede?
Nov. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Felix: I think you are right, but its so much cooler to show how good you are and claim on a two-sided squeeze in trick two :)
Oct. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I understand that a player, in the heat of the moment, can call the director in case like this. But he has a chance to regret calling the TD :)


From the law
LAW 81 - THE DIRECTOR
C. Director’s Duties and Powers
The Director (not the players) has the responsibility for rectifying irregularities and redressing damage. The Director’s duties and powers normally include also the following:

5. to waive rectification for cause, in his discretion, upon the request of the non-offending side.

The declarer made a mistake on this hand, no doubt. And most people would like him to get away with it because he would almost certainly find out about the blockage in time. Maybe the player calling the TD should have talked to the TD when he had given it some thought and asked him to “take back” his ruling?
Oct. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the ruling by the TD is correct. If you see the blockage problem you would certainly mention that in your claim. You can not compare this problem to a hand where you have AKQ opposite Jxxxxx or A opposite KQJ1098. In the hand in question there might not be a blockage problem at all. The two other examples are totally different. So… at the time of the claim the declarer hasn't seen the problem with blockage of clubs. No doubt this player would make the contract if he/she took 10 seconds to think and played a trick or two. But as a TD this is irrelevant. I think the ruling of this hand should be -1 regardless of who made the claim.

So… what about the guy(s) that called TD? In the heat of the moment, playing a tourney you want to win, sitting on the edge of your chair. Theese mistakes happen. I don't know when the TD was called. If he was called right after the claim i want to give the players the benefit of the doubt. If that was the case I would go to my opponents and apologize to them. But if this was a calculated call after analyzing the hand… I would call it unsportsmanlike and not the way I would like to win 20 IMPS.

The law states that you cannot play on after a claim… thats how it HAS to be! If not you can get crazy Alcatraz coup-like situations where you claim with AJ10 opposite Kxx and play the opp protesting to have the queen.

Oct. 25, 2015
Alexander Flakstad edited this comment Oct. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree. When you look at the time and effort that was needed in the four ongoing cases there is no doubt that this is too much to ask from a (at best) part time writer. These cases has shown that not even the WBF and EBL has had the resources (or the will??) to handle them. Hopefully these cases will change this to the better. The federations will hopefully take action and create some kind of “task force” that can take over cases sent to them from players/journalists/others. One of the biggest problems regarding cheating in bridge is that the person(s) reporting this needed to have a water proof case before taking it further
Oct. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
many people know what team and which players this is about, but as long as there has been any official statement yet, we need to wait. Counting on bridgewinner.com to come with a statement during this day or tomorrow. I'm also waiting for a statement from Vennerød

On saturday we know if Erik Berg is home in Trøndelag or is on a plane to India. If he plays on the Norwegian Team on sunday we know which team has withdrawn. If there hasn't been presented any new evidence during this week the teams allready qualified will play and Erik Berg will have a much deserved holiday
Sept. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would be shocked if Boye - Espen Lindqvist hadn't been asked to represent Norway. Maybe they said no to avoid speculation about motives…? Understandable…
Sept. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is not so hard to understand. After the cases of FS and FN has been revealed I have had some thought about this. I have never focused on theese things at all. I have never thought about the possibility that this is a way of cheating. Of course I have noticed things like the speed of bidding, players hitting the double on the table and other stuff. Normally this is “cheating” happening i the heat of the moment. But planned stuff like this? Never…

Call me naive… but hopefully I will never start thinking like this. Much of the pleasure of this hobby will be ruined if I start focusing on this
Sept. 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are there any footage of Fantoni- Nunes playing against Fisher- Schwartz (FS sitting NS).

That must have been a mindblowing set of boards…
Sept. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi!

I don't agree with your conclution. The point isn't whether the lead is suspect or not. The point is: Is there a signal given? Is the signal given what the player giving the signal wants his partner to lead? In most of the hands shown there is, and therefore the case is ironclad.

There are many examples where the leading hand has a natural lead. I.e AKQx in a suit. They are smart guys… they know they should ignore partners signal if they have en obvious lead. That is why you sometimes see them taking the trey before partner can signal, sometimes lead really quickly and sometimes they ignore signals.

I think this case is solid!
Sept. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Would be nice to know cards, bidding and lead of this hand :)
Sept. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Incredible… what if they used all the time they used on making theese cheating methods to improve their bridgeskills instead. They would be world class players and the world would applaud them
Sept. 2, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top