Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Gary Ansok
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are we South in this sequence? The diagram shows East as having the “?” as the player to call, but your comments about opening read like it's the South hand being asked about (East didn't have a chance to bid earlier).
April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is one possible issue that I have noticed with a one-round arrow switch.

Suppose that there is one expert pair in the game that is much better than everyone else.

Pairs that start the same direction as this expert pair will play a large percentage of the hands the same direction as, and thus being compared against, the expert pair. Pairs that start the other direction will play only a few hands (those they arrow-switched, and those the experts arrow-switched) being compared against the experts.

And yet all are being compared in the same overall results. If there were separate results for N/S and E/W, pairs might well feel good about “53% - but only the experts beat us”, but in a single standings that might be much further down.
March 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, I also get an error when I attempt to “Log in with Facebook”.
Feb. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michal, you can go to the main menu, Explore, Bridge Problems, and get to either Lead or Bidding problems.
Feb. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
6 would probably be my call without any UI, but I did seriously consider Pass (making it an LA) and 6 is suggested over that by the UI.

So if I bid, I would expect the director to roll back the contract to 6 (unless 6 scores worse, which wasn't the case here).

Someone described a similar situation as the UI turning a 60% bid into a 100% bid, and in that case the bid shouldn't be allowed.
Feb. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I find that about half the time I put out the third pass card, the next player (who made the last bid) puts out a fourth one. Not a problem (unless it is something other than a pass), but I keep imagining the series of passes going around and around the table.

That may be one reason I tend to scoop up the bidding cards rather than putting out the third pass (but only when mine is the final pass).
Feb. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Alex, those are the tie breakers for head-to-head matches, not 3-way matches.
Jan. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played in at least one tournament where they asked N/S to move the boards, which sounded like an excellent idea to me.

However, it didn't catch on. Most likely, there were too many boards delivered to the wrong tables. E/W have the obvious hint of “find your teammates, deliver them there”. N/S have to remember the cycle of tables for their RR, and which direction the boards are moving in – and their teammates might or might not have already moved.

There's also the issue of having three-quarters of the players up and walking around instead of one-half (in theory, this is offset somewhat by E/W not detouring to their home table).
Jan. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At the table, I did pass (thinking the opponents must be ready to outbid me in a major), and we ended up with a 29% board.

Partner had K9863 / A98 / A9 / T72, and we can make 5 of either minor. Many pairs were in 4 of a minor, perhaps after the opponents bid to 3. Those who tried 3N got the worst scores.

Thanks to those who participated – at least I can think of my pass as “clearly not the best” instead of “totally insane”.
Dec. 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm not consistent on either part, but I answered with what I use most often. For this one, personally I think I would tend to say “Queen” in this exact case, but “Club” (or similar) if it was a low card in dummy.
Dec. 14, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's possible that the player never realized he had a second spade – perhaps the other one was sorted with the clubs.

Perhaps a Player Memo is the most appropriate action after all. If the player is seen to be doing this sort of thing repeatedly, appropriate charges can be filed. If not, I think we'll have to apply the benefit of the doubt as to whether this was an accident or an intentional attempt to hide the revoke.
Dec. 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How many hearts are in this deck, anyway?
Nov. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You could end up with a pair or player looking at a club game and figuring that no matter how well they perform, their rating can only go down because of the limited points available.

That sounds like a problem for a rating system to me. How likely this is, or how much it would drive good players away from club games (especially small ones), I'm not sure.
Oct. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not even as long ago as “a couple of months back” – the article is in the July 2017 Bulletin, page 32 (“Eliminate Half Tables From Your Games”).
Aug. 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can Bridgemates be programmed to somehow highlight an unusual round movement? This could include a skip, bumper pair arriving, sitout, or other special actions (arrow-switch?).

I'd like to see something that would make it harder for N/S to quickly “OK” past that screen without reading it and assume that this round moves like every other round does. Yes, the directors can (and generally do) try to warn the affected pairs, but this might improve notifications.
June 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That does sound unusual, but I think the distinction I was trying to make is still valid – is the director doing this before (or early during) the game to try to balance out the strats, or is this being done after (or late during) the game to control how many pairs (or which pairs) are awarded masterpoints?

I'm not sure how much discretion a director is supposed to exercise in assigning strats (especially manually assigning strats). I know they can use either the average of the pair or the higher-ranked partner, but that wouldn't seem to explain what you describe.

If you can ask the director why he has set up the A/B/C strats the way he has, he might be able to provide his reasons (which might or might not satisfy you).

If you don't get a satisfactory answer, you might email rulings@acbl.org to see if there are any regulations on this.

In the end, though, you might just have to live with it or find another club or director (which is easier in some areas than others).
May 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There's a difference between adjusting the breakpoints at the start of the game (to have roughly one third of the field in each strat) and adjusting them at the end of the game (to maximize the number of pairs earning points), and it's not clear which your club might have been doing.

The first is generally accepted – the club I play at does this, and I also can be classified as a C, B, or even A depending on which other players show up. There's no fixed formula, and it can vary if a different director is running the game. I'd prefer fixed breakpoints, but I don't have a big problem with doing this.

You might want to talk to your director and ask something non-confrontational like “how do you set the breakpoints between A, B, and C?”

I agree that concentrating on your percentages (especially with an eye towards how strong that night's field was) is a better way to proceed.
May 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I found this in a list of Kaplan quotes, probably referring to the same hand you are:

(Holding a monster: AKQxx/AKxx/—/AKxx Bramley hears RHO open 2NT showing a diamond preempt; he cuebids four times diamonds, ending at 6 making seven)

I must say that if any partner of mine bid like Bramley, three diamonds, four diamonds, five diamonds, six diamonds, he'd be flirting with disaster. However, Friesner was not spiteful, and, with everything favorable, he made seven, 1460.

“Boston Spingold”, TBW 11/81, p. 10
March 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
sacrificed; down five (who's never been there?)
March 9, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Singleton King offside.
Feb. 23, 2017
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top