Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Gábor Szőts
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 only shows a nice hand, not reversing values. I even think it is nonforcing.
Sept. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whenever I come across an article I find interesting I save it to my PC.
Sept. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Being offended is the person's own decision. It is not obligatory or forced.
Sept. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The first is TO of their major. The rest are penalty.
Sept. 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my country this is almost standard (under the name “optional roman key-card”), only some play the first step as encouraging, others as discouraging. I belong in the latter group because that makes it possible to bail out in 4NT.
Sept. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can't imagine myself never raising hearts. I could have Kxx,x, Kxxxx, AQxx. Is not the actual hand at least 3 tricks better?
Sept. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Which was correct, the 4 shown in the bidding or the 4 suggested by the text?
Sept. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We define the requirements of a Michael bid in losers which shall not exceed 6. This rule remains in effect in 4th seat, too.
Sept. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm not particularly worried about the opponents' bidding on tram tickets. My partner wanted to compete, they took the challenge, we are going plus while having no game.
If partner has a strong hand type he can double and opener can pass. We set them without opener having a penalty double alone.
Sept. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Responder said he had wished to bid 3 something. Opener's double says responder is welcomed to bid 4 of that something.
I could constuct hands which has them beaten on its own but I'm not going to live long enough to have such a hand in real life.
Sept. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1. Hard to imagine we have a game if partner cannot move. And it would only be a nonvul game.
Sept. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To play. There is no way to ask for aces in this situation (the more so if you play control-showing responses).
Sept. 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play that the reverse is a one-round force over which everything is natural and nonforcing unless 2 of a major or a 3-level reverse (such as 1-1NT-2M-3 or 1m-1NT-2-3).
Aug. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hearing 4 South should have driven the side to slam. He has everything North might look for: spade control, great hearts, void in diamonds and even the important J in case a finesse is needed there.
He may have felt he'd done enough with his pass over 4. But no.
Aug. 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hand A would respond 3NT to the cuebid.
Hand B might have forced to game over the double immediately. After the slightly timid 3 I would have jumped to 5 with that hand.
Aug. 25, 2018
Gábor Szőts edited this comment Aug. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Over 3 only 4 (and of course 4) would have been forcing.
Aug. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What was the ‘plus’? 4 seems a simple preference to me.
Aug. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm with Larry in that commentating is much more difficult than playing. Very much more.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Something is wrong with the system if South has to bid 3NT just to deny 3 (2?) hearts.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner may have passed 2-X because he had the intention of bidding further. I don't know what hand he might have but over the X 2 is certainly his weakest action and he did not choose that.
Therefore, in my view, we are in a forcing situation over 4, which means my double is penalty.
Aug. 24, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top