Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Chris Gibson
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At least you apologized before showing that you have not played against flight B players regularly and have no idea about the standards of the players or their games.
May 16, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I feel confident that if the phrasing of my question will not significantly alter the results of the poll, but I appreciate the attention to detail.
May 15, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oh Bobby - I think you've been hanging out in the wrong crowds if you think everyone plays cards at such a higher level :)
May 12, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted playing a hand really well, but only because its the only one that I can take pride in alone. Defense, bidding, et all take partnership cooperation, and while an active ear for the auction can make you a better-than-average opening leader, no one's going to get rich on that skill.
May 11, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or a different option: Screens should be expected for nationally rated events, so that this issue does not come up during an important competition.
May 10, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good question. Follow-up question: there's been a scoring error in your favor. Should you fail to mention it to the director because you are expected to do your best to win? Suppose an opponent fails to notice that you revoked. If you draw his attention to it, are you failing in your mandate to play each hand to win at all times? We all know that there's wiggle room in the disclosure laws. Should you purposely disclose the minimum to opponents in order to increase the likelihood that you will win?
May 8, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have the right to wave any penalty that I choose. And I have the right not to wave any penalty that I choose. If I choose not to wave penalties for people I dislike, that's my business, and not any of the field's business.

As for the OP - in a national level event, especially one where I have teammates, I'll probably call the director and let them sort it out. Anything less and I'll probably wave the penalty unless it would put my teammates/partner on tilt for me to do so, or unless I really disliked the person who made the mechanical error.

I don't really have strong feelings about waving penalties in general, except that I personally find the “protect the field” argument to be ridiculous.
May 8, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
pass. I find it much less likely that this will help set the contract than, lets say, that it tells them how to play a contract that might otherwise go set. Add that to the danger of playing 5D rewrapped, and I'm done.
May 8, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would lead a club, probably the jack since I can easily imagine situations where I need to cause a Misguess of the suit.
May 8, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm just bidding 5 clubs. The preempt changes the expected club length for partner. You might be able to convince me to bid 4H instead, but that sounds too much like I have a club raise with a heart control.
May 8, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I actually think 5 would be GSF.
May 7, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is my thought exactly. This is a minor penalty card, and falls under the rules that you quoted - which makes the OP's assertion that he knows the rules slightly ironic :).
May 7, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you are making this bid with no agreement, hoping partner has a non-positional heart stopper, and trusting that partner will be on the same page, then you deserve the down 4 that inevitably will result.
May 7, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree with Michael. The only possible justification for not bidding the slam would be that you were swinging hard - this is a completely normal spot.
May 7, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would try 5N pick-a-slam. If partner picked diamonds, I'd re-pick for him.
May 7, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This appears to omit several points that were made in the appeals committee write up. A copy of that write up can be found at this link (scroll down until you find it): http://usbf.org/docs/2012usbc/bulletins/USBC2012news9.pdf
May 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I didn't answer because none of the answers really matches my experience, which is no I have never been dissatisfied with the way an opponent has shuffled.
May 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Greg, takeout seems wrong to me. If you have a 4 card major & the desire to compete, bidding the 4 card major seems like a perfectly acceptable solution. On the other hand, if you have righty's major, wait and see and maybe compete in the major that they bid seems like a terrible solution - you know you are likely to have a bad split, and if you and righty account for 8+ cards in that suit, the likelihood that partner only has 3 for his takeout double increases significantly.

Honestly, how often have you actually backed into a major suit partscore using that method? In my opinion, its much easier using penalty doubles because partner, who probably has the majority of the hand's assets in a competitive auction, knows whether you have an 8 card fit, and also whether he can handle a bad split.
May 3, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 hearts. If partner continues with 4 spades, I'll pass. I love my aces, but hate our fit, and things rate to be splitting poorly too. J432 just doesn't do it for me as a diamonds stop when partner rates to have 10-11 black cards. What else is new.
May 2, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top