Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Chris Gibson
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ian - Hard to say. If they don't have any experience with someone playing things other than Michaels, for example, it might not occur to them that there are other likely possibilities. At some level - and it sounds like they were playing at this level - it is more likely that the opponents are just not playing good bridge. The more relevant question is whether the assumption they are playing Michaels is so egregious as to limit their rights going forward, which I do not think that it meets that threshold.
Aug. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ian - you might double because you KNOW you have 3 heart tricks with hearts & spades as the two suits, and now you potentially have 3 opportunities for tricks in the minors, depending on what partner was doubling on, assuming the standard Michaels definition for the cue-bid. With an alert of 2, there is reason to ask, and pass-correct would probably alert the doubler that this is not Michaels, changing the trick math.
Aug. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You aren't just limited to the 2 level - you can trot out 3 or 4 spades. Hell, if he has hearts and spades you want to be in game with your double-fit anyway, so 2 pass or correct is, in my opinion, misjudged.
Aug. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I definitely roll it back. He's counting on 3 heart tricks and maybe something more based on the auction. If you had alerted pass/correct, he would have been tipped to the fact that all three hearts might not be cashing, or if they are, that there isn't a trick coming in diamonds. I believe so strongly that this is the right ruling that I think if you appealed, it would merit an Appeal Without Merit Warning.
Aug. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have no way of knowing - you didn't provide the hand that made the decision. Polling would have to establish it one way or another.
Aug. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass or correct is definitely alertable. I would not have appealed, because the director was right.
Aug. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I hate double - in competitive auctions its important to show support ASAP before they blow you out of the water. If you double, imagine how screwed you are when: they raise to 4 and partner bids 4 red (you might have slam, you might be down at the 5 level); they raise to 5 (You aren't in a forcing pass, partner doesn't know about your fit, and any action you take might be wrong). Both of those are extremely likely given my own lack of club length.
Aug. 1
Chris Gibson edited this comment Aug. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If my hand were better, I'd be more comfortable reversing. As it is, I'm going to go with the cheap way of getting both suits in, even if I can't show the 6th diamond.
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It depends on what your discussion is around what a responsive double shows, among other things. If you've discussed nothing, default is natural.
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'd game force every day of the week. 3 covers & a singleton = 4+ covers usually when I have 3+ trump.
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4. I want to be in a forcing pass over 5, I have some slam potential, and I don't want to emphasize any particular aspect of my hand, as I have help everywhere but concentrations nowhere. All vulnerabilities, all forms of scoring. I'll also have gotten all my values and my fit off my chest, making the next round of the auction fairly easy - if partner doesn't want to go on or compete, I'm confidently done myself (doubling if a forcing pass above 4).
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
some 4-3=5=1 hand with 15-17 HCP for me.
July 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
perhaps that the UI from the hesitation suggested less than full values for this partnership.
July 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
yes - pass with a 12 count 3rd seat is clearly a psyche, and needs to be recorded.
July 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4N only because I think 5N could reasonably be interpreted as GSF. My plan is to bid 6 next (or 5 over a 5 response)
July 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There are far more hands where they have missed their best spot than hands where I've missed something - I'll play for them to have a minor suit fit.
July 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
sure, just wanted to give a reference for those who might have missed the topic the first time, since it got nearly 200 comments, including several by you.

My own take is that the acbl regulations have not been revised to allow people to ask “no alerting please” or for a pair to be protected if they comply just because they are asked.
July 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play transfers, 5+ hcp, with X showing 5+ with no 5+ card suit when they bid below 2S. Above 2S we do something else
July 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On page 4 2nd paragraph, there needs to be work to help clarify the meaning. You seem to imply the sequence starting with 5 sill show 5-5 in the blacks, when I'm sure you mean that the sequence starting with 4 would have that implication.
July 21
Chris Gibson edited this comment July 22
.

Bottom Home Top