Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Gábor Szőts
1 2 3 4 ... 66 67 68 69
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The real question is why he did not bid 3NT.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 seems obvious not because I don't feel it's a bit overweight but because I don't want to spend the remainder of the bidding with discouraging partner from clubs (after I have bid 3).
I hope he's not going to hesitate before bidding 3NT because I'm intending to bid 4 the next round.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would not include 5-6 in 2. You may need the 4th round 3 bid for something else, e.g. a control bid for hearts. Bid an immediate 3 over 2om with 5-6.
Aug. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, Peg, in that case you might like this one too:

Over 1m-1-1-2om (GF) we play:
- 2: 3 hearts, balanced
- 2: 2 hearts, balanced, no stopper
- 2NT: 2 hearts, balanced with stopper
- 3om: natural, 4 cards (3-suiter)
- 3: 3 hearts, short om (5431 or 6430)
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We have a clear rule in this situation:
- 2 shows a balanced hand with 2 diamonds and denies a stopper
- 2NT is balanced with stopper, 2 diamonds
- 3 shows 3 diamonds without shortness
- 3 is a splinter with 3 diamonds
So we have an obligatory 2 bid here.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is rule which I have learned from a Tom Townsend article on doubles and I think is a good one:
If they reopen, double is for penalties. Exception: 1x-p-p-something.
Aug. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is a rather pessimistic view on both accounts. You do not base your bidding assuming the worst.

And my proposed solution does just as well as the double if the first doubler never sits.
Aug. 10
Gábor Szőts edited this comment Aug. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wonder if you play an obligatory raise of 1 to 2 with 4-card support.
If you do, and doubler practically never passes the double, then the double won't accomplish anything. You can bid 2 with a 3-carder, bid 2 with 5, and 3 with 4.
Aug. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, I think I misunderstood you first. What I mean is: Having bid spades you have no more the possibility to make a natural 4NT call.
Aug. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How great thinking. Hats off to Meike!
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only way to distinguish between an RKC in hearts and a natural NT is to start with a double with the latter.
Yes, the double implies spades but after opener's 4 that is irrelevant.
For me the only question is what 4NT would mean if opener bid 4 over the double.
Aug. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To make the subsequent 4NT natural.
Aug. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is reason to rebid 2 even on a doubleton, e.g. with 2452 distribution. Partner will have either 5 clubs or 3 diamonds, the latter correcting to 2. And in competition he is not going to get excited having 5 clubs when he has already shown 4 with his 1NT bid.
And if the opponents know that you may be in a 7-card fit reopening will look less attractive to them.
Aug. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's see. Can't be Blackwood for hearts because we had the opportunity for that bid one round earlier (4 could be a least-of-evils choice, not a desire to play there). Can't be natural, we would have doubled first. What remains are the regular BW and the KC ask in spades. As a key card in spades must be useful in all possible contracts, KC in spades it is. Which means there is no regular BW in this situation.
Aug. 8
Gábor Szőts edited this comment Aug. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Another story. A player, when 50$ was charged on him for illegal smoking, pushed a 100$ note to the clerk and said: ‘Keep the change.’
Aug. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What does 3 mean if not this hand?
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Once I opened 2 4th in hand with opening strength. The opponents reopened with a double and overbid us on the 3 level (not even in spades), making.
Not sure they would have reopened after 1-1x-2H. Unfortunately I don't remember the hands.

My gut feeling is that it makes no sense to preempt at the 2 level in 4th chair, maybe excepting spades. I'd play something else, e.g. 2 balanced and 2 Flannery.
July 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why is 5 laydown?
July 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In this situation opener bids what he wants to play. With 4-card he will bid 3 or 4, with 3 he will pass or bid 3m. So it is 3 for me.

The only problem I see is how opener is ever able to determine that pass is the right choice. When he has only 3 hearts he had bid 2 because he had distribution and he can't have 3433 after opening 1.
July 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is no need to ask if opener has 5 or 6. He'll tell you anyway.
While we're at it, I think a useful way of follow-up is to swap the meaning of opener's 3 and 3M, the former showing 6M the latter showing a club bid. Now you can agree M at the 3 level while to agree clubs you would have to go to the 4 level anyway.
July 5
1 2 3 4 ... 66 67 68 69
.

Bottom Home Top