Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Gurvich
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Both squeezes are legitimate. On the defense where 2 rounds of are cashed followed by a LHO is stripped down to Q KJx, dummy has a trump and 3 clubs while declarer is down to 9 AQ10. LHO is thrown in while dummy pitches a club.

When 3 rounds of are played followed by 4 rounds of trump then RHO is squeezed down to QTxx and xx. On the final trump must pitch a club or a spade. If the spade is pitched just take a finesse. If the club is pitched cash A and run 9.
Nov. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I haven't run a simulation but tend to raise. Bidding 2C creates a problem when partner has 5 or 6 hearts and a fit for diamonds or clubs. You may end up in 2m instead of 4H.

Playing in the minor requires making 2 more tricks than playing in hearts for matchpoint purposes. That makes even a 43 heart fit acceptable on many hands.
Oct. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also, I fell from grace in not bidding 6nt.
Aug. 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The actual hand was Ax in the long club hand. Without an opening lead 6 makes. The other hand was 1570.
Aug. 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What about regional pair events that are stratified? The top strat is open but other strats aren't. Is that open, open+, basic, or basic+? I would assume at least open but can easily see an argument for basic+.
March 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In fact, all 3 of your jacks could be wasted but I would still invite. The J10 could be working as might the J952. I do prefer going through 2 and stopping in 2 but given that's not an option I'm fine with rebidding 2nt.
March 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Easy to miss a good contract or a chance to push the opps higher by passing. Simple sequence might be 1-1-2-2 by opps. Do you get in after passing? You could easily have a part-score in any of 4 strains and not be able to beat 2. If you do get in it could be a bloody.

Passing first doesn't preclude coming in later but it's much riskier and you may miss your best fit. On balance I like where the points are located and the odds of partner having a 5-card suit are fairly good. It's unlikely partner will balance with a weak hand at the 3-level if you never take action.
March 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And even with all of the action at the other side of the table bidding 3 is correct. Partner pulls to 3 and that goes -1(not vul) while 2 makes.
Aug. 12, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would always compete once partner took any action.

Here's a slightly different scenario with the same hand. I'm over the 1 opener. The auction proceeds 1-p(me)-2-p-p to me. I am very likely to balance if partner doesn't hesitate but with a hestitation by partner over 2 I would pass. The hesitation makes a risky action much less risky.

The difference with your example is that partner has already told me all I need to know with double. We could be cold for 4 or 5 on some layouts. ie xx AJ10x Qxx AQxx is not a particularly good hand for partner but with a favorable lie of the cards 4 is possible and 2 may make.
Aug. 12, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is another consideration. Declarer holding Kxx opposite AJT9xx will get an extra entry to dummy when Qxxx is held over the dummy.

A low club to the 9 must be ducked by Qxxx. Use that entry for some purpose and repeat the finesse. Again Qxx must duck to hold declarer to 3 tricks. The final entry comes when declarer overtakes K with A.
June 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Might be sub-optimal at IMPs also. Danger of an overruff is increased. Might go down if you misguess spades and diamonds. ie, 3rd round overruff, to East, 4th round of . Trumping with the A isn't unreasonable and now you take a finesse in losing to Qx with a return. Worst case scenario you go -2.
April 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Singleton heart lead makes me play for the triple squeeze. West is more likely to be squeezed but it can work against either. For one thing I'm more likely to get the count in clubs right and drop doubleton Q. ie East has Kx xxxx xxxxx xx. Also, either hand may carelessly pitch a diamond from original 44 split and allow for the pseudo triple.
July 26, 2016
David Gurvich edited this comment July 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I generally play that opener isn't allowed to bid above 3NT without good controls. That allows trying to reach reasonable slams with hands like x Axx K10xxxx xxx
Feb. 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The DOS version of ACBLSCORE can be used on any system using DOSBox and works pretty well. Wine can only use the Windows version and had multiple issues last time I tried about 2 years ago. Any recent reports on Wine + ACBLSCORE?
Jan. 28, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've been discussing this issue with a couple of people and the best case for the actual ruling that I heard was the following, “The law in question is not intended to be punitive and forcing the player to get the hand wrong 100% of the time was not the intent.”
Dec. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've been playing 1nt-2-2-2nt as an artificial GF usually puppeting 3. With 1nt-2-2-3/3/3 as light shapely invites, usually 55. Opposite a 15-17 notrump the invitational sequence might be 5-8 points.

Similar auctions after 1nt-2-2 with 2 being the puppet.
Sept. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1NT overcall is awful on this hand but pass might be equally bad. There's too many hands where partner will pass the board out, they make 1 and EW have a partial or even a game.
July 6, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Mickey Mouse slays Godzilla!!! Clearly you should have been the PLAYING captain at the team trials.
June 18, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The auction can be analyzed in a couple of ways assuming that a direct double of 2 is takeout(likely) or penalty(unlikely). South misbid regardless.

Playing double as takeout passing 2 should either be a penalty pass or a balanced minimum . Unless playing roth-stone or fantunes the South hand is not minimum,isn't unbalanced, and should take action directly over 2 regardless by either doubling or bidding 3 or 3. I like those calls in the following order, (1)X (2)3 and (3)3. Following up your pass with a penalty double of 3 seems really strange on Qx. Using this assumption, North has made a clear slam try in hearts and South should be thinking about grand slam not passing 4. South has misbid the hand 3 times.

Playing double as penalty oriented, pass might be an option but seems wrong with a good 5422. The only wasted card is the Q and everything else is great, bidding 3 or 3 seems obvious. Double of 3 simply compounds the earlier pass so we don't count that as a second error here. North has an impossible problem over 3 and passing to try and get some help from partner seems correct. Now when partner has shown a minimum balanced hand there is no clear cut action and North signs off in 4. Using this premise South has misbid only once.
May 24, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I misclicked on the vote and would bid 2nt not 3nt. Seems normal and avoids some obvious problems for partner that 3 might create.
May 24, 2014
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top