Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Art Korth
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@John: There is a difference between “I have spades” and “I HAVE SPADES.”
Jan. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And I take offense to the “honest trustworthy” characterization. I am a lawyer, after all.

:)
Jan. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David:

Permit me to revise my statement.

The 2H call was alerted and, when the opponents asked, it was explained.
Jan. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had a friend named Al Terior. He was always looking for reasons people did things.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had a rather peculiar situation against a good player who is also a good friend. About 5 tricks from the end of a hand that I was declaring I had all of the tricks but the outstanding high trump. Rather than claim, I just kept playing the hand, figuring that playing on would get us to the end about as quickly. My friend made a comment about my failure to claim, and now we had a discussion about my obligation to claim when there is no issue as to the number of tricks I will be taking. I just said that playing the hand out would get us there just as quickly. He did not agree.

So, the bottom line is you can't win.

Happy New Year!
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why did I bid 3? 2 seemed like what my hand was worth when I bid it. I don't need to bid my hand twice.

Why would I ever disturb 4?
Dec. 31, 2019
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South should lead the K at trick 3.

North can overtake if necessary. North knows that South doesn't have 5 spades from the bidding, so he can work out how to cash his side's tricks.

Maybe North could have won the J or Q at trick 3, but it is possible that South doesn't have the K. There is no need to give North that problem.
Dec. 31, 2019
Art Korth edited this comment Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ian:

I usually look at this as I am not the one who created the problem. If the declarer made an improper claim and the TD rules down 1, so be it.

It is not a question of whether I want to win that way. It is declarer's responsibility to play the hand right or to claim properly.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually, no.

The crust of my article is that I was conveying a humerous story along the lines of no good deed goes unpunished.

But you choose to impute some alterior motive to my story. So be it.

I don't need BW to blame my partner. I already did that.

This occurred at the annual Dave Treadwell Sectional. Dave would have been amused even if you are not.

Happy New Year!
Dec. 31, 2019
Art Korth edited this comment Jan. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@David Vaughn: The game was a Sectional Open Pairs. Both partner and opponents are in the “A” strat. I have been playing with this partner for several months on a fairly regular basis, and over that period of time he and I won our District NAOP and another Regional Open Pairs.

He has never seen me psych as a partner, and I do not recall that I have ever psyched against him.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Mike:

Thanks for your advice. I will give it all the consideration that it merits.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Phil:

Looking at my hand and in the context of the auction, what suggests that we can beat 4? Or that doubling 4 is otherwise a good idea?
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, I suspect that my opps would not have arrived at a 4 contract on their own.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Randy:

I will introduce you to my partner. The two of you should have a great partnership.

LOL.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The 2 call was alerted and explained after the opponents asked what the 2 bid meant.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am assuming that the auction went (2) - 2 - (P) - 3.

In that case, 3 is natural and forcing. A new suit at the 3 level is forcing absent explicit agreement to the contrary. Otherwise constructive bidding becomes impossible.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Playing 3♣ as a ♣ suit with no support for hearts is nuts, given that partner could have a zero count.”

THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT I THOUGHT. I was wondering when anyone would come up with this.

How can the 1NT bidder commit to the 3 level without a heart fit?

Now, I will concede that the club bid can show clubs and hearts or it can still show the useful doubleton with heart support. There was no explicit agreement. It probably makes more sense in competition for the club bid to show club values with heart support rather than the useful doubleton club with heart support. But for the club bid to show clubs and NO HEART FIT makes no sense to me.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with Mike. Any attempt at a claim in which declarer misrepresents his hand is a matter for a C&E committee, and the TD should rule against the claim. If the declarer's misrepresentation was innocent, that is for the C&E committee to determine, and the TD should still rule against the claim.
Dec. 30, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The double suggests to me that partner lead anything but a heart…”

I doubt that the A would work out very well.
Dec. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with everything that David said but my conclusion is different. All East. I don't see what West could have done other than bid 3 initially, and the West hand doesn't look like a 3 bid to me.
Dec. 19, 2019
.

Bottom Home Top