Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Caprera
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 41 42 43 44
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yuan, Jxxxx bids 1S. I am a self-appointed deacon in the “Pattern Bidder's Church.” We also play 1H-1S-2R-2S as GF, 5+ spades.
3 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play it as “find me”, which is more likely to be a major given no stayman or transfer. But the arguments above intrigue me. Does it presume that Annie has read, or will read, Bird?

This is a once a year sequence for me (my crude estimate, one out of 200 sessions.) So 1 in 5000 deals as a first approximation. If you limit it too much further, say “just clubs”, you may never get to try it.

So, are you better of with a more frequent, more gambling, double or a double that never comes up but “may” be a winner if it does. Let's roll the dice. (More ways to win.)
4 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted on the assumption that there were bids between 2S and 3H where partner could show game interest. We play “one under” as a “chicken sh_t game try.” But given the hands we open, pass is most certainly a logical alternative.
April 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I bid 2D. We are pattern bidders. It is a religion. You believe or you don't.
April 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If we make an invitational+ call and the opponents bid above our game (denying us the ability to accept/reject), we are in a force.
April 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is something practical to be said for the proposition that the amount of disclosure depends on the level of the opponents. In a big boy game, “could be short” for board 1 and nothing for board 2 seems adequate. In a novice game it probably doesnt matter. But in that middle level, perhaps more disclosure is appropriate.

(Not a fan of board 1's opening. 3D seems “normal”.)
April 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One director said alert, the other said, “since it is basically natural” no alert is required. I had described the bid as shows 3+ clubs unless it is 3442.
April 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Now I really am sorry. I should have been more precise. It shows 3+ clubs unless it is exactly 3M, 4oM, and 4D. I would advise against playing double as lead directing because it typically has club length. But I am hearing it is nonetheless alertable. Fine.
April 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without discussion, passing is, at best, ill judged. YAOOYFM. (I just made that up. Eugene, please don't edit it.)

In my partnership, “after a bid and raise, including support doubles and jumps to a suit after a takeout double, 2N is F1.” They are game tries, probably not 4 trump. Doubler can check a 3M rebid. In competitive auctions we allow for off shape hands.
April 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know this isn't the question, but I am bidding whatever shows majors before I pass this board out.
April 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tom (and everyone else), put into your internet search engine “Caprera minigolf”. Enjoy. Daniel is my son.
April 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
AQx, K, AQx, 765432 looks like a 1N opener to me.
April 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Last train takes precedence over suit asking bids. Confirms all keycards and SQ.
April 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are better than minimum and “4+ trump”. This is a law abiding bid. But not more
April 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“…the reason the New York Times dropped its bridge column.”

(It is taking a big position, trying to be a hero, just so you can see your name in print if it works.)

Alternatively, but to the same effect, “…the lead I wish my opponents would try against me more often.”

And, just so no one feels left out, “…the lead you would expect to see at both tables of a junior team match.”
April 20
David Caprera edited this comment April 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Your defense is appealing and not dissimilar from our own, however, we play 2S and 2N as raptors (4M and longer minor). We don't have a bid for both minors. I wonder what the frequencies are to ascertain the relative value of these competing methods.
April 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you owe Adam an apology. There is no action too aggressive for Zach (aka, “animal”), but Adam is the more mature brother and once passed a balanced 10 count!
April 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To deal with minors, we play 3S=C or minors, 4C=D. Subsequent 4m+1 KCB (rolling), 4N regressive. Optional keycard (matched pairs H=C, S=D) after 2N-3S-3N-4M. Hex KCB after certain double fit auctions. 2N-4S 4-4 minors. 2N-5N pick.
April 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yeah, I just got a similar one. "Dear ACBL member, You know that national championship you thought you won last fall that finally allowed you to make grand life master? Well, we regret to inform you that a computer glitch made a small clerical error and confused your scores with those of Jeff Meckstroth. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Sincerely, Your friends in Horn Lake
April 18
David Caprera edited this comment April 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Some years ago, playing an imp match on a sponsored team with well-known pro and sponsor at the other table I opened 1H with a hand very similar to the one above. It did not work out. When we compared and “WKP” discovered what I had done, he launched into a tirade that was exceptional in its fury, even by his standards. I remember he began, “Don't you EVER come back to these teammates again and tell them you did not open 1NT.” (More than that, Eugene would censor.)

While the harangue was more emotion than logical persuasion, I have come to believe WKP was right.
April 17
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 41 42 43 44
.

Bottom Home Top