Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Barry Dehlin
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Bob Heitzman

I work for a Fortune 10 company, and in this century the company has devoted an increasing amount of resources toward “corporate and social responsibility”. Lots of things fall under this umbrella, but most noteworthy are charitable donations of both money (much of which is matching funds for employee-chosen causes) and employee time, and environment-friendly policies at our various offices and properties (of which we have hundreds). I'm not a leader driving these activities, but my sense is that the primary motivation initially was rehabilitation of our corporate image following some bad acts by our leaders and bad publicity 10-ish years ago. However, I think that episode is largely behind us, yet we have maintained and even grown these investments in recent years with an evolving rationale of employee retention and morale.

I can't speak to Mr. Gidwani's company, but it is a perfectly plausible that a service to help companies understand how they might be judged from a social responsibility perspective would have value.
June 19, 2017
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, with K off too. But still a slam we should have been in.
June 5, 2017
Barry Dehlin edited this comment June 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2…which is leading the votes right now
June 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So apparently we've been using a modified (bastardized) version of what we “thought” was Kokish…OP edited to reflect this.

Which prompts a side question…what would be your auction using “proper” Kokish, with the key issue being how North expresses extra strength? North hand is AKQJ2 AK9 A9 AK3.
May 25, 2017
Barry Dehlin edited this comment May 25, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is the principle that “I decline to profit from something I should not have done” really that nebulous?
May 19, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I definitely did not intend to ask the question you pose, but my question could be rephrased as such: “Would/could you bid 2N with a hand that would be an upper-end 1N-opener point count, but which you deemed not right for a 1N opening?”

Would you open 1N with the sample hand given (Ax KQxx KQ QJxxx)?
May 9, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was making simply giving full disclosure, but agree it should not be on here. And partner was indeed giving an odd diamond count.
May 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was the leader. Logic was that it seemed highly likely our side held the majority of (maybe a significant majority of) the hearts. With declarer's distribution weighted toward the minors, this was much less likely in clubs. And at matchpoints, I was focused less on setting the contract than on not giving away a trick…which seems likely just about any time declarer has the J.
May 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
http://www.district4.info/gnt.htm

DISTRICT 4 SUBSIDIES
The ACBL does not provide subsidies to teams participating in the National GNT Finals, and does not require the Districts to provide subsidies. District 4 will reimburse each team that qualifies for the National GNT Finals for all entry fees as long as each team survives in the event, as well as giving each team $1,000 for the first two days of play and an additional $400 per day of play after the second day of the event.
April 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was declarer on this hand, so I am only reporting bidding as it happened.
March 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is East really worth 2N here? No shape except for AK-tight, which guarantees any of partner's club honors are wasted/duplicated. Seems to me that for any pair that opens aggressively (and maybe this partnership doesn't fit that description) that this is a risky GF bid.
Feb. 17, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Probably not what you mean by a “good” field, but 21% of NS pairs in the Common Game aggregate field had minuses. (Tuesday 2/7 night game, board 13)
Feb. 9, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Friend of parents taught me the game socially as a teenager, but I had only idle interest. Really enjoyed the bridge club for two years of college, and I count this as my real start even though I didn't obsess like many others have at this age, and I was never an ACBL member. For the next 17 years, I only played crappy bridge on OKB in fits and spurts and never set foot in a club…I'm counting this as a hiatus. Joined (or re-joined, depending on how you figure) the face-to-face bridge world and the ACBL a decade ago, with increasing seriousness since then. I break the mold a bit because I ended my hiatus mid-career, and actually just as we started to have children.
Jan. 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In your favorite set of agreements, just how narrow is the range of the 1 opening hand here? For us, it's anything from just above a non-minimum (rough equivalent of 15hcp playing strength) to just below game-forcing (rough equivalent of 19-20 playing strength since we are aggressive in responding). In other words, not that narrow.
Jan. 12, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I may or may not agree with this comment depending on whether you are suggesting (a) different behavior for the whole event, or (b) different behavior for this round (against an overmatched C team).

I too played in this event, and we too got blitzed by Art's team. This was in the 1st round and without, to my knowledge, any psyches by Art's partner (I was at the other table). Presumably, Art's partner was at least ready to psyche against us (a B team) if the situation called for it.

Assuming that's true, he needs to take the same approach throughout the event, regardless of opponent.
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Isn't the consideration of a running hand moot when he pulls the contract from 4X to 5?
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On one hand, I like the creativity here to try to find more info to place a GAME contract. But it's a solo effort, and “the other hand” is that I'd worry about missing slams due to flat-out misdescribing my hand.
Sept. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I take your point, but how worried are you about wrong-siding the contract with this approach? Or do you just assume this cost isn't large because you're not going to find many 53 fits?
Aug. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you should be looking at the 0-0 match in Round 4
Aug. 1, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top