Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Benoit Lessard
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I dont like east 3H and dont like west 4.

Depending on methods its possible than when west doesnt raise at r1 slam is unlikely so maybe east should mostly think best game not slam. If it goes 1D-2D (inv minors where responder deny a 4M) because you dont have a 4-4M fit its normal to bid the cheapest stopper rather than a 4M suit, so here its somewhat similar with two stoppers and a non-slammish hand you should reverse in 2 rather than in 2. Here reversing in 2 is obviously correct but when its followed by a 3Nt it should tend to deny 2 stoppers. I know reversing in stoppers rather than lenght make it harder to find 4M in 4-3 fit but its better for 3NT vs 5m COG wich are more likely.

So for me bidding 3Nt over 3 somewhat deny serious slam interest & show a stop but should also deny super concentration in . Over 3Nt west will know what to do.. with 2 stop 3NT look normal, with xx in you should reach 5. East 3 bid should be more shape like a 4261 or half a stop.
Jan. 5
Benoit Lessard edited this comment Jan. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You need to alert because you can open 1D and rebid 1Nt with 4423 or even 4324.
Dec. 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass lead trump.

I don't like double but there is another bid I dislike is to make a responsive double with shortness at equal or favorable vul. If you make a dsip/responsible double hoping overcaller got a stopper or 4 you must be ready to play 3Sx when hes got 3334 or offshape X no stop.
Dec. 27, 2018
Benoit Lessard edited this comment Dec. 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I also prefer 3 but its close enough IMO.
Dec. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 but if responder got an opening hand he should X not bid 2.
Dec. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Being able to play 4Hx when your simply 55 plus being able to avoid 4Hx when your have extra shape is simply too important.
Dec. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have bid 2 on r2 but now I bid 3
Dec. 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The difference is an action that is right 80+% of the time will always be taken by good players and so there may not be any logical alternatives as per the laws. That does not mean you have not benefited from the UI.”

Its not a precise way to see this IMO. Lets say that experts who are facing the hand with no BIT, 97% of them X, they all know that X isnt totally safe and could backfire. Now the same hand with a BIT and now they know that doubling is now totally safe, its only the 3% that benefit from the hesitation not the 97%. If the action is clear cut enough to the point that pass is not considered a logical alternative very few benefit, if its not clear enough all the players are “handcuffed” or will face a potential rollback.

The law is fine in theory, but the laws in general are too complicated so it take too much experience to be a good director so the odds we hit a weakish director is too high.

IMO the post is a textbook case that should be in director exams.

Director need to understand that if a player bid 4 its quite likely that for this level of player pass is LA. If the player tell you X is evident you should ask did you consider bidding 4S ? and if he tell me “no ive got extra values not extra shape” than you can be pretty sure that few players of this caliber will consider passing. I often think director are too quick into going into polling without assessing the level of the players based on what happened at the table.
Dec. 11, 2018
Benoit Lessard edited this comment Dec. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
doesnt matter, if west can bid 4 isntead of doubling he could find pass instead of doubling.
Dec. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West has 6ctrl. Its ok to play 1m-3Nt as as strong NT but the hand should have a fair amount of soft values not prime values. Jumping to 3NT with Axx in a side suit facing a opening that is not precise is IMO always wrong.

If opener got the right/wrong singleton you could be missing a slam or going to down in 5m or just be in the wrong game.


Kxxx
x
QJxxxx
Ax

You partner open a strogn NT and you have this, you do stayman and opener bid 2 or 2 do you jump to 3Nt ?

Of course not because opener could have Axx(x) in and 6 is a much better contract than 3Nt. However if hes got KQJ than 5 or even 4 might be in danger.


So if you think about responder jump to 3Nt you need to have a hand that would be happy to play 3Nt even if opener got a distributionnal hand. Low in control high in soft values (at least when it come to the side suits).
Dec. 6, 2018
Benoit Lessard edited this comment Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“We must believe in free will — we have no choice.” I.B Singer
Dec. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, did he say this because he was annoyed at the long hesitation or just angry at himself ?

What did the committed ruled about the comment is it AI or is the UI the more more important factor since it was before the comment ?

Its hard to make a sensible ruling if you dont settle the comment thing first.
Dec. 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here are the mistakes I see in this board

1- playing flannery (I couldnt resist)
2- bidding 7NT
3- hesitating after 7NT
4- Not doubling 7Nt especially after a long hesitation
5- commenting before the lead (Im not sure what was said exactly)
6- not calling the director before leading.
7- The way the director handle this board
8- AC explanation isnt that complete imo.

point 6,7 & 8 depend on what was said at 5.

So based on how many mistake ive seen I think I will be more careful when I think there is no LA to a bid or a lead.
Dec. 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Im not totally convinced by the arguments that 4 followed by 4Nt instead of 4Nt directly or 4-4Nt but by not bidding a later 5Nt automatically implies a void.

cuebidding 4 with a singleton A is also normal and when north X for the lead your hand has improved. Its something right to make a light gamble by jumping to 7S even if you cannot count 13 tricks and even if you might miss 7Nt.

Can west have

Kxx
KJxxx (remove the J maybe)
A
AQxx

With this hand I would think 7 is going to be at least close to 50% and im not eager to play 7Nt. Its the type of hand where because I play flannery and 1S promise 5 I could have an easier auction than others tables. I could see the others tables 1H-1S-2C-2D (art GF)-2S where its not always clear that 2S show 3. Or maybe its a Gaz auction.

Maybe I play too much imps and im not greedy enough to try to reach 7Nt when I think 7 is probably good enough.
Dec. 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I want to add that as opening leader I would always call the director before dummy come down if my LHO make a comment like this.

North know that his lead could be seen as using UI, so if he think east comment allow him to clear the UI because of override AI, its wise to call the director before dummy come down to avoid he said she said comments.
Dec. 3, 2018
Benoit Lessard edited this comment Dec. 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“your LHO tells you he might have had a serious accident and his partner might not have the diamond ace which he (LHO) most certainly does not.”

The comment part is not clear to me. Nobody confirmed exactly what was said and when it was said. If my LHO make a slow pass of 7Nt I would probably be angry too, angry at myself and angry about the slow pass in a position when its terrible and very amateur to break tempo.

If south didnt didnt break tempo would east make a comment ?
Dec. 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The auction to 7S is an extremely powerful statement that we have 13 tricks.”

Disagree.

Ive seen players purposely lying about the trump queen a couple of times in the last years and it worked more often than not.

If east got AJTxxx of trumps and extra values its not crazy to say you have the Q. If your side is missing both KQ you can still reach a 76% slam. If opener is missing the trump Q and you reach 7 they often lead and if they don't you know wich side to finesse (not really the case here since you expect a lead in 7)

MP allow you to jump to a 50% 7. Im not even counting the times where you want a swing because your behind in the score.


Perhaps an easier way to look at it, lets say your playing in a club not behind screen but against the same opponents same auction south final pass is smooth and you “feel” that partner is somewhat uninterested at the hand how many would still lead ?
Dec. 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well maybe south think so but he doesnt get the benefit of the doubt when he deoesnt bid in tempo.

Again I repeat that without east comment Its clear for me that south X ask for the unusual lead and no X north should lead a safe suit.

Another way to look at it if south X in tempo and west didnt make any comments do you think the lead is clear ?
Dec. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here its north who double 4D, so leading away from the KJ is not at all a normal lead, in fact leading away from the K is the unusual lead.I like lightner double all the way, either it goes down whatever you lead or make the unusual lead.

If south had a side ace other than he doesnt need to double to alert his partner with the king behind the ace they would need to make 12 tricks in 2 suits+A. However doubling with the A look automatic so a slow pass clearly suggest A and you cannot choose a lead since they are other logical alternative.

With the east comment it get complicated and I would need to know more about what happened.

Without screen.
http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/avoiding-lightnerpenalty-double-hitch-vs-slams-lightner-pass/
Dec. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If we double its too easy for responder to XX with extras or even with a minimum limit but with extra defensive prospect. Too often they will X us and -200 is a poor MP score.
Dec. 1, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top