Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Chris Gibson
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Chris - that was indeed the case the last time our team had a bye in the Spingold. We were amused that when we handed in our entry voucher the TD asked how many masterpoints we had, and we had to admit we were flight B.
March 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm annoyed by this response, and think you should be embarrassed.

Peg didn't name people, you did. Peg didn't make any accusations of unethical bridge - she, in fact, stated that she believed it to be ignorance of the rules.

The implication I'm reading in your post is that Peg did something wrong. Is that what you are trying to say? If so, I disagree strongly. If not, you have written your post in a way to imply such, and I would request that you rephrase things to make clear that you are not implying that Peg did anything wrong.
March 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner was doing this in the last tournament we played. I had a word with him, and he stopped.
March 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
WHOOOOOOOO! WHOOOOOOOOO! WHOOOOOOOO!
March 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree that is extremely useful, especially for those traveling outside of their normal area, or looking to take a bridge vacation. I just didn't see a simple explanation of the site anywhere, and I'm loathe to click on new sites from my work laptop.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have 8 losers and bad trump in a hand with no special distribution, and if I pass, partner can still act. Pass seems percentage.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Please fill in the blank: I would go to Bridgescanner.com primarily to _______.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Love the Butcher love!
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sathya - no. Because I was wrong. I'm trying to win 10 tricks, apparently.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They probably feel like they can increase attendance at both a national event and a 10K event by doing so, since more people will think they have a chance to win the 10K event without the national champions, and since the national champions will probably just move over to the parallel national events.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is a squeeze after minors are cashed.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
yes. Nonsense edited out as to why, real why is below.
March 25
Chris Gibson edited this comment March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you'll find it easier to transfer the red suit to N by leading the J of hearts when in dummy (after a diamond to the J), then exiting a heart. That is much less risky, and much less work.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When is 1 short? The frequency of such is important when evaluating choices.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Matthew - If you knew ahead of time that winning a natty would affect your ability to play in limited events, would you have done anything differently?

If playing in those events are more important than your national win, ask the board to vacate it. Even if they don't, perhaps your plea would make them realize that they are taking something of value away before they vote.

I understand the argument for excluding national champions - the events were created as a shelter for those who didn't want to play in open events, after all. I think you'll find that its no great loss playing in them, if that happens - there are other events you can play in.

If they change the COC for those events, that is their right. If that causes them to lose revenue from you and your friends, that's the consequence they face.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sathya - everytime someone under 30 wins a natty, the rule would apply.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My rules for being in a forcing pass are unambiguous and simple: We are in a game-forcing auction (bidding game is not sufficient to meet this condition), or we are in a competitive auction someone on our side has made a slam try.

I have other situation specific rules to address systemic things, but those are the baseline rules. While they aren't nuanced enough to be optimized, my partnerships are never in doubt whether a pass is forcing, and they do cover the majority of situations where I'd personally want pass to be forcing.
March 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My rules for being in a forcing pass are unambiguous and simple: We are in a game-forcing auction (bidding game is not sufficient to meet this condition), or we are in a competitive auction someone on our side has made a slam try.

I have other situation specific rules to address systemic things, but those are the baseline rules. While they aren't nuanced enough to be optimized, my partnerships are never in doubt whether a pass is forcing, and they do cover the majority of situations where I'd personally want pass to be forcing.
March 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you mean telling the joke until someone laughs at it :)?
March 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Robin, the most likely number of spades is less than two given that your partner already responded 1N, so you can take out all hands with 4+ spades, and some hands with 3 spades as well.

I have a minimum with one extra spade than I might. That's still 2, especially with the crap spots. If partner has extra values, he'll move again, and if not than 2 is fine.
March 20
.

Bottom Home Top