Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Chris Gibson
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 164 165 166 167
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
same, except low diamond from dummy.
Dec. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I expect you are playing an unplayably wide range for that bid. Standard solutions include playing a Lawrence style 2/1 for invitational hands with clubs, in which this would be weak, or to use weak or invitational j/s, in which case this would be the other one.
Nov. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
it wasn't an upgrade so much as a 3rd seat white experiment.
Nov. 19
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North has a clear GT. I abstained only because I objected to the description of why.
Nov. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can imagine some fun things with the 2nd option - creating voids, giving partner a high trump behind declarer, repositioning an ace so that you can be sure to lead your QJT honor sequence to it, etc.
Nov. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I prefer forcing. standard as I was taught in my area is non-forcing.
Nov. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I open 2, the auction is cramped, horrible, and invites preemption, to which I am extremely vulnerable given that I have a two-suiter.

If I open 1 planning on jump-shifting to 3 if unopposed, I have saved some space (ie, i'd get both of my suits in at a lower level than I'd even get one in opening 2), and I have a perfectly good action over our most likely preempt problem when I make a take-out double of their hearts (or a cue-bid of hearts).

The likelihood of 1 getting passed out is extremely low, and I don't jump-shift in minors for funsies, so this should get my hand off my chest.
Nov. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Same here - more than double the next thickest section.
Nov. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have played a no invites nt in a serious partnership. It lengthens my system notes, because we used 2N as a way to get out in a 6 card minor after checking for a four card major, as well as other sequences which standard bidding doesn’t handle well.
Nov. 13
Chris Gibson edited this comment Nov. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If by report it to the director, you mean asking the director for a recorder form, and asking him to file it correctly, then yes. If you mean asking him to make a ruling taking away the bridge result, I'd say no.
Nov. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Its a demand. I'd pass anyway, and apologize if its wrong, saying that since I misbid my hand twice, there should be no expectation that I wouldn't do it a third time.
Nov. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I thought about a weak NT context, and decided even in that context it was a downgrade out of that. I would open a mini-NT if my system allowed.
Nov. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would not open 4333, 4432, or 5332 hands with quacks as my only honor cards in 1st or 2nd seat playing 2/1
Nov. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
True enough, misread the auction. I still think that people stretch to bid a good suit in comp even with subpar values,
Oct. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How can you think in modern bidding that an opening hand and limit raise shows 22+ points?
Oct. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Open a strong club on this. Its better to overbid early in the auction than to have to “catch up” later, especially when your other option is a nebulous 1, presumably with no easy rebid. I also suspect you would have been better placed unless your methods after intervention are horrible. Pass, having already done full justice to your hand.
Oct. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
why would I pitch on trick 1? If diamonds are 2-2, I can lead a high spade later and establish my 12th trick. If they aren't, I'd rather try to establish clubs.
Oct. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
whatever makes you happy.
Oct. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wish all of my bidding problems were regrets I had from my top boards.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When the solid and staid are united with the original thinkers in the bidding poll arena, you know that anything other than the obvious answer is a far-flung outlier.
Oct. 17
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 164 165 166 167
.

Bottom Home Top