Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Bill Shutts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 62 63 64 65
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There appears to be a missing king in this deck.
March 31, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can certainly appreciate that Richard considers it adequate disclosure, after all, it was sufficient to a goddess:). All you need to do is divide the top and bottom of the announced range by 17.3 to arrive at ~15-17 Work points.
March 31, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, I believe you owe them that 22.5 - 25.5 Banzai points translates to an approx range of Work points, e.g., 13.5 - 15.

I once proposed Bridgida's Prime Count as a joke on rec.games.bridge. Aces =71, Kings = 47, 31, 17, 7. It fits the theorem that the value of an ace compared to a king is greater than a king to a queen, etc., or A-K > K-Q > Q-J > …. All values are prime numbers and the sum (173) is also prime, making it a count fit for a goddess. If the lady explained this and announced her NT range was 260 - 295, would you consider it adequate disclosure?

Note: I cannot recall Darvas/Hart's spelling, but I claimed they used the Austrian Empire vs. British Empire spelling out of deference for Stern and Lukacs.

Note: It turns out that Bridgida's Prime Count normalizes closely to Thomas Andrews's Fifths count (4.0, 2.8, 1.8, 1.0, 0.4).
March 31, 2018
Bill Shutts edited this comment March 31, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I personally would be a bit out of sorts if you described this as a limit raise with no amplifying information. I agree that this hand has the approximate playing strength of a prototypical 4 card limit raise, but I feel I am entitled to know your bid could be based on distributional values.
March 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Particularly when the best result from the save will be more than their game.
March 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was misled by your upstream comment about claiming without assuming that East held spades. I was hoping to learn a new magic trick.

It seems to me that if East started with 4=2-(5-2) and followed the same discarding strategy, coming down to e.g. J9x – QTxx J and discarding a diamond on the last heart, I for one would probably misguess which minor to cash out.
March 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Patrick, how does this squeeze work if West guards spades and East guards minors?
March 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If East held a five card minor, West would be looking at QJT of the other minor. I suspect this is not the case from the lead and switch, but it is the only clue the spots give us.
March 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If pass is not forcing (IMHO not, I agree with Jyri's rule) Dbl should be competitive, or pass-Dbl inversion if you prefer.
March 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Us 1 bidders will soon run afoul of the regs (implicit agreement to open 1 with 7HCP) in ACBL land. Give me the PPs, and the ZT suspension for cursing the convention committee for being zealots who insist that Bridge is a game of HCP.
March 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Probably was oh hell now that you mention it. It was certainly a game where you wanted to force overtricks on the opps.
March 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Okuneff could be found playing Spades between sessions at LA tournaments when I was a youth. According to my bridge mentor he was just a middling expert bridge player, but the premier Spades player in California and probably elsewhere.
March 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
An excellent slam says Hamman.
March 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North can anticipate that 4 will handcuff partner since he has 4 keycards and perhaps a trick more than a minimum 4 bid. A JS to 3 has obvious flaws, but partner will show slam interest, which should spur opener to drive to slam.
March 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I saw TGBH (R. Hamman) open 2 on AKx AKJT9xx x T9 while kibitzing the Vanderbilt last week. Well, I thought, if he can “get a hunch and bid a bunch” on his cards, perhaps I should have a hunch on these. Problem is that 4 is exclusion, not a giant auto-splinter, so I am back to planning on bidding a bunch the next round.
March 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 is crazy. OK, maybe not, but we hold the wrong singleton for offense and awkward strength.
March 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Another reason that the tablet will replace the pasteboards?
March 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For the most part, instaplaying a low spade simply indicates nothing to think about on this trick. It does not take a lot of skill to see that there is nothing to be gained by tossing the K on the opening lead. Bad habit? Sure! Motivated by desire to induce error? Probably not.
March 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The more I read and think about this, the more I believe in my initial reaction. A player memo, particularly if the pro stonewalled me; and ratting out the director to his supervisor.
March 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Duplicate of https://bridgewinners.com/article/view/bidding-problem-2-yt6an7ez4g/

I still bid 3, and despite the other poll, do not consider pass a LA. I think it is an interesting decision whether to balance with dbl or 3
March 9, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 62 63 64 65
.

Bottom Home Top