Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Andrew Lazarus
1 2 3 4 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my college game, North would have held xxxx of hearts, KQx of spades, and a stiff club. The bidding goes 1-2 and then 3NT uttered (before bidding boxes) with an air of finality. Now it would be slapped down on the table with a clear indication North is not expected to correct this “matchpoint bid” to 4. The bid doesn't only count on the cluelessness of the opponents, but partner recognizing that you are the best player at the table and must know what you are doing.
July 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ogust is an alterable bid. If the opponents ask, I think “Ogust” is an even worse short description than usual, because most take that as showing an invitational (or better) hand. I think it's incumbent on your partner to say that while you are asking about opener's values and suit, unlike most people who play “Ogust” you are not promising values of your own.
July 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Repeat offenders. I'd even heard one director call to their table earlier, but not that it was ZT as opposed to revoke or lead out of turn.
July 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think a disclosed psyche agreement is a psyche in the ACBL sense. It is another possible alternative meaning of a call. My experience is that most psyches are UNDISCLOSED partnership agreements.
July 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played in the New Yorker for the first time last December. I liked it. Although lighting at a couple tables wasn't good. And I got a room below $200.
April 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even against a particular partnership, my double of Player A's 3-level preempt is takeout-oriented while my double of Player B's is “As usual, B doesn't have his bid; is 500 enough or do we need to declare?”
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are you going to tell me that you can't consider an opponent's past pre-empt history (soundness) in deciding whether to double, bid on, or pass? Not likely.
March 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The BA economy can be gauged by the traffic. The economy is good. Traffic is a nightmare. Judge your commute, if you want to see your dog and child.
Feb. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm one of the weaker players here, but did you really think that hand should bid Texas? On a weak 5-card suit? I'm wondering if my partners would read 4 as a splinter, and I will probably raise the reply to 6. I might try 5 to promise the void.

As to the original question, I don't see the problem. If 4 is Texas, I would read 5 as the Ace. The question is why only 5, and why even if partner has forgotten, we should stop at 5.
Feb. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
An understatement. World class players, tyro ethics.
Feb. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree that the best explanation is not UI, but a desire that South should play as many contracts as possible.
Dec. 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I expect an AI computer will be an excellent declarer, single-dummy. Bidding might be a challenge, but there won't be any memory load on totally artificial conventions. I wonder if they will put GCC in the “rules”.
Dec. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not the first time a German court has seen itself as an extension of a national sports champion. http://www.nytimes.com/1995/04/04/sports/tennis-seles-s-assailant-gets-suspended-sentence.html
Nov. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The B1/B2 visa is both tourist and business. Business would apply to someone working for a foreign company (and paid there) visiting a customer in the USA. The chess grandmaster was going to be paid here, probably needed an O1A-visa for sportsmen. The distinction between business and work is essential.
Nov. 9, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
(53)=3=2 is exactly the problematic distribution and our 2 does promise 4.
Nov. 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
(1) West's 2 is the principal source of their poor score; (2) there is no sign this psyche was fielded; (3) but I believe a great many psyches _are_ fielded, often without being noticed, and Mark's point is generally well-taken.
Oct. 12, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Basic+ says “6. An Artificial NT overcall at any level for 2-suited takeout. A 1NT bid in this category must show at least Near-Average Strength. Below the 4-level at least one suit must be known.”
Sept. 29, 2017
1 2 3 4 5
.

Bottom Home Top