Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Deb Dhar
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Win the second club instead of finesse. Go to A and run diamonds. Lead a small heart from dummy, and hope E has K and no more black cards?

Oops. Will not work. I thought we have 6 cards in club.
Sept. 23
Deb Dhar edited this comment Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I see there are two -500 for NW. So, another S also guessed the diamonds?
I was East at another table. Our South opened 1NT (10-12) after two passes.
Sept. 9
Deb Dhar edited this comment Sept. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Basically, Ed's line.

However, is it better to lead the first club from dummy assuming no trump loser? RHO will go up with K holding Kx. If RHO plays J from Jxx then clubs are running. If RHO wins with J from singleton J or KJx and leads back a diamond we have to decide whether to ruff in hand, and take another finesse in club or to play clubs to be 3-2.
Aug. 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I doubt if RHO - vul - would have come in 4 after passing originally and after the opponents bid 2-2. Had he bid 3 after 2-2 I could have continued 3 and partner bid 4. We could still do Kickback and reach 6.

I agree with you - I should have bid 4 over 3 after the given auction. If partner raised - she would not do that with Jxxxx in clubs - I should have bid 6.

Also, I meant to write “While I am not completely convinced I might open 2♣ with these hands next time” in my previous post. Somehow the “not” was missing.
Aug. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So, a very large percentage will open 1 - just what I expected.

This hand came up in the first match of a recent regional swiss. Our opponents were three world champions and a GLM.

North's hand was xx Qxx xxx Axxxx.

The bidding at the other table - uncontested - P-1S-1NT-3C and they reached 6C.

At our table, I opened 1 and the bidding P-(P)-1S-(P)-1NT(semi forcing)-(3D)(from my RHO).

I could have bid 4 and had another decision to make if the partner raised to 5. I took the easy way out and bid 4. The club J dropped in two rounds, clubs were not blocked any more and I made 6. We lost 11 or 12 IMP.

After the game I consulted the South at our table. He suggested I should have opened 2 with this 3 losers hand. I could see the bidding would have been easier since we play controls. So, 2C-2H showing one A or two K would certainly have helped.

While I am not completely convinced I might open 2 with these hands next time.
Aug. 29
Deb Dhar edited this comment Aug. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sure - I will go down against that particular layout. With West having long hearts, the diamond length is expected to be with East. The problem with running T is that West will play back a spade - as Richard has already pointed out. We have to take a position in spades immediately. Besides, I do not see how I can count hand out to make proper play in diamonds later and I need 3 diamond tricks - may be I am missing something here.

Suppose, East wins the T with Q and switch to spade. I win with A. What is the diamond break (QJx and xxx) or (Qx and Jxxx)? Should I finesse through East or play for the drop to win the third diamond trick? Is there some kind of show up squeeze?


Edit: Sorry. I meant if West wins with Q.
Aug. 29
Deb Dhar edited this comment Aug. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes - finesse is less than 50%. I think the percentages of Kx or Kxx with East is still higher than 40% while the club play is below 40%.
I like Kit's suggestion (below) of playing J after AK.
Aug. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We have a club loser unless the clubs are 3-3 or JT doubleton in either hand - less than 40% (?). So, heart finesse is the percentage play.
Aug. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Come back to hand using a heart - assuming both follow. Dummy has AQ4 - AT7 3 declarer has 9 Q6 K983 -. Lead low diamond to T.
Aug. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The primary signal in ACBLland, when partner leads a suit, is attitude. So, North will give attitude signal - not count - when South leads a heart.
I believe, the primary signal in France, where Marc is from, is count. So, switching to heart - not without risk as everyone noted - will work here.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think HCP are divided equally (10-10) between opponents since both passed initially. So, West holding Q, K and KQ while East holding A, AJ and J is quite possible. In that case, taking the diamond finesse at trick two is the right play. However, that might lead to a diamond ruff.

I think, ruffing a club at trick two and running J is equally good. East, not knowing the location of Q, might think she is end-played and return a red suit to our advantage. If East does lead back a club I will discard 10 from my hand and ruff in dummy; I do not have to find J anymore. I take diamond finesse next. I need Kx in East's hand to make the contract. Lead K from hand then. If East has Kxx or the diamond finesse fails (I think) I can still hold it down 1 since all the trumps are high except Q.
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Cannot see anything better than Craig's line - ruff a and run J. If there are two spade losers we need East to hold Kx. We still have to locate J.
Things get a little better if East wins with A - with or without a cover from West.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, indeed.
I see that Double is the most popular choice here. If the partner bids 4 we would not be very happy.
FWIW, I bid 3 at the table. The partner's hand was
10x 10xx QJ10xx Q10x
I went down 2 -200. 3 makes for -140. 4 would not be much better. Pass was the correct bid on this hand.
July 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This deal came up in a side pair game at a recent regional. West took at least 20 seconds before the double. East spent 15 seconds muttering “what do you want me to do?” and then bid 3. We called director and again at the end of the hand. 3 made 3.

I thought the director would roll the contract back to 2X. The director, for some reason, ruled pass was not a logical alternative and let the table result stand. I did not agree with the director’s ruling.

2X would have gone down 1; +100 for EW instead of +110 for making 3.
July 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes; I too would have passed 1NT.
July 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“If you bid on i’ll Roll it back. If you tell me you have an agreement to bid the slam with 3 or 4 i’ll Still roll it back.” Yes - very likely.
However, if you pass with 3 or 4 after partner's hesitation when you agreement is to raise (AutoWood), IMO, you are using UI.
July 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Play K and A. If there are no trump losers then ruff a diamond. Play Q from dummy intending to run discarding the last diamond unless there is friendly cover from E. If W wins I can win any return and pull the last trump. Dummy's A and J will take care of two hearts.
If there is a trump loser I think we need hearts to be 3-3 or clubs 3-3 with K onsite. So, ruff a diamond, discard the other diamond on A and play Q. If there is a friendly cover ruff, play Q and and try to discard two hearts on J and small . I do not what the right percentage play is if E does not cover Q.
July 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Play 2 rounds of clubs and ruff a . If clubs are 3-3 and then ruff a back. Play top spades and another spade. On a good day we might make 6 losing one spade. Make 7 if spades are Q10 doubleton in one hand.

If the club gets over ruffed we might make 5 if spade Q drops in two rounds - losing one spade over ruff and one club.

Otherwise making 4.

Edit: did not see Craig's comment.
July 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Rajeshwar – Congrats and good luck in Wuhan.
I watched the tail end of that match on Vugragh and found that board 17 a little amusing. I do not think bidding in either room was that extremely unusual. Yes – W should have reopened with a double and not bid that anemic suit. If E response of 2 after double by W showed Spade – when N had already shown 5 cards - then E could have bid 2 with that meaty suit over 2 reopening. After all, W passed in the first round.
July 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There must be interest in the card play. For example, I think one of the W in the other match - Bangladesh vs Pakistan - played in 2 and went down 2.
July 2
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
.

Bottom Home Top