Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Gábor Szőts
1 2 3 4 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... 88 89 90 91
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Borderline. What I would surely not rebid is 2.
May 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1-1-2-3 is not dreaded any more in a Gazzilli structure, 2 being limited to 15 HCP's. Your continuations might be:
3: 55
3: only 54, no 3 spades, no stopper
3: 3 cards
3NT: stopper

Note that with a weakish 64 you shall rebid 2.
May 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For us, 3 would show a hand too weak even for a simple raise.
May 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would not play IMP's with a partner who does not know IMP scoring.
May 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
He had 2 quick losers in hearts and 3 in clubs. So I don't think there's a clue there.

Also please note that these were intermediate players so to bid a slam they had to use Blackwood anyway.
April 27, 2018
Gábor Szőts edited this comment April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, ‘his wife.’ ‘If he wanted to know…’
April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can't see why declarer could not have been 5323 (yes, I gave the correct length card). In that case not covering would be fatal.
April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
RHO was the wife.
April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
LHO should have his balls removed.
April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for the votes. Here is the full hand: http://bridzs.hu/result/3894/3283/18imp1b11-4.htm

I held the hand in question and chose to double. Partner led the 4. Declarer, who now knew that to finesse was futile, went up with the A, took two rounds of trumps (mistakenly), then led the J.
At this point partner could have saved the day by playing low but of course he covered. Now declarer could discard his clubs on dummy's diamonds, take the ruffing finesse in clubs, and had only one heart to lose.
April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Later.
April 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I use the form I judge is best.
April 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you think someone might bid something?
April 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would lead the major in which I have no high honour. If no help there, I'd lead the shorter one.
April 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4NT if that is what asks for key-cards. In fact I could bid 7 immediately because partner seems not to have a spade stop and then where are his points?
April 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4. Partner's suits do not come in fast.
April 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4. Plan: correct to 4 over 4.

Pass is my alternative but I'm a coward.
April 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only time I can understand West's bidding is when he understood his partner's 2 as a nondescript strong bid.
April 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would bid 4 even if I was told that 3NT is the right contract.
April 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In fact NV vs. VUL you still go only -1700 if you take no tricks in 1NT doubled. That means you still win 11 IMPs if they have a grand. And if you go down 6 for -1400 and they have a small slam you have still gained 1 IMP.

Which suggests the idea that maybe doubled undertricks should not depend only upon your vulnerability but also upon the opponent's one.
April 19, 2018
1 2 3 4 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... 88 89 90 91
.

Bottom Home Top