Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Bill March
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nick
Fair point
Aug. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Obviously,fouling a board is not prearranging a deal - but the ‘accusation’ of deliberately fouling a board in order to cancel a bad score is very serious. Proving such a thing would be nigh on impossible so it should be no surprise to anyone that there was no verdict of cheating.
I don't know Mike Passell,his friends may have it exactly right(I hope they do)but open a newspaper any day and you'll see that all these comments on the lines of ‘I’ve known him years' ‘why do it in a minor event’ don't amount to a hill of beans.
Aug. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well,I have not rushed to judgement and for once I agree with Mr Silver. The idea that since we now have Mr Passell's version of events then we are in full possession of the facts is simply ludicrous . Last night we had the lynch mob, now the ‘fan club’ is in full flow (just waiting for someone to launch into ‘for he’s a jolly good fellow').
Only Mr Passell knows what really happened, we can choose to believe him but that's as far as it goes - yes we have all done stupid things but his account would sound a lot better coming from a teenager starting the game than from a mature world champion. It has become compulsory in the UK for any public figure when caught out to proclaim ‘a moment of madness’ there seems to be a lot of it about.
I hope that we do see something from the ‘other side’ so that we can have a better idea if Mr Passell really has been unfairly maligned.
Aug. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well I can see that Michael's comment has 20'likes'(at the moment) and Kevin's none but ‘That could be taken as a threat’ strikes me as a statement of the obvious - you don't have to think Steve meant it as a threat to believe that some might perceive it that way.
July 27, 2015
Bill March edited this comment July 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you find some money in the street you're more likely to hand it in the larger the amount is - it's not logical just human nature. That's why most people are ‘happier’ to take an overtrick from a careless declarer than a grand slam.
July 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Speaking as someone who has changed their vote to the ‘draconian’ option since reading all the comments this strikes me as a very interesting question - even in the morning!
July 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the jump shift is fine, the final pass is incomprehensible to me.
July 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I understand your view, I just think that to give a slow play penalty to someone not playing slowly is perverse. I joined bridgewinners subsequent to this incident so at the risk of retreading old ground I would appreciate it if someone could give me a summary of what the consensus was at the time.
July 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don' t consider that I'm anywhere near your 1% but I know the hand you're referring to and I completely disagree.
July 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I saw an argument put forward that Meckwell deliberately played an ‘inferior’ defence to 1C so that other pairs wouldn't know what the ‘best’ defence was to use against them!
June 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree that if you've started with a double because too strong to overcall 1NT then you're stuck, but if the overall strength is suitable for a 1NT overcall then I think getting the hand off your chest straight away is best.
June 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Karen - this still doesn't come for free, suppose LHO's response is a weak 2S raised to 3S,do we now ‘show’ our hand by bidding 3NT ?
June 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Some of the other suggestions make perfect sense. Trap passing is nowhere near as popular as 50 years ago. I'm sure that many would view your example hand as ‘strong balanced’ and overcall 1NT or double.
June 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This may change when I get home and actually look at my collection .
Practical bidding and practical play - Reese(this is 2 books in one using the over the shoulder style)
Story of an accusation - Reese
The Great Bridge Scandal - Truscott
1983 Bermuda Bowl book.
Why you lose at bridge - Simon

What should be on my shelves but isn't are
1975 Bermuda Bowl book.
Bridge players bedside companion - A A Ostrow(contains IMO the funniest bridge story ever as well as many fine things)

As an aside,maybe because of the expectation but even though it contains much good stuff I was pretty disappointed by the Rodwell Files
June 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes I think you probably are.If you seriously don't know then I will be happy to flesh it out.
June 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where are the Meckwell notes?
June 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Gary - although the 3-3 splits(and false cards)mean that it is much better to play an honour on the 2nd round, your comment suggests that you think that if only 4-2 splits were considered then it would now be 50/50 what to play - it wouldn't, restricted choice applies and it would be 2 to 1 to play a low card. Apologies if I've misinterpreted.
June 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are you 100% certain they weren't implying that they thought you were capable of finessing!
May 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my student days playing with a strange partner against 2 LOLs my RHO opened a strong club. I bid 4C and partner alerted and said it was Gerber then bid 4H(though not holding any Aces) This was passed out - I didn't know I'd made an ethical bid,I just feared 5C would be taken as a King ask. It made no difference to our score as we were getting a bottom as soon as I bid 4C.At the end of the hand my RHO turned to me and said ‘it was strange you asking for Aces when I had all 4 myself!’
May 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe you don't consider the UK as part of Europe.
May 26, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top