Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Danny Sprung
1 2 3 4 ... 64 65 66 67
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There was a 1790 in the US trials today, so kind of easy to figure where 1770 comes from..
May 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems that one should play the ask is for the JACK when you have already shown a solid suit, as in this auction.
May 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Craig: You play in a tough game, your opponents always lead the right suit! Also notice that 3D seat couldn't open, 5th seat couldn't over call; the opponents are likely to be balanced too.
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not a big inverted minors fan, but when I do play it, the first question I ask is ‘is 2NT forcing?’. FWIW, I prefer NF at match points, F1 at IMPs
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Right. I missed a card…
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think there is a squeeze even if West fails to break up the communication. West helps guard hearts. In the 4 card ending, East still has an idle club.
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agreed, Michael. One just needs to have that agreement. Whether 5 to show a second suit is playable, given the fact that slam may be bid of AK is debatable.
April 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How does a 5 bid that neither shows nor denies a spade control help partner to evaluate their hand? Does it specifically show a second suit?
April 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I spoke with a “Senior Director” from the ACBL.

1. You are allowed to play your own defense.
2. In practical terms, you can just explain it to the opponents.
3. If, for some reason, the opponents want to see it in writing, in theory they could ask you to write down your defense.
4. If you do have your own written defense, the opponents are allowed to look at it as well.
April 25
Danny Sprung edited this comment April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you don't think there is a problem with relayers using the knowledge of questions to help them judge a hand, we will have to agree to disagree.

Your example of 1NT-2 is not what I am talking about. I am talking about a long series of relays. Say:

1-1
1NT-2
2-2
2NT-3

The notion that I should be familiar with what all of the bids mean is absurd.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is an inherent problem with defending relay systems. You can ask about every bid at every turn. But, say you pick up KQJx of hearts, and the bidding starts 1-1 (GF Relay). After several relays, your RHO bids 3 which is alerted. Can you double? What if you found out through your questions your LHO is 1552? Now what?

Is the fact that you asked questions authorized to your opponents? Say they go low and are able to stop in 4 now. How can you prove damage?
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe you were misinformed. I have written to a Senior director for clarification. If you were not misinformed, I will bring this up for immediate change before Toronto.
April 25
Danny Sprung edited this comment April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed: You are allowed to play a home grown defense to Multi.

No, it does not have to be on your system card. We have ‘defenses’ to :Flannery, Polish Club, Michaels, Unusual NT, Gambling 3NT, Precision, Bergen Raises, Drury, etc. To put all of those on the system card would be impractical.

Also, one might devise a Multi defense on the spot. You could even play double of 2 is takeout of Diamonds if you like. There is no obligation to have a written version of that.

Your opponents are certainly entitled to ask you what your intended defense is.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tried it. Well done.
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I only got it with some me help from google after all clues. I had never heard of the man.
April 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How about 7 and 2004, Barry? Bernie Miller did the same versus me, and I almost took the unilateral save. Page 4:

http://cdn.acbl.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/db3.pdf
April 16
Danny Sprung edited this comment April 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or, the Stayman sequence can show an unbalanced invite, while the 2 followed by 2NT is balanced.

For what its worth, we tried the Stayman, then 2 as invite for a while, and were not impressed. Seems we get the weak hands far more often, even if the gains aren't as big.
April 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unlike the ACBL…
April 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Having a match to get to a bad number from a good number makes no sense to me. Also, please don't charge them for their ‘bye’.
April 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can't play, I am getting my andirons cleaned. I don't even have a fireplace.
April 1
1 2 3 4 ... 64 65 66 67
.

Bottom Home Top