Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Gombo Tsydynzhapov
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I imagine that a design that looks like that should be inexpensive (when non-telescopic) and very convenient to move.
https://www.amazon.com/WinSpin-Backdrop-Adjustable-Telescopic-Exhibitor/dp/B00OUMQLQG
It can be readily produced in any local ad agency.
Aug. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play that 1 shows four in this auction. If we could manage 1-1 showing four, what's the difference?
Aug. 1, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does not looks like a fielded psych to me.

First, pass with 12HPC and 2 cards in spades third hand is normal under “rule of 15”.
Then, I can't think of a good bid on the second round, given redouble looks very much like SOS.
Finally, at the third turn to act he knows very well that something is fishy and has all expectations to get excellent score anyway if his partner has normal overcall (meanwhile, double is probably lead-directing).

Given all that, it is my understanding that the recorder is there to make note of “strange” occurrences that does not warrant correction or compensation. As such, why not have it recorded?…
July 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IMHO, they are both borderline.

I'd only open the second one with Namyats, but I would be understanding if my partner open both (or neither).
What I'm positive about these hands is that neither should be opened on level 1.
July 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Isn't it better to bid NT right away? Otherwise CHO may occupy the spot.
March 9, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can anyone, please, explain me rationale behind this psyche?

I understand “obligatory” psyches where responder has good fit in minor or where he has long spades and weak hand; but here he has strong hand and higher suit. What is he fighting? Heart lead in 3NT?
March 9, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
He did bid 3NT, didn't he?

However, I do believe that the client just is not inclined to pull 3NT bid by pro no matter what.
March 9, 2019
Gombo Tsydynzhapov edited this comment March 9, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Excellent point, thanks.

But then, why redouble with spades? Opener may just bid them.
March 5, 2019
Gombo Tsydynzhapov edited this comment March 5, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Shouldn't “show your suit by bidding 2 with hearts and redoubling with spades” on the second page be the other way around?
March 4, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Technically, Geir did not have to be tested. If someone saw him with his prescription six months earlier, he could have still be sanctioned for the “crime of medical care””
First, you are factually wrong. There is such thing as “Therapeutic Use Exemptions”, one just need to do some paperwork.
Second, suppose it is OK to drop from the list substances that has no relation to bridge. Can you point which that are and support your opinion with any data? For instance, I bet that testosterone-enhancing substances do increase performance in bridge. Probably, to less degree than in athletic, but nevertheless.
I doubt that it is realistic to sort out the banned substances list in such way, it is too much work. We can only drop it all at once together with IOC and whatnot.
March 2, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'd like to disagree on bidding too.
You'd got a great hit on your TOD convention - you know about 11 spades on your line and only 6 to 9 potentially useful defensive HCP in partner's hand (since he probably holds sQJ). It is unlikely that the hand belongs to you, so you need to get to the level where your opponent would be hard press to guess right.
No way 4 would do the trick. 5 - possibly, but I'd rather prefer 6, especially if TOD promises some shape.
Feb. 3, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congratulations to winners, bravo for runners-up!

BTW, you have a misprint, last member of Dikhnova team is Maria Yakovleva (not Yakovlena).
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congratulations!
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually, he did. Almost all banned Russian athletes went through CAS with zero success rate, I believe.
Jan. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nice story about similar situation is told in the Larry Cohen's article “Losing at Lille”
https://www.larryco.com/bridge-learning-center/detail/182
Jan. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
> Why does legal boilerplate always sound like a threat?

Because it is, isn't it?

“Do not even think about doing anything fancy or else!”
Aug. 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Probably, South was worried by his very weak club suit and hoping for some major suit winners.
Aug. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing safe you'll lose couple of imps on overtricks and in this particular case it does not seems to be profitable in the long run.
Still, I'd really curious to know whether declarers just missed the safety play or they conciously declined to use it.
Aug. 25, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does it?
When jack helds and you see ten of diamonds, you can overtake K of spades, use two high spades to discard clubs and then finess trumps. Or you can ruff a club, play two more rounds of trumps and then use spades to discard last club.

It seems that only low to J and then ace would lead to one down, but is that line reasonable?
Aug. 19, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How do you go down in 6 ? Brazil have not been the only unlucky declarer.
Aug. 19, 2017
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top