Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Bob Sebesfi
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Rohit
Surely you do this only under the conditions specified in Law 5(A)?
:)
Oct. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just one miniscule difference : Michael Phelps' fantastic record has never been tainted by any suspicion of c#34ting
Sept. 28
Bob Sebesfi edited this comment Sept. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@ Pierluigi . While you are at it , why not also quote Lance Armstrong's Tour de France record ?
Sept. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This comment has been marked as inappropriate by the moderator(s).
Sept. 18
Bob Sebesfi edited this comment Sept. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I suspect that it's because Gianarrigo Rona attended the Congress , and Host Pooh-Bahs didn't want any dirty laundry “aired”
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Alert ! , Sarcasm ;-)
Sept. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi , Liam !
I like “Beauchamp's Rule” ( raise a known 5+ major suit with 2 of 3 top honours tight unless another bid is outstandingly better )
No , not “resulting” just on this board - watch out for instances in future . Cheers.
Aug. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I saw this issue nicely resolved in a medium-to-high stakes rubber club twenty-something years ago , where the manager had pick-up slips for rubber scores and everybody held an account . A particularly-annoying ( some might have called him recidivist - Sydney players would recall the late O.M. ) kibber did just this in a rubber-going contract .

Declarer was awarded his contract , and the rubber , defenders with the defeat - and the rubber scored-up incomplete , accounts were settled with the difference taken from the offender's balance

I knew that Duplicate and Rubber Laws differ , of course , not sure it was kosher , but struck me as Solomonic
April 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Preempts work
April 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Points , Schmoints”
I have played countless oppo partnerships with local masterpoint currency equivalent to ACBL 13-15K total , and whom by attrition ( “monkeys & typewriters” perhaps ) have scragged a few “decent results in national events” about whom _I_ would be embarrassed to file a player memo , especially after that defense …….
April 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Doug
Hagiographic reference :-

www.bridgeguys.com/ACOL/swine_convention.html
Addendum 1NT-X-2C* can be played as “clubs-and-a-major”

Of course you are correct , it's arbitrary which arrangement you choose .

The Death Hand in any forced XX method is the weak 4333 ; in SWINE with 4clubs I think it best to show “clubs-and-a-major” , with 4diamonds “clubs and diamonds”
Opponents will often rescue you in a higher-ranking ( i.e. Major ) suit at the two-level when they've really got you on the ropes double-dummy :)
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
has it come up ?
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
but it gives you a warm fuzzy feeling when both sides play similar agressive methods , you play a trick better ( or , more usually , your oppos defend a trick worse than your Teammies ) and you pick up 9 IMPs for the extra doubled overtrick :)
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
and if they do stretch to game by mistake, and Responder has a few defensive assets ….
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Adam , in my experience , I welcome Doubler ripping when Responder's Pass forces XX , irrespective of the duration of Advancer's hesitation , as penalty redoubles are way less frequent than the scrambling weak touching-two-suiters ( and 4333s ) which extract from a doubled weak- or mini-NT by the F.P.
It's Frances' “game of chicken” , and oppos very often hang in three-of-a-suit after exhibiting great discomfort .
( this , of course , is not the case if 1NT-X-XX is played for blood ….. )
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Call the Director , or rewrite your post :) !
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If East honestly thought that 6C was void-showing , it seems peculiar to me that his final call was 6S rather than 6D
March 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Neat ! :p
Feb. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Highly ethical
Applaud the alert
Feb. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Depends on oppos. , state of the match , and other considerations …
Good problem , though :)
Feb. 6
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
.

Bottom Home Top