Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Aviv Shahaf
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Andrew - had your partner passed over 4, would you have taken it as forcing?
If not - would you have passed or bid?
June 9, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
let's say you let them play 4 undoubled and it makes… how many match points are you losing for doubling?

How many matchpoints are you losing if it goes down undoubled?

Do you think partner know this?

If the auction went: 1 (P) - 1NT (2), X (P) - 2 (3), X (P) - P (3)… wouldn't pass by you be forcing (you were already committed to 3M or defending 3X)?

I agree with you that your agreements for Forcing Pass might not include this specific auction but sometimes you just have to use common sense.
June 9, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Bob,
Any good Million Dollar tales from your other business?
June 9, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's review: I opened and partner gave a positive response, I promised at least some extras with the first double and then substantial extras with the second double which also proclaimed ownership of the deal.
I also implied at least 3 cards in Hearts and clubs.
On the other side we have only one active opponent who just competed to the 4 level in a new suit but failed to show a big hand.
How exactly is this not a forcing Pass position?
Unless partner psyched his bids he is not going to pass
June 8, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I pass because I believe it's forcing, especially at matchpoints.

Regarding earlier doubles:

Over 2 I (also) would have bid 2NT and not double
Over 3 (assuming I was asked to replace the player who doubled 2) I would have bid 3NT as a choice of games.
Partner should know I don't have a great stopper since I didn't bid 2NT or 3NT over 2.
June 8, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just to clarify - I did not intend my suggestion to become part of the rules of Bridge, just that in certain events it could be added to the COC (possibly only for late stages).
also, the idea was mostly to prevent teams from withdrawing too early (sort of dumping).

The part about the forced withdrawal when the outcome is clear is less important but should not be completely dismissed.
Imagine a semi-final scenario with 16 boards to go - Team A is leading Team B by 90 Imps and Team C is leading Team D by 120 imps.
At this point Team B withdraws but Team D (who are friendly with Team A) decides to keep playing…
June 8, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IMHO COC should include guidelines regarding withdrawals.

My suggestion is, in long matches (48 boards minimum?) starting at Half point and at any later end of segment:

A Team that is down less then 5 Imps per remaining board is not allowed to withdraw (unless other circumstances unrelated to the state of the match support it).

A Team that is down between 5 to 7 Imps per remaining board is given the option to withdraw (should only be dealt by a director and probably best if agreed by each team before the start of the match).

A Team that is down more than 7 Imps per remaining board is forced to withdraw.
June 7, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West 2NT is suspect since he didn't double 3NT or bid 4.
I don't think I have enough to bid 5 directly.
I would bid 4 but if the opponents then bid 4 I would Double!
June 7, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 is forcing because with a bad hand and 6-4 distribution partner would have rebid 2 over 1NT so this sequence is not showing that hand.
June 4, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't like the jump to 3 as just showing Max and 4-6. I would play it also shows concentration in the black suits.

with the current agreement I have to guess… If I was playing it shows concentration then my vote would change to 5.
June 2, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The opponents who have bid only to 2 likely have eight trumps”

Why can't the 1 overcaller have 6 or 7 spades?
Why can't the 2 advancer have a balanced hand with 4 (or even 5) spades?

Much more accurate assessment is that the opponents are likely to have between 8 and 10 trumps.
June 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe the opponents are playing something over the double of 1 like transfers for example - opener forgot and responder knows they are already too high so his only hope is if you get it wrong and pull
June 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With your earlier examples a Pass followed by a double or an overcall in the 5 card suit is the normal tactic.

With your very strong and balanced examples the doubler expects his partner to pass with almost any hand that couldn't bid over the first double
June 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How many spades would you assume partner has and what would you call his double if you only had 1 or 2 spades?

Why would you have a different agreement regarding the double when holding 3 spades? partner doesn't know how many spades you have when doubling…
June 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have 2 tricks on defense.

I also have 2 tricks if declaring NT but only 1 if playing in a suit (the K is probably worthless then)

I pass and expect to beat it 1 or 2 if we don't have a game and 2 or 3 if we can make game.
June 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think it's too early to give up on Hearts since partner could still have a doubleton or a singleton honor.

It will probably be tougher to decide what to do if 3 gets back to me on the next round.
June 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think the director will allow you to bid 2 or 2 over 2 and the only way you can show a fit “jump” by bidding only 3 is by using the Stop card…
June 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner made a T/O double of Diamonds.

Either partner has a balanced hand that was too strong to bid directly or he has the unbid suits including spades.

Either way the double of 2 is penalty!

I'm very happy to defend and expect to contribute a trick or two.
June 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would bid 4 directly just to avoid the ethical problem when 4 gets back to me (did anyone really expect to buy it for 3?)

If partner thinks for a while before passing I'm pretty much barred from taking any further action
Also if partner passes quickly I may feel that I must bid 4 even if I agree with Josh's principal (partner is clearly not even thinking about bidding so maybe he only has 3 spades for example)

As a side note - if I wanted to try and buy it for 3, I would have bid 2 and then compete over the expected 3
May 29, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unless your partner is Psychic, he will never balance just because you may be this strong, especially when vulnerable (and if he does I would not consider it shows good judgment)

If you Pass you will defend 3 close to 100% of the times
May 29, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top