Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Gary Donner
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Six cards after the KD played and the low diamond used. Sorry not to be clear
Nov. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What happened at the table is that the director let east make the right discard. It would be hard to tell someone that they did not know what was out. I did not have a problem with this. And I told the director that I did not think we should benefit from the situation. I also suggested that a procedural penalty could be in order and at least should be discussed for educational purposes which would not help us (which is fine) but at least EW would get the picture on what is proper procedure.
Nov. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Correct there was no damage. I was just curious what people thought of the bid. I did call the director after the corrected explanation to preserve my rights and South was indignant (and wanted to call the director after going down to have it adjusted to 4 making 5 believe it or not). These were A players btw.
May 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My bad–1S-2NT-4D-4S-4NT…
May 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On the same topic, I am curious what people think of this. This came up at a club game today.

Red against red, south was dealer and held KQJxxx. AKxx. Q. Jx

East/west passed throughout. The auction was 1S-2NT-4D-4NT getting to 6S. I was west. 4S was alerted (improperly) and I asked what it was and was told it showed a good second suit in diamonds. Before my lead south corrected the explanation and said it showed extras and diamond shortness.

The question is if south should have passed 4S or if S took advantage of knowing that when North signed off, north misunderstood the 4D bid.

Btw they were the only pair to get to 6 and it went down on the club hook. But I am curious as to what people think of bidding beyond 4S.
May 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wanted to check both boxes.

I understand that we should be bidding higher–why else did partner ask. So either partner should not have asked in hearts and just bid 4S or should have bid on–and clearly passing is “wrong”. But I have described my hand and knowing that it is “wrong”, I would pass. If partner had correctly explained my bid, I would be wondering why he asked but would still pass. So pass I must, sadly.
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would also have bid 4C. At this point I bid 5D exclusion.
Oct. 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Interesting question and one that I was going to ask about as well. I seem to remember that in some book (I think the 2/1 Game Force Quiz Book but don't have it with me), he described a hand with approximately 2 points in third seat white against red as a mandatory psyche bid. And I have been living with that ever since which is a long time. I have never discussed it with a partner but I am sure that there are some aware that in third seat I can open up quite lightly white against red. I did it once at the local club and they established a rule that you simply can't psyche against B and C players (I have been waiting for an auction where this could come up and I have to guess if they are B/C players :-)).

In any case, do I need to stop making this a practice, mark it special on my card or just leave the box light 3/4 seat openers checked?

And of course by writing this, I have in a way had the conversation about this with some of my partners since I am sure they will read this.
Sept. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So for the hand I posted would you bid 3D or 4C? Just curious what priority you would use
Sept. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oren, I think that means with my 3451 hand you agree with 2 spades. I did not see your vote. If you were playing spiral, how would you respond after the 2NT bid. And since you say we should not play spiral and precision, what would you play for responder to figure out more about my hand?
Sept. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry to say, good point. What kind of hand would you re-evaluate and bid 3C then 4S?
Aug. 31, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Before I respond, let me just say that I find your comments always well thought out and useful. So thanks for all the time you invest in helping others here.

Spiral asks me to further define my hand. The responses are
3C–3 card support and a minimum (remember my range is 11-15)
3D–3 card support and a maximum
3H–4 card support and a minimum
3S–4 card support and a maximum

I am sure there is some meaning for 3NT and maybe even bids beyond that but I don't know what they are.
Aug. 31, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like 2C to be 11-15 with 6 but that's just style. The AD makes it easy. How would you bid it if EW were missing the AD and 6C or 6H was dependent on a diamond singleton or void?
Aug. 31, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East has a very good 5 loser 14 HCP hand. Most precision players start 1C at 16 or a good 15 so I think few would open this 1C. But that's just my opinion and it would be interesting to see if others disagreed.
Aug. 31, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In precision it is pretty easy-2C-2D-2H and then bid 2S to start a cue bidding sequence. The hard part will be to get to 6H or 6C if opener does not have the AD as you won't be sure what their distribution is diamonds and spades. Anyone know an asking bid for that?
Aug. 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But you did get to learn some Norwegian
June 5, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is “standard” bad pro behavior. Pro makes mistake but doesn't want to look bad to client and potentially lose income source so pro finds someone else to blame. Either client or opponent-whatever will help make pro look best. In this case pro chose opponent. Club wants pros to play there so Club takes no action. This was a “good” pro-usually they yell at their partner.

But Melissa is right, it detracts from the game and should not be tolerated. Because it is a strategy, if the offending party was penalized it would not be repeated.
May 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is 2D really never alertable after 2C? I (playing precision) always alert it. Where is a good write-up of what is and is not alertable?
Dec. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That was funny
Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think in this case JoAnn understood at the time that the pair at her table were playing up and are not normal national event players. Their was no intent to give UI and no inference was taken on the lead. I don't think the person making the lead (my teammate) would have ever thought of using UI. JoAnn did a good thing by educating the player as did the rest of their team. But to make a bigger deal of something done by a player who did not know better ( but hopefully does now) when their partner took no inference is IMHO a bit much. I think JoAnn needs to get over it. The objective of the game is still have fun. Yes the game needs to be played in a fair and ethical manner. There is nothing here that indicates otherwise.
Dec. 7, 2015
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top