Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Giorgio Provenza
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can confirm that this translation is accurate. It says that the letter was anonymous though. Your post here refers to “Italian experts”, that is what prompted my research.

Whether that was newsworthy or not is hard to tell, without knowing the content of the letter.
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here is a link to the 5/1995 copy of Bridge d'Italia
http://www.federbridge.it/Riviste/1995/05.pdf

The account of the “Gerber's letter” is at page 30, however it appears to be quite different fro what has been said here.

For those not familiar with Italian:

- The overall tone of the article is celebratory of the Blue Team grandeur

- According to the article, Gerber (USA NPC) found an anonymous letter at his arrival at the hotel, which said the Italians were cheating

- Gerber than gave the letter to Perroux (Italy NPC), saying that where he came from (Dallas, Texas) anonymous letters get teared apart

- Perroux then called up a press conference with journalists and representatives of each team and read out the letter

- The article then quotes Perroux's account of the event from his book “il Blue Team nella storia del Bridge”

- According to Perroux, "once I finished reading the letter everyone went silent for a few seconds. Then everyone - italians and foreigners - started to shout. I don't know what they were saying, I don't recall the exact words. How many hands wanted to shake ours? How many people wanted to hug us? I will quote only one, Erik Jannersten, a Swede, secretary of the IBPA, who was crying like a baby.

Avon, without taking away any credit from your efforts (and I am looking forward to reading the book. I grew up - bridgistically - with the myth of the Blue Team inspiring me and I'd be the first one wanting to know if they were cheating), this part of your book does not seem to be accurate.
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's good to know!
July 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jeff,

They may well show up to Honors, on their way to Atlanta for the Nationals.

Greg,

I am not sure if the ACBL ban has any legal basis now. The EBL sentence has been overturned by CAS and now the FIGB one seem to be gone too.

For those not familiar with Italian, although we know very little up until the full sentence will be published in a fortnight, I can say that this was not yet another appeal to yet another court.

It was instead a revision, from the same court that had already upheld the original ban from FIGB.

I don't know the rules within FIGB justice, but in the criminal system in Italy a revision is granted if:
a) If the sentence was based on a previous judgement by another court that has been since overturned;
b) If the facts as ascertained in the sentence you want to be revised are in contrast with those ascertained by another court;
(there are a couple of other reasons not relevant here).

I don't remember now the chronology between EBL and FIGB bans, but either way it seems that the CAS decision is behind this new turn of events.
July 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
By the look of it, it means that if you go to your local club tonight, you might find them there. Playing.
July 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It may be worth noting that when the player who missed her flight eventually got there, the first round robin had not been played in full. She was then asked to sit out some more rounds to make it fair to the other teams (so that each other team played against the sub once).

In light of the final decision (which basically says "team A with the sub was better than team A with the original player), it seems to me that team A has been put in a lose-lose situation.
March 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Outside of my local club in Wimbledon (London) you can often see an Aston Martin with “5LAM” as the licence plate.
Jan. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Ed,

I hope you are doing well.
You never forget your first national and you never forget your first club. I learnt to play in Rome, about two decades ago.
This was my club http://www.nuovobridgeinsieme.it/Index.htm
although they are in different premises nowadays. “Patton” and “squadre” are teams. Simultaneo are sims and you will usually pay an extra. Note the late start of the evening sessions, pretty standard in Italy. You can write to the teacher there, my teacher, Francesco at fracrosby@hotmail.com. Tell him you had his contacts from me, he should be able to find you a good partner who can speak English.
Another option is Bridge Liegi https://www.facebook.com/Circolo-Bridge-Liegi-Parioli-Roma-146594135374058/. If the weather is still nice, they have a lovely garden and play outdoors.

Enjoy your trip,

Giorgio
Oct. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not necessarily, Marion.

Team 2 might have beaten team 3 in the semis
Dec. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Mike,

I have reasons to believe that the decision to finesse is still haunting your (and mine!) teammate.
Aug. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Had anyone asked me this question before the last wave of cheating scandal, my answer would have been to leave the titles vacant. I agree with those who think that equity cannot be restored. This is obvious for KO competitions. A bit less obvious maybe for RR competitions like the European Championships. But even there, how would you determine the winners? Would you take the final standings as they are and move up the other teams? Or would you sterilize the scores of the teams which had cheats on them and re-write the standings? And whatever solution you chose, it could still be argued that the strategies in the last few matches of the competition would have been different if the teams involved had known the “real” standings at the time. Not to mention that when 4 different teams had cheats in them, the whole competition was irremediably tainted.
Leaving the titles vacant though is a viable solution when you have an average of a top profile cheating scandal per decade (Reese/Schapiro, Facchini/Zucchelli, Sion/Cokin, Buratti/Lanzarotti, the German Doctors).
How about know? The magnitude of the last cheating scandal opens new problems, IMHO. Let's assume for a second that all the pairs that have been caught cheating in recent years (going back to B/L) confessed that they had cheated, not only in the event they had been caught, but in all of the international events they had played before (which, btw, would probably be the belief of the majority of the members on BW, if they were polled on the topic).
Let's see how the roll of honours of the European Championships would look like (in brackets the pair of “confessed” cheats)
2016 France
2014 * (F/S)
2012 * (F/N)
2010 Italy
2008 Norway
2006 * (F/N)
2004 * (F/N)
2002 Italy
2001 Italy
1999 Italy
1997 * (B/L)
1995 * (B/L)
1993 * (B/Z)
1991 Great Britain
1989 * (B/Z)
That makes over 50% of the titles in the last 30 years or so. Who wants to see that?
July 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What day is it today?
April 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just a note on the “extreme” bit.
Di Sacco said that the PBU took an extrem position because “should the pair be found guilty at a later stage, any result (achieved by Poland in the BB) will be void. In fact BZ played in Opatjia, and there is where the footage that seems to carry the allegations come from” .
From the overall tone of the article it seems to me that Mr. Di Sacco is not making these comments in any official capacity.
Oct. 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David,

I had a quick look at the first dozen or so, and most of them are cases of offenses towards opponents or TDs.
Only one was for an alleged case of cheating and the verdict was not guilty.
June 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Garozzo came second in the European Open Teams Championship last year in Ostend (Team Breno-Zalesky).
If you think that was a minor event you can check the lineup here
http://www.eurobridge.org/competitions/13OOstende/Reg/ParticipantsTeams.asp?qtournid=970&qdetails=1&qcountryid=All
Oct. 1, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks everyone for your advice.
I am so excited for the forthcoming move and look forward to meeting and playing you at the clubs you recommended.
Sept. 1, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Neal,

Thanks for the tip.
Whilst I have been teaching Acol and 4-card majors for a while, the transition should be easy because I play an “Americanised” system myself.
I even play Flannery, but I can't say it out loud “over here” :)
Sept. 1, 2014
.

Bottom Home Top