Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Cole
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think it is not black and white.
Two 16 year olds, jsut learned the game, agree to pass additional information through eye signals and thus have a gain. This is collusive cheating - but there is no reason to suppose that after a severe lecture they will not turn into fair bridge players.

Secondly anything we do has to stand up in normal courts. We must respect the rule of law - even if we do not like the results sometimes. We should frame our regulations in such a way that they will not be overturned - what that means is different in different parts of the world.

I believe a life time ban would be appropriate for many of the cases being discussed in this thread.
Dec. 12, 2018
David Cole edited this comment Dec. 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think it is clear:
The BIT say “I have an ace”. It is not clear which ace from the BIT.
The comment makes it clear that if an ace is missing it will be the diamond ace.

So the important question is:
Was the diamond lead clear without knowing partner has an ace. I think that the answer is clearly yes, as has been well analysed above, and would expect all players at this level to think the same.
However some of the players consulted thought otherwise, so I must conclude that the ruling was correct, although I believe if different players had been polled there would have been different results.

The suggestion of unethical behaviour I find outrageous. If the guy on lead thought there was no logical alernative to a diamond, he should lead the suit. There is nothng unethical about that it any way.
Dec. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Some guy in 15th place who I heard of somewhere ….
Dec. 1, 2018
David Cole edited this comment Dec. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let us applaud that Monaco and Poland declined the medals.
I assume they will be asked to confim that they wish to accept these new positions - maybe they will decline these as well.
Nov. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The team is that which won the most important domestic competition - so in Germany the Bundesliga
Nov. 5, 2018
David Cole edited this comment Nov. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good hand with no clear bid
Oct. 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How about both?
Oct. 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
German rules:
Anounce NT ranges, length of minor suit opening and transfers.
No alert at the 4 level except on the first round of bidding.
However most are friendly and tolerant.
Oct. 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The strongest club in Munich is http://bridgeclub-muenchen.de/
As noted above, we play pairs on Mondays and teams on Thursdays, starting 7:00 pm.
Contact LesEnfants@kreisberger.de for partners/teammates.
Looking forward to seeing you there!
Oct. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass is not a LA.
I think 5 could be bid. A question is whether partner would bid 6 over this.
Oct. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have bid 5 not 4. Partner has a hand too strong to overcall 1 - I need KQxxxx, Ax, xx, AKx for 7
Oct. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the performance of Michal Klukowski is incredible - the man is a junior and has just won his fourth world championship. His bridge was a pleasure to watch !
Oct. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How about bidding 3 instead of 3. If opps were going to bid, it will help partner decide.
If they were not it will only be bad if you get too high which seems unlikely with this playing strength.

Note that 5 makes
Sept. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let us be quite clear:
1) The doctors won their case and have a right to play.
2) If the DBV disbands and reforms, as long as it has a monopoly on organising bridge in Germany, it will not be possible to refuse participation to anyone (Kartellrecht).
3) Changing the constitution will only help for the future not the past
4) Cancelling any event the doctors enter would effectively kill bridge in Germany.

So I recommend playing - easy for me as I am not playing in the Paar Bundesliga this year.
Sept. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tom. It is not the fault of the DBV. They have to accept the ruling of the court.
Sept. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The president of the DBV requested that we should continue to play in events even if Wladow/Elinescu take part. They unfortunately have a legal right to play, and if everyone refused to play, the DBV would just have to stop holding events.

So it is not an easy call.
The thing that is very sad is that Fantoni/Nunes appear to have been welcomed back by some of the Italian bridge community.
Sept. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On lead the first question is whether an active or passive lead is required. As I have no stops in the red suits, I would think active and lead a club.

But bad lead is too strong.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit - you criticise Easts pass of 3NT, even though he scored +600. Double would have led to 4 and not such a large plus score.
Agreed - it could have gone wrong, but as South is clearly taking a risk, bidding on does not seem to be mandatory.
July 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The answer to the question is no. BIT means partner has something to think about - if he makes a very strange bid then there is no UI.
In this case you were clearly thinking about bidding or doubling, so there was UI.
I would bid 4NT as West - whether pass is a LA a committee should decide.
April 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just if asked. My card says preempts, if they want to know the style they ask. I describe any differences accurately.
I play long suit trial bids. I describe these as showing partner should judge min/max opposite Axx. If they enquire further, I say it does not do show anything, and in the past what has happened. All things where the players have different styles which opps are entitled to know about.
April 13, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top