Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Barry Rigal
1 2 3 4 ... 77 78 79 80
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm assuming John (who was never fully healthy from his 20s onwards –which makes his bridge achievements all the more impressive) looked like a grasshopper?
He was well over six foot and when I knew him never weighed much more than 160 pounds I'd guess.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm guessing the general idea is
1) Win the heart (hand to be determined!)
2) duck a diamond (method to be determined!)
3) win the return and test spades from the top to discover who has the guard
4) test diamonds,
5) fall back on squeeze/ club finesse.


My preferred diamond play is ace then duck.

I'm happy to have the first heart go 10JA
Then A
8 passed round to the nine (say)
Win heart shift
Test diamonds
Test spades
Cross to K
A

Maybe I've reached an ending that looks like this:

NORTH
9


AQ108


SOUTH

Q4
6
K7

If either opponent has the heart guard or diamond guard and clubs, they are squeezed.

If both red suits are to my right the club finesse looks the odds on play.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Really?
As a matter of bridge judgment (and as someone who doesn't overcall 1NT with a singleton with clients) I would advise – and indeed have advised – clients not to transfer into two of a major with balanced 5-7 counts with five small cards in the other major

After
P-1S-1NT-P

I'd guess passing was clearly the favored action with

Jxx/Jxxxx/Qx/Qxx

I'd transfer or use Stayman with enough to invite but that is a different matter.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Amen to that.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John was truly one of my favorite partners ever.
He was my partner when I first reached the Reisinger Finals (at that time my best ever achievement in a US event) and he was the perfect partner.
He was also incredibly easy to play with. It wasn't that John didn't have an ego – but he was able to sublimate his ego to getting the best possible result at the table. I wish I could do the same.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I frequently provide commentary for ACBL sets; on occasion I play in the event I've commented on (without knowing it). I recognized one deal about three hands in, but that is the only time I've ever spotted it till the very end of the event when I receive my own commentary.
March 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Mikael

Great hands
Any chance you could email me a word file or the like – especially the H!J hand.
International Bridge Press might well consider it for an award.

Barry
March 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hey!! Maybe my memory isn't as shot to hell as I suspected.
March 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let me add to this that when I came to the states I was frequently confused with Michael Rosenberg (yes in general terms not physically dissimilar but anyone who would confuse BBC English and Glaswegian…). No one however has told MR they thought he was me.
March 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm in the ‘3 is so clear that pass is not an LA’ camp. I like to punish the offenders but gthis one is unambiguous. I don't believe the take-out doubler has three hearts more than one time in 50 – but I still have a 3 bid facing the extras that such a hand would deliver.
March 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
bridge world early eighties match report on a ko final/semi-final.
After an opening bid promising diamonds (2C opener maybe) somebody overcalled in diamonds then cue bid them 3/4 times later.
March 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It may be too late to change the title of a thread but you will get a bunch of people reading this thread expecting to be asked about Delta, TRS or any of the other real ‘forcing pass systems’.

This thread is about ‘conditions under which pass is forcing’ – not quite the same thing.
March 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But a club might be fatal were declarer 1-7-3-2?
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At one point the rules of the Vanderbilt and spingold was that they HAD (by terms of the endowment) to have the same structure.

This is an AFAIK/ as best I can remember ‘alternative fact’…so it may well not be accurate (or accurate any more)
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is a variant of a two-card ending almost all of us will have reached more than once. Defender is on lead with a middle trump and a winner. Dummy has a trump in each hand and a winner with the high trump.
Defender can lead trumps and let the hand with the high trump claim, or lead his side winner and let declarer ruff low in the appropriate hand to take trumps separately.
I don't off hand recall seeing the position where each defender has two trump and mirror image in the other two suits.

But the mirror image of defenders hands occasionally creates an even more aggravating position for defenders…

imagine in your three-card ending that each defender had a diamond heart and a club rather than two trumps. Which ever plain suit they lead lets declarer ruff low and score his two remaining trumps separately…

Worse:
In your diagram imagine East had K10 and South AJ.
East would be even more upset to have to lead a card to allow declarer to ruff and bring home a trump coup while a trump exit lets declarer finesse and claim.
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yup. And actually playing today – hopefully for more than one session.
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The Reisinger finals this year saw a hand where a 2 opener heard his partner open 2 and not only couldnt he make 7NT he couldn't get to dummy…
The two hands were something like; dealer North

AKQ109xxx/xx/–/KJx

—/AQxxx/AKQxxxx/A

I think one pair stopped in 6 after East opened 3 but we won the board for 7-1.

We bid 1-2-3-4!-4-5-7-Pass
March 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Update: my partner's wife had a health scare but seems to be OK. So at least that passed off peacefully. But he wont be back this tournament.
March 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Include me in too.
March 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes Gary it lasted one session; a family emergency which we hope is under control meant my partner had to leave town.
March 10
1 2 3 4 ... 77 78 79 80
.

Bottom Home Top