Join Bridge Winners
All comments by David Levin
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 188 189 190 191
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If Responder would rebid 2N over 2 with South's actual hand (as suggested by Rainer in a reply to the third discussion), then I'm not sure what the downside of Opener's rebidding 2 would be, and it might save bidding space when Responder also has four spades.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems that the potential overruff on a 4-2 diamond break can be precluded by cashing one diamond, ruffing the second round of diamonds low, and ruffing the third round of diamonds high. (Transportation omitted for brevity.)
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think if I were to move to a region where I didn't know anybody, I would volunteer at tournaments before setting any play dates. This would put me in touch with well-connected individuals who eventually should be able to help me find others at my level.
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Carry on.
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Perhaps South decided that an accident was more likely than being able to locate the needed quacks or additional shortness.
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The personal remarks seem unnecessary.
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What might be a partnership rule that defines 4N as a signoff in the uncontested sequence 1-2;2-3;3N-4;4N ?
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've found that for replies, the color “#EDEDED” seems to blend the best.
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When #3 appeared in a tournament report in The Bridge World, the writer called Declarer's line a work of art. So, we're not the only ones who found it subtle.
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Larry Cohen's article “A Blue Ribbon Pair” had a deal like what you describe.
Oct. 4
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Form of scoring should be provided.
Oct. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I continue to be struck by how often a play or defense decision can be resolved by counting winners.
Oct. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I see that these have been fixed.
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Page 7, second-to-last paragraph above diagram, “Partnerruffs” -> “Partner ruffs”.

Page 10, last paragraph, “shift succeds” -> “shift succeeds”.
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On this deal, it's certainly convenient for 3 (over a 2N advance that shows 8-11) to be strong enough to permit Partner to drive to slam with a maximum. But how would Intervenor handle a hand like x AJxxx KQx AQxx?

Also, I imagine it would be helpful to newer players to have some guiding principles, one of which might be, “Game before slam.” So, if Intervenor holds x AJxx KQxx AQxx, maybe 3 (over 2N) would be a strain probe that denies a five-card suit and doesn't promise a huge hand.

I'm not saying this is the right approach, but it seems to me that suggested auctions for particular deals would be more beneficial if accompanied by a broader scheme.
Sept. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What a great way to portray bridge as a game played by old people.
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The hand diagram should say, “East”.
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Leading a heart for a finesse at Trick 2 might avoid a guess later. If East takes the K (Dummy's diamonds' making it dangerous for East to duck) and returns a club, win (pitching a diamond), take the diamond finesse (assume it wins), and cash the A. If the 8 doesn't fall, cash the A and ruff a diamond with the J. If West started with Kx, there's a guess after all: draw trump and hope spades are 3=3, or cross in spades to ruff Dummy's remaining diamond (hoping East started with K8x).

If the heart finesse at Trick 2 works, cross to a spade and take the diamond finesse. If East wins and returns a club to the closed hand, repeat the heart finesse (assume both follow low), cash the A, cash the A, and ruff a diamond. If diamonds don't break, hope for 3=3 spades.
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand. Was the auction different when the article was first posted?
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Curiously, the crosstable for the Bermuda Bowl (http://db.worldbridge.org/Repository/tourn/wuhan.19/microSite/Asp/crosstablerank.asp?qtournid=1640) uses scientific notation for Russia's score against Norway: “-2.000001E-02” instead of “-0.02”.
Sept. 19
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 188 189 190 191
.

Bottom Home Top