Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Gábor Szőts
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'd pass in any form of scoring. Can't expect partner to stop everything and contribute 4 tricks. 2NT might have been a stretch anyway.
April 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that on averages this XX is best played as at least invitational values and a consent to play it if opener has some diamonds.
When opener has denied 3 hearts it becomes less likely that responder will have secondary diamonds.
My reopening scheme over that XX would be (have to discuss with partner!):
2: the only weak bid
2NT, new suits, 3: invitational but not willing to play 2XX
XX: INV+, at least 2 diamonds
April 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As a non-native speaker of English I often find it difficult or even impossible to decode such abbreviations. Of course I can understand things like GF, RHO, BAL, SPL which are technical bridge abbreviations. The problem is with abbreviations that represent expressions (such as PP, NOS, AI) which are not (could conceivably used in totally non-bridge context).
Even OP is a problem for me.
I'd like to ask you to exercise some mercy. As a suggestion, if you use e.g. UI several times in a post, please explain it when first used.
And please no ur instead of you are.
April 10, 2015
Gábor Szőts edited this comment April 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Matthew, you want to deprive yourself the entertaining value of the nonsense the opponents talk.
I admit, though, that it can be tiresome after a point. Change please!
April 9, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does the meaning of your partner's 1NT opening vary according to the hand you actually hold?
April 9, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Gary.
I believe this particular situation provides us with an unexpected extra possibility. We don't have to be afraid that the RDBL will be passed out, so we can pass it whenever we have a very weak hand. So if we bid 2 immediately, we do promise something - at least a fair suit with a couple of HCP's. That's why I think that we should treat this delayed 2 as forcing, e.g. to 2NT as though it were an ACOL two-over one.
To tell the truth, afterward I discussed the situation with partner and he did not feel 2 would have been forcing.
April 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“We play that bidding immediately is weak, and passing, then bidding is stronger.”
My partner and I have the same agreement.
In my view, one of the fundamental questions here is whether 2 (instead of 3) would be forcing in this situation.
April 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes. Do we need laws to identify a cheater?
April 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You can't be serious. If I am there asking for an explanation of the bidding at the wrong moment, OK, that happens. But later I don't stand up and say it was me who spent the time? Just sit there sullenly and enjoy the benefits? I can't imagine anyone doing that in true faith.
April 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A non-bridge reason: Yesterday, in a highly competitive situation the tray did not want to return to our side. My partner simply said loudly: toilet break here. Seems an obvious solution to me.
April 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To Joerg's case: I find it unbelievable that you had that ruling against you. Apart from what Kit says, I think E ought to have had stated that it had been him causing the delay. What he did was blatant cheating, IMO.
April 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At the table I had the impression that a semi-passive heart lead cannot hurt since I'm going to regain the lead with A early.
Alas, early came at trick 10 after declarer cashed his 9 tricks in clubs and hearts.
Partner had Qxxxx and out.
April 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you, Suv, this looks promising. And practically the system I play recently. How lucky!
April 5, 2015
Gábor Szőts edited this comment April 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To me the best solution seems to be to treat this 3 bid as forcing to 3 unless the opps outbid us in game in which case it is forcing to double.
You can even extend this treatment to other similar situations, perhaps making restrictions depending on vulnerability.
April 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 is what I would have bid if I were asleep earlier not to raise immediately.
I see no reason to adjust the score. South might have been thinking whether to pass or whether to bid 2 and pass the 2 response.
April 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Gary, the article stated “at favourable vulnerability”.
April 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner will pass automatically. Yours not?
April 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For me there seems to be a third option: Partner's BIT suggests bidding 4 so I don't bid 4. However, I believe I am free to double, which I'd gladly do with those quick tricks.
Lacking this option, I chose the second one.
April 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are right, of course. However, if I were to play this transfer, I'd respond as suggested and reserve bids like 3 and above to show various heart raises (some of them might be stuffed in 2 as well).
March 9, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After 1-2(hearts) you might play that 2NT by opener shows diamonds. I see no need for a natural notrump bid here as you can always relay with 2.
March 9, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top