Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Cornelia Yoder
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 46 47 48 49
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing UDCA, the 10 would be discouraging attitude, so must be asking for a heart shift. Leading a seems less than useless with the dummy holding.
Nov. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So when are we simply going to do away with the sexist division of bridge tournaments and let everyone compete equally as a Person.
Nov. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What did your partner say when the director asked him/her? Did your pard agree with you or with the opponents?

As director, I believe the complaining party when both agree what happened. The defendants have reason to mislead, the complainers wouldn't have called unless there were some actual problem.
Nov. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can't imagine bidding a second time unless forced by my partner. Spades is more important and more likely to be held by my partner, so 2 and pass ever after.
Nov. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I just say, “It means my partner believes that we can take 5 tricks before you can take 9”.
Nov. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
DONT over strong NT in direct seat, Capp over weak NT in direct seat, Natural in balance seat always.
Nov. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What problem would you be posting if the defense had gone to the A, to KA, to Q, A, to the QK, J, ?
Oct. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bid optimistically, play pessimistically.
Oct. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Legally, the auction is over. If they are new or inexperienced players, I would carefully and apologetically explain this to the people at the table, and why the rule exists.

If you make it a teaching moment with friendly courtesy, following the rules goes down much easier with everyone.

If you ignore the rules for one case, what are you going to do when the exact same thing happens with a highly experienced partnership the same night at a different table?
Oct. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I want partner to give me the signal we have agreed is given on our opening leads. For me that would be attitude unless attitude is obvious (in which case count is the second choice).

I do not want partner trying to guess what I will think he is signaling. If you have no agreements about special cases, then stick to the basic agreement you have.
Oct. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Joe, several years ago, I tried a bridge game at Origins (much better than Gencon), and it drew 8 people, all but one were already duplicate bridge players.

The problem is that places like Gencon and Origins are loaded with more attractive events than an old grandmother deck of cards game can ever be.

After my try, the ACBL also did bridge events for a couple of years at Origins, including some teaching, but it drew so few people they gave it up.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The split of opinions on start time of 50-50 is primarily because the split of “night” people and “morning” people is about 50-50. Morning people are asleep at the table by 10pm. Night people aren't even awake yet by 10am. This is physiological and not by choice.

There is no solution to this except to have multiple events of equal status with start times suitable for each type of people.

Personally, I quit going to tournaments for exactly two reasons … (1) astronomical expense, and (2) late start times.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are you saying these bids are allowed but Multi 2 is not??
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You might consider polling the players who would be most likely to modify their agreements and ask THEM what conventions they would add if the Open Chart were allowed.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually, Ovunc, the way I teach 2/1 is that in a 2/1 GF auction, you bid the 6 card major twice then the 4 card other. In a 1N Forcing auction, you bid the major, then the other 4 card suit, then the 6 card major again.

The reasoning is that in a 1NF auction, partner is likely to be looking for some other suit to play in, whereas in a 2/1 auction, you have more time/room to show your 6 carder and still be able to show the other suit if needed.
Oct. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Most likely they were playing first round controls first, but after he denies the A, East's continued control bidding should promise it.
Oct. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East told his whole story with his 3 bid. If there is a slam, his partner should take over. After the diamond control bid, I think West should bid the 4N, but when he didn't, East should accept that.

So I blame West for not getting to 6 and East for getting to 7.

I wonder if West even knew that 4 promised a spade control, or if East knew whether West knew that.
Oct. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many, many years ago, I played in my very first Life Master Pairs. Board 1 was a disaster, mostly my fault. Board 2 was worse because I was still dwelling on the board 1 disaster. So Round 1 we got two results that we knew (correctly) were two zeroes.

Depressed but stuck in the event, we played on and ended up winning the event. That we could win after such a horrible start was close to an epiphany. Since that day, I have never let a run of bad luck, bad hands, or bad results affect my play.

It doesn't take a Data or Spock personality, I just remind myself of that day and every hand is a fresh start.
Oct. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The decision has nothing do with whether I'm having a good day or a bad day. Anyone who knows the slightest bit about probability knows that prior events have no effect on future ones.

I'll assess slam chances just like I always would.
Oct. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How many times makes an implicit partnership agreement? I can tell a story that might help answer this.

Several years ago, I played in a nationals with a BBO partner that came up from Bogata, Columbia, to play in our nats.

Despite me telling him that he must NOT open 1N with a singleton, he did it. Twice. In the first session. Opponents reported it to the director.

The national director informed him/us that twice made an implicit agreement (which in this case was an illegal agreement) and if either of us did it again during the nationals, we would be ejected from the event we were playing in.
Sept. 25
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 46 47 48 49
.

Bottom Home Top