Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Caprera
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 121 122 123 124
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not really. Nor do I think that transfers are the panacea here either. 3H is game forcing. What else can you bid with a big hand, less than four spades and no heart stop, for example, KQx, xx, AKxx, KQxx? Similarly, with 5 spades and a slam try, we start with 3H and then bid spades. The double is expected to have 3+ spades so this should not result in a poor contract being reached.
25 minutes ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Victor, they may be the right answer but as my eighth grade math teacher would have said, “Show your work.” Please include the solution for declarer. Assume the SQ is equally likely with either defender.
2 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I considered whether or not this is more appropriate as a bidding poll. After 17 respondents had answered, I edited the post to add a second question as to whether a bidding poll is an appropriate forum given the multi-part answers. It would mean the answers would include something like, “Bid 7D if you would bid 2N and 3D; bid 7H if you would bid 2N and 3H…” Personally, I find those polls as confusing and I think they are unpopular. But Phil, certainly a fair comment.
3 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The mixed strategy solution must take into account the imp scoring and an assumption as to the score at the other table. A likely result at the other table is 3N down one and declarer knows this at the time he has to decide his spade play. If East retained a club, when a spade is played, declarer has to decide to take down two versus down one or down three. Down one is a push, down two is lose 2, down three is lose 3. Declarer is getting two to one imp odds to duck. I have no idea how to use that in a traditional Nash equilibrium mixed strategy solution. I will gladly buy the beer in San Francisco for the first person who posts the mixed strategy answer.
3 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bramley used to play with Mathe. That explains a lot.
4 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steve, point well taken. One down in a grand no difference. 2 down and doubled, and if that is possible, then 56% is too low (unless as you note it is an 11 or 13 hand.) Different result with respect to all the cowboys who think you should bid all 37% vul games.
22 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The two situations are different because you got a correct ruling in one but not the other. So long as in both cases the director believed the agreement was properly described but the player misbid, the result stands.
Oct. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My go to book with beginners is “Bridge for Dummies” by Eddie Kantar. While there are many good beginning books, I choose this one for two reasons. One, Kantar is funny. Most bridge books are boring. That can be particularly deadly for beginners. Two, the yellow and black covered “XYZ for Dummies” series is readily available and can be found in most book stores (at least in the U.S.)
Oct. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Isn't it a bit more than 56%. That assumes they never double and you never go down more than 1 trick. The guy on opening lead holding an ace may disabuse you of that notion.
Oct. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have been talking to friends and have been convinced that I am out of my mind. Have you been talking to my wife? I guess in barbaric 2/1, we may not have an 8 card heart fit in which case 3S shows a fragment and 3N is natural. Opener may be 3451, 3460, 3361 or 3370, and in any event, without a known 8 card fit. I knew I didn't like the conditions of contest.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I just play it the same way I play (1H)-5H, (1H)-6H and (1H)-7H.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After (1m)-1M-(Dbl), one can play transfers in which case a transfer into 2m is the cuebid. It gives advancer a second way to raise to 2M.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Flipping 3S and 3N for nonserious when hearts are agreed (which they are!) might make sense in that it may reduce the bleed of information to the opponents. While it gives them a double of an artificial call available, it is very unlikely that such a double of opener's first bid suit is useful.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bid 4N if you have a stopper?
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3N is natural in comp (no serious/nonserious). 4H was a control bid because no last train after both other suits (C and D) have been control bid.

These are our rules. Obviously, this is a question about “What are your agreements?” While I like our agreements here, one could certainly agree differently.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, I would prefer not scheduling the trials over Memorial Day weekend. That is both a personal preference (the Denver regional is that week) and based on the fact that, be it bridge or otherwise, that weekend is very busy for many people. But that is just my thinking and it is definitely a question worth asking.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play kickback with all the same structure we use for 4N keycard when spades are trump. 4N is an ask and NOT to play. What do comments regarding matchpoints have to do with playing bridge?
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No experience but how about DBL=C or big, 3S=D, 3N to play, 4C both minors NF, 4D both minors GF?
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1H-2D-2S-4C? Splinter in support of spades on my planet (where the water is blue.)
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4N in David Levin's given sequence is “regressive.” With that agreement South has an automatic 4C bid.
Oct. 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 121 122 123 124
.

Bottom Home Top