Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Dave Feldman
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At MP's, this would be a relatively easy 2D for me. At IMPs, it's an extremely uncomfortable 2D – a classic Roth “If we get past this round…” bid.
July 21, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without discussing the merits of the case, it's hard to argue with Jay Barronen's point above: “What good are procedural rules if they are only enforced if it does not change the outcome of the match?”
July 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The first duplicate game I ever played was the open game at the Westwood Bridge Club in Los Angeles. Sitting North at table 1 – Charles Goren.
June 25, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Danny Sprung said: “I recall Becker/Rubin decided to pass if 2227 with zero points. It finally came up, and, was wrong, partner had game in hand.”

I believe Uday Ivatury and I were the opponents the first (and last?) time either ever passed the 1C opening – in the first round of the 1992 Vanderbilt. But they clearly had no such agreement the first time it happened. I believe that Ron Rubin had a 7-club zero-count, but can't remember the rest of his shape (might well have been 2-2-2-7). They missed a cold game and I believe they agreed at the time, with no acrimony, not to do it again.
Sept. 22, 2011
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's assume the RKC bidder is slamming in spades and partner responds 6C to the 5N bid. What are the relative merits of a 6D or 6H bid by the Blackwooder showing or asking? And should RKC continuations differ in kickback, where there is more room?
Aug. 4, 2010
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
.

Bottom Home Top