Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Caprera
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I assume my DBL is takeout and partner will stick only with the nuts.
April 10, 2017
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This auction is terrible. I don't even agree with the 1H opening (prefer 1N), but that is more a matter of style. 3H should be a sixth piece. Over 3H, south has a clear 3S bid. This partnership deserves each other.
April 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Opener had the nuts. AKxx, JT9x, x, AQxx. With the cards lying favorably, clubs looks like it makes 11 tricks and 3N makes 9.

As for bidding being “poor”, I don't agree. 2D could have been 11 hcp and 3C 0, in which case 3N (or more) may be available. My general rule is to try not to pass with the best hand at the table. Bidding 3D may not be clear, to be sure (You would like a sixth diamond in which case you only go for 800), but I think “poor” is an overbid.
April 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This was in a regional swiss. I was the three club bidder. My hand was QJx, x, KQ98x, JTxx. My LHO was a top American pro. He bid and went for sticks and wheels. I know one hand proves nothing other than bridge can be pretty random some time.
April 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ok, I confess I bid 6D. My thinking was that this would be “cheap insurance.” On a 30 point scale, it is all about win-loss and we would win the match even if I went for 300. But we would lose if this was a double swing board. I thought it presented a problem not often considered which is why I posted it. Had this been first board out of the box, the considerations would be different.
April 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You state that “South knows North has four spades.” What does North rebid with 3=4=5=1?
April 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My choice is “virgins”. Once hooked on duplicate and soliciting others, “hookers.” And after age 65, “Sex? Sex? Martha, have you seen my slippers?”
April 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When partner doubled 1N, he had a good hand. When he doubled again, he has the nuts. If we don't go plus, me and pard are going to talk in the wood shed.
April 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played a very similar “Swedish Club” for a number of years. Double of 1C is “major suit oriented”. Greater than 50% of the time, 1C is in range weak notrump.
April 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To disambiguate keycard, the author suggests bidding fourth suit. Nice if you have the room. Consider 1S-2H-3D-4D. 4H natural (perhaps honor-x) is too valuable to give up. So is 4S. 4N should be your ask in this sequence.
April 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think both East and West “went low.” They didn't need to if they used 5N as “last train.” Either one of them could have bid 5N and the other would have gone. Much better use of “one under” than grand slam force, a bid with extremely limited utility with keycard blackwood (including exclusion) available. (I realize no one bid keycard here. I am just saying that historically the GSF predated keycard and is no longer of significant value.)
April 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
While north can pass with the boss suit, I think it is wrong for East to pass with hearts. So, today, I blame East.
April 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“I can't play this afternoon because I got busted for selling pot and I am in jail. But you are a lawyer, and since now you won't be playing this afternoon, can you come down and bail me out.”
March 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Any sentence that starts “Clearly” is automatically suspect.
Jxx, KQxxx, AQxx, x.
I can't imagine not rebidding 2N.
March 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On a club lead in 6S, you can establish the HT, pitch a club, ruff a club, but you can't get off dummy. East can give West a diamond ruff.
March 30, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jeff, thanks for agreeing to play on BBO Vugraph with the USBF Junior Training Team, Monday, April 10, at 7pm Eastern time. Kibitzers are welcome. Larry Cohen and George Jacobs will be doing the commentary. The kids are grateful to all the top players who are willing to donate their time.

My question. You and Eric have a reputation for opening light. What reasons do you give? For example, you pick up
AKxx, Kxxxx, x, xxx.
Do you open 1H? All positions and vulnerabilities? Imps and matchpoints? Weak and strong opponents? If you do, and partner responds 1N, do you pass or rebid 2C? Why?
March 29, 2017
David Caprera edited this comment March 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It looks ridiculous in print but after a voluntary bid and raise sequence we sell penalty doubles below the game level.
March 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is calling the director because I have 12 cards one of the options?
March 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
RDB is A, 4M is K, P is no control. I thought it was “standard.”
March 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner's pass of a redouble above the one level is penalty. If that is not your agreement, you should be required to put a red sticker on your convention card that says, “Please violate me.” (That isn't really what the sticker should say but I cleaned it up for the children in the audience.)
March 24, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top