Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Cole
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nedju, I disagree.
However unlikely it is that team mates did not know what was going on, we have to assume innocent until proven guilty.
I would, however, remove all medals won on teams including cheats. However this is a discussion for a different thread.
April 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the defence should get this right - even Gro will not bid this way without a good suit.

Obviously he got a feel for the heart break - maybe it came from the speed the red card hit the table. The suggestion of any other reason without any evidence I find unacceptable.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that it is generally better to play your card to trick 1 in normal tempo. Then do not turn it over until you have finished thinking about the hand.
I am surprised that this is not common practice.


I would also welcome an increase of thought time required from declarer to 20 seconds. Then a play to trick 1 in 10 seconds should be normal.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also note that Zia is proving that the less young can still win
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass is non-forcing.
Double is clearly action - I have a maximum hand and am happy with pass or 5. So it is the correct bid.
Feb. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But we should all agree that Richard is mad …
Feb. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I certainly agree that the ratio of boards in the qualifying to final was wrong - and would prefer to have had a longer final.

What would you bid over
3 (3NT) ? with AKx, KQxx, QJxx, xx?

This was one decision of a top player that made a big contribution to the winners imp score!
Feb. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Am I allowed to pass?
Feb. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why does North know that the spades are breaking?
Why cannot they be 5-0?
Feb. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No blame for not reaching 4S on your own steam.
Not even a jack wasted and you still need a 3-2 diamond break.

Both could or should have saved.
Jan. 30
David Cole edited this comment Jan. 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard - did you not get the bidding wrong. From what I remember of the hand, I opened 2 second in hand, and partner raised to 4
Jan. 21
David Cole edited this comment Jan. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Deutscher Bridge-Verband e.V.
Geschäftsstelle
Augustinusstr. 11 C

50226 Frechen-Königsdorf

Telefon: 02234 - 60009-0
Telefax: 02234 - 60009-20
e-Mail: INFO@bridge-verband.de
Internet: www.bridge-verband.de
Jan. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Next time please use a bidding poll
Dec. 31, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If 1 is opened on all weak balanced hands, I pass with a standard 1NT overcall. Then on the next round X shows this hand - so we occasionally pick up a penalty.
INT overcall is then available as Raptor - 5 card minor with 4 card major.

This is particularly important against polish club, where overcalling 1NT with a strong balanced hand looks very stupid when opener has a strong hand and you score minus 1100.
Dec. 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where is the damage?
Why was South's behaviour changed because of the question?
Dec. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Germany no.
DBV German Bridge Federation) has a monopoly on competitive bridge, and thus is subject to court control. So in the tournaments they organise, no.
A privately organised tournament could just not invite players, as a club could do.

Whether the WBF and EBL statues would survive in a court has not yet been tested.
Dec. 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think it is not black and white.
Two 16 year olds, jsut learned the game, agree to pass additional information through eye signals and thus have a gain. This is collusive cheating - but there is no reason to suppose that after a severe lecture they will not turn into fair bridge players.

Secondly anything we do has to stand up in normal courts. We must respect the rule of law - even if we do not like the results sometimes. We should frame our regulations in such a way that they will not be overturned - what that means is different in different parts of the world.

I believe a life time ban would be appropriate for many of the cases being discussed in this thread.
Dec. 12, 2018
David Cole edited this comment Dec. 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think it is clear:
The BIT say “I have an ace”. It is not clear which ace from the BIT.
The comment makes it clear that if an ace is missing it will be the diamond ace.

So the important question is:
Was the diamond lead clear without knowing partner has an ace. I think that the answer is clearly yes, as has been well analysed above, and would expect all players at this level to think the same.
However some of the players consulted thought otherwise, so I must conclude that the ruling was correct, although I believe if different players had been polled there would have been different results.

The suggestion of unethical behaviour I find outrageous. If the guy on lead thought there was no logical alernative to a diamond, he should lead the suit. There is nothng unethical about that it any way.
Dec. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Some guy in 15th place who I heard of somewhere ….
Dec. 1, 2018
David Cole edited this comment Dec. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let us applaud that Monaco and Poland declined the medals.
I assume they will be asked to confim that they wish to accept these new positions - maybe they will decline these as well.
Nov. 14, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
.

Bottom Home Top