Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Bill March
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 39 40 41 42
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can someone check my maths! - assuming rho will always play a quack from QJX then what are the odds for the intrafinesse compared to the 3/3 split, it looks close to me.
Oct. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Academic I know but does declarer have some alternate way to show an unbalanced raise to 2H with 4 hearts?
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The real problem is that whatever the regulations are you will have many players (of all standards) who wont(for whatever reason ) adhere to them.
So , in order to ‘protect’ yourself you have to slow the game down by asking about everything unless you want to risk a ‘just bridge’ ruling.
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’m not consistent on this ,I would let this go most of the time but depending on who the declarer is might not.
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nigel - though I’m no expert on LTC I’d always believed that the starting point for opening the bidding in the original ‘system’ was a 7 loser hand.
Oct. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you’d looked at the last USBF trials then you’d have seen that wasn’t a minimum.
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1C has more appeal if not playing Walsh.
Oct. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Over the years I’ve felt that the best ‘rule’ is ‘don’t bid 5 over 5’. There’s been a lot of criticism over South’s pass of 5H(most of which I agree with) but whether it was forcing or not the 5S by North was just inexplicable, transforming the absurd 5H bid into a master stroke.
Oct. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is 4S not an option? I’d certainly consider it.
Oct. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit - in your methods how does North show a balanced positive with no H stop, is that by a 3H bid?
Sept. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You’ll have to tell me your structure in std first,it may be that it’s sufficiently good that the 4-4 fit is the only problem but I won’t know until I see it.
Eg does opener always rebid 2D with 5+, or bid a 4crd major even if balanced as opposed to 2NT
In precision a 4432 opposite a 3316 say could be very awkward.
Sept. 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The problems will differ depending on what scheme of rebids are employed but in general if looking for fits and/or stops then a nebulous diamond ‘must’ be at a disadvantage .
Sept. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The subject in itself doesn’t bore me but there is an ever increasing ‘problem’ on BW with repetition of issues and I’m as guilty as anyone of repeating my hobbyhorses. I don’t think there is an answer as it’s unrealistic to expect ‘new’ members to be searching for topics(and previous stuff could well be out of date anyway)
Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This has been done to death,I’m sure that others can provide the links - it’s just whatever you prefer.
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1D - 2C is awkward in ‘std’ as many problems in the Bridgeworld have shown. This is exacerbated in precision when opener hasn’t even shown diamonds.
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John - ‘onus on non experts’, I know of at least one of our world championship representatives who has misunderstood EBU alerting procedures re doubles, I’d be surprised if they were on their own.
Sept. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ray - a definition of ‘deemed’ worthy of the Queen of Hearts!
Sept. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A subject I’ve raised in different contexts many times - at what point do you say to yourself that the likeliest thing is that partner has missorted their hand?
Sept. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David - ‘everyone’ plays that a double of a 1NT response to 1S is takeout of spades yet the EBU still want that alerted as it’s not a penalty double.
Sept. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kieran - I must admit to being astonished to be told that a 2H/S response to a multi was not ‘artificial’ as it ‘suggested’ a contract. My own ‘suggestion’ that an overcall of 2C showing the majors over 1NT was equally not artificial since it could also be passed was not taken seriously.
Sept. 16
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 39 40 41 42
.

Bottom Home Top