Join Bridge Winners
All comments by George Klemic
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So, I posted each of the hands for this board as two separate bidding problems. The West hand held AT975 Q92 AQ8 62 and the consensus bid was 3NT. This led to the problem of how to evaluate the opening bidder's hand. I thought that 4NT seemed right on strength (since the 3NT bid has an operating range of about 11-17), though there is the possibility of missing a suit slam if there is a fit somewhere. I am curious what the 4 and 4 bidders intend partner to bid, but those look like the most likely way to reach a slam.

The cards were favorable on this deal, but even if the K is offsides, both 6NT and 6 have excellent play on the expected diamond lead.
Dec. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So, I just wanted to see what the consensus evaluation was with this deal. At least after 24 hours, just 2 bids are considered, and it's 75/25 for Dbl over 4. On this given deal, partner had JT642 A974 QJ 54 and Dbl is the winner, partner not having a bid over 4. 4 need some careful play but makes. 4 runs into a 5-0 offside trump break and only makes 8 tricks without defensive help.
Nov. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
playing in D13, Suzi Subeck has been good enough to run your flyer daily in all of the regional handouts, so I have access to it…but you may want to get a link here for the schedule.

Referring to the “national championship events”, is that only the events that have the word “championship” in it? Some of the two session pairs games have a name attached to them, so I wasn't sure if those have the ABA membership requirement or not
July 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have wanted to ask, as an ACBL member, what should be expected? Do we just show up, say “we are from the ACBL and have X masterpoints” and pay the entry fee? I am fairly certain that the laws of bridge remain the same, but are there any systematic restrictions we should know about? Are any events pre-qualify or have some other requirements outside of the obvious (mens pairs are two men etc)?

Given this location is under 20 minutes from my house, I want to take the opportunity to play at least one event if not a few evenings during the week as well.
July 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was curious to get some general opinions and not initially present a hand. This discussion comes from a club game deal (MP, none vul). In 2nd seat, you hold: QT3 QJ96 AKQJ9 9 With opponents silent, the auction starts 1 - 1 - your bid
July 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the concept of the tournament is reasonable, in particular as a first step towards non-robot events. I do think several things should be considered:

1) time of event “day”: I do some of my best online stuff late at night; I would like to be able to start say at 10pm and finish, but I am in the central time zone, and it appears that the cutoff will be 11:59pm EST, so I need to start a little earlier in the evening. This seems particularly restrictive of the west coast, or those participating in Hawaii.

2) if this is part of the nationals, will players that scratch (get masterpoints) be included in the masterpoint lists for the tourney? As a silly extension, would these points be eligible for the Fishbein award, for the most total MP won at the national? We do at least know this won't affect player of the year race, since no platinum points are awarded.

3) labeling the winner as a national champion, even in a limited sense, seems like overkill…but at the same time, something about the event needs to stand out, otherwise why have all of the big deal about a 4 day event?

4) I almost forgot to mention…why the barely over a month warning? Did it take that long to test and approve the concept?
June 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At the table, the director ruled 2 tricks for down 1. I thought this was harsh, but in practice, 1 or 2 tricks resulted in the same matchpoint 0 (one pair 3NT+4, everyone else in spade game +5).

I would ask the following followups:
1) had declarer found a line to make 6 without using the heart (taking a ruffing finesse in clubs), would it still just be 1 trick, so back to par result of making 5?

2) If declarer led the heart at trick 12, winning, and claimed 6, would the result still only be a 1 trick penalty, or does the 2 trick penalty come into play now, since the card that won the trick would not have been there due to the revoke?
June 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So it has been a few weeks since I posted this problem…my main goal was to identify if 4 was the consensus bid with this hand, given partner being a passed hand. In practice, all of these actions should lead to the ice cold 6S (partner provides an overabundance of Jxxx x Qxx AKxxx).
May 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2NT followed by 3NT, to suggest 4S but a desire to play 3NT. Slight overbid, but rates to work out
April 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I live less than 20 minutes away from the playing site, but the trials aren't on my radar at this point. Main reasons:

1) unknown time commitment…I may not expect to win, but I feel that there's always a chance of advancing 2 or 3 rounds in.
2) $$$ is significant
3) getting a team together that I feel good about for this level
April 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A post from the ACBL looks very official, but if possible, please confirm that this has nothing to do with today's date
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This hand came up in the first session of the Silodor open pairs. Partner's hand was AKQT86 53 T64 Q8. No action was taken the first time, with a hand that looked strong enough to run spades off the top against 1NT (or 3NT), but not enough to dbl. 2 and 2 would have escaped trouble, but once on the 3 level, you will be doubled for at best -500.

There weren't a lot of comments, but I suspect that those bidding 3 assumed there would be a fit and just checking along the way for spades. Is the given hand not a reasonable option as well, or is the frequency too low to consider catering to this instance?
March 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I actually thought that was one of the more interesting double dummy problems as well. I didn't work out every variation of defense but have the basic solution. I was on defense on this hand, where declarer opened 4S and went down.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
just last weekend Larry Cohen was on my D13 GNT team. We didn't win but had a respectable showing
March 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 at my first opportunity followed by 3 to show this hand
Feb. 26
George Klemic edited this comment Feb. 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
on the given deal closer to passing 2 than bidding either game with a 1st seat none vul weak 2
Jan. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
isn't this dbl something approximating 10hcp, 3-4 clubs and no obvious other bid, be it a spade raise or decent 5+ suit? It seems natural to defend given they bid my 2nd best suit.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So, it's been a few days, so time to share the other hand. Partner held: 9 AK53 KT653 752. It looked like the majority were going to bid 2, and partner has no idea to suggest any higher at pairs. If you bid 2, partner can raise this in some fashion and a game will be reached. It turns out on the cards that 6 is cold with a ruffing finesse on and diamonds 2-2, 4 makes despite Kxxxx offsides, and even a misguided 3NT makes due to terminal blockage of the club suit.

I thought that 2 is most of the time the right bid with this hand strength, though the stiff Q is questionable, and it's hard to not show those spades, since you don't want partner to take a preference to diamonds and pass without a really good reason.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Several have noted parking is a problem, though I'm guessing during the week it will lighten up a bit. The Dolphin lot doesn't have enough space…it'd be nice if they would suggest another lot.

As to food on site, it is expensive. There are tons of less expensive options though only 5-10 minutes away. Even with the $10 add on for parking, it's still worth getting around.
Nov. 28, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
highly encouraging, but if overcaller has a hand that would look embarrassing (minimum, length in opp suit, singleton support), pass is ok
Oct. 11, 2016
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top