Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Barry Rigal
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm looking forward to using some of the excuses listed above when we miss our four-four spade fit on a deal of this sort for a complete zero. Yet I don't have the chutzpah to do that….
Somehow arguing that the player with the decent four-card major and ace-third facing partner's shortness is supposed to immolate himself on the altar of 1NT seems so bizarre that I'm wondering if it is a strawman argument.
Rubens' 1NT bid as advancer generally seem to feature a different sort of hand than one with a four-card major.

I'm sure Bob wasn't West in the original deal and yet…
:)
only joking Bob.
May 18
Barry Rigal edited this comment May 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Danny
Either bible scholars or Greek/(Latin?) students would have bumped into it I guess. Textual criticism was part of my studies for longer than I care to think. Having gone from one of the two studies above to the other I realize that from the age of 12-22 when I studied (which wasn't often) it would generally have involved this area.
May 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since I may have passed some negative opinions abovethread, a second if related question:

Pass Pass Pass 1
Dbl. Pass 1 2
??

Q542
AQ94
J
J932

In competition we agreed (I think) competing as an unpassed hand with extra shape was the norm. Are we supposed to compete to 2 with a maximum passed hand?
I'd say so but I don't recall having seen that discussed.

For the avoidance of doubt; this position is surely different if my LHO either bid 1 (when raising looks more attractive) or if they redoubled when… it must be less attractive?
May 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Great field. Not sure (I don't remember precisely) but this compares pretty well with the QF of the recent world champs.
May 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Re lunatic fringe leads…

On lead to 1-1-3-6 with

xx/Kxxxx/x/Jxxxx
I imagine you would get some votes for the singleton lead so bidding slam off the AK might come home now. (Make dummy's K the K so the hands work out.)
Declarer draws trumps and if his diamond spots are good enough can come to three discards on the K and two diamonds.

If the opening leader believes declarer ‘must’ have a + control then the diamond lead becomes even more attractive with his hole more likely to be in /
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Right; golden rule; if you don't bid no-trump the first time in comp, and partner then passes, NT the next time is artificial.
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the saddest thing about all these comments (with which I wholeheartedly agree) is that any West capable of thinking East's initial response was consistent with an opening bid probably will believe East bribed us all to tell West “I'm right you're wrong and you're an idiot” an argument I've always found particularly effective…
Seriously: East did well to prove West to be off their rocker. Had they bid 4S over 2 we wouldn't have known what kind of player West was. We might have suspected it but we wouldn't have KNOWN it.
May 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe I play (but now will have to check) that 3 in the auction you mention is natural but 2 is a Rubens advance suggesting diamond lead-director.
May 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I set up a long response then lost it. Apologies if this repeats.

Yes tolerance bids exist and they are forcing back to partner's suit but do not set up FP.

Any three-level actions in new suits by PH facing an overcall are FNJ.
New suits in comp facing a preempt (bar running from a penalty x) are FNJ whether by PH or UPH.
When you fail to overcall at the one level, bidding that suit in response to an overcall is a FNJ.
When you bid 1NT in response to a minor bids in a major facing partner's rebid are FNJ.
When partner shows a good suit by bidding a suit strongly (bid + jump rebid) or SJO, new suits are Q/FNJ.
May 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
About 5 years ago I suggested here that after a major suit is overcalled with 2R and partner doubles that it may be best to play 2NT as eg good/bad. If I remember right Bobby Levin responded that maybe Norberto/Agustin (no surnames necessary?) had given him that tip recently too.
Anyone interested could probably go back and check Bobby's comments since I don't think that he is so regular a posted unlike this prolix correspondent.
May 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Fit showing and McCabe aren't the same thing but maybe just close enough.
Use 3NT or 2NT with the splinter raises and 4 with nine+ cards in the black suits and a raise to 4 not setting up forcing passes.
May 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But this can't be the lie can it? RHO doubled when he would have bid 1NT with eg HHxx/xx/Q10x/xxxx
May 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
All valid points. I recently got hit for 200 by a hand passing out a double with no trump trick (he caught his partner's known singleton as an honor to beat me). That was the first time since BBO bridge took off.
My partner is the perfect player to have when I feel like taking a view…but as it happens I was the partner not the player with the problem and I told her I would pose the problem because I didn't know what was right and wanted other people to confirm or deny my suspicions as to MP strategy.
As to humming along; this board might have cost us first place one way or the other!
May 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I try to teach what I consider best practice. That is (when playing 15-17 NT) when 5332 with a five-card major and 16 open 1NT. With 17 consider upgrading to 1M and raising 1NT to 2NT. This mightn't be because the hand is too good but because with a side small doubleton it might play better from partner's hand.
/with 15 consider downgrading to 14 and rebidding a three-card minor over a forcing/semi-forcing 1NT if your honors in the long suit and/or side-suits make that sensible.
My clients are in general good enough that I can ask them to use judgment not rely on system; likewise I don't need to steal the contract by opening 1NT whenever possible.
From an aesthetic point of view this is the approach I prefer – whether or not it is a big+ in MP terms I don't know. I do remember pissing off a Young Turk when I opened a 4-4 in the NT range 1m, because I had AKxx and AKJx in spades and the minor. He overcalled and went for 1100 and it was with great pleasure that I remember how mad he got during the play when he realized everyone else would have opened 1NT and played 3NT on an unopposed sequence…
For the record with a 5422 shape, the major would have to be honorless before I'd be happy opening 1NT; I know there are such hands but I haven't had one yet.
May 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've been a close follower of the US Women's game over the last 30 years. My wife Sue won her first world title with Lynn as a teammate and I always felt that despite Lynn's splendid achievements she was never close to getting the kudos she deserved.
Bear in mind Lynn nearly died post the 1996 Rhodes WC and was never able to play bridge out of a wheelchair again! That is 25 years of dealing with life-threatening diseases; yet she and Beth Palmer – also gone way too soon – were still surely the dominant US women's pair.
I doubt anyone but Lynn could have coped with the amazing problems she had to deal with every day and yet compete to such a high level. And it is worth noting how successful Lynn was in open pair games. I'm so happy that Lynn finally got the recognition she deserved and really sad that she wont be able to accept the honor in person.
May 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For the record the best line for 13 tricks is to be playing in 7 not 6NT. Though in 2 the opponents might be more inclined to be careless and let through the 13th trick.
May 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I said I thought it was an interesting hand but I didn't realize how interesting!
Thanks Kit and Steve.
May 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
THAT was funny Martin.
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have written up this deal as my favorite ever Vugraph deal. This was my first ever Euro Champs as commentator and we had Italy-Finland on vugraph when neither team was exactly tearing up the field…but got a fantastic match!
Lorenzo Lauria was playing a method where he had to double with 0-7 if they opened 1 in front of him; every time he got sadder and sadder as yet another auction where he had to bid with nothing…
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You should be able to ferret that out weaselly enough.
May 5
.

Bottom Home Top