Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Hank Youngerman
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the original hand, I don't think it's too demanding to require declarer to say “I'll cash a high diamond from North and then take the rest.”
Sept. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
None of the responses so far addresses my question.

The question is whether a pair can play different systems against different pairs.

I think the ACBL permits clubs to regular conventions, so I think the “ACBL” answer is yes. But is there a provision in the laws that supercedes this? ACBL clubs must comply with the laws. They can't, for example, award an extra 5 points for a spade contract or remove the deuce of clubs and put a joker in the pack.
Sept. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems to me that there are fewer and fewer tournaments, and more and more players playing principally or only at clubs. And clubs can allow or disallow anything they want. In the city I live in, there is pretty much one director who runs all the games. The ACBL could disallow Stayman and Blackwood in NABC+ events, or allow Forcing Pass systems at the lowest level, and it wouldn't affect club games. I personally would like to see Multi opened up. I play it, I like playing it, but it's not allowed in pair games, or even in the 0-6000 NABC team game. So that pretty much limits it to regional team games and of course NABC+ (which I might actually start playing again someday).

Frankly, I find weak NT's harder to defend against than Multi, and they don't let you read your defenses to weak NT during the auction.
Sept. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You can make a negative double with the minors. But no one forces you to pass 5m or 6m. And it's good to have an agreement what 5 means at your next turn in various scenarios. I think that at the table, if my partner doubled, then bid 5 over my minor suit bid, I'd probably be playing it as a choice of slams between spades and the other minor. But if it went Dbl-5-5-6-6 I'd take it as a grand slam try, since he could have just raised 5 to 6.
Sept. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I guess the bottom line is that I should have alerted and passed, and used the hand as an opportunity to drill into her head what we play and to take time before you bid to make sure you realize what's going on (a sin I admit to committing myself on occasion).
Sept. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On the very rare occasions when I play with screens, I will hold the tray if there is a too-quick bid. I've been advocating for electronic play for almost 30 years, back to the days of The Imagination Network. It's a separate - but interesting - discussion as to whether the time for that has come. Something on which Michael's opinion is worth about a million times what mine is.
Sept. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My system notes clearly define this as 15-17. 2N shows 12-14 or 18+; with the latter of course you will bid over partner's game-level signoff. (3 by opener also shows extras.) I do tend to avoid jumping in NT in auctions like this though unless my hand really screams to be played in NT.
Sept. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
People have been talking about how meaningless monsterpoints have become since the 1980's, but it's clearly gotten worse.

That said, I'll only say this because by posting the discussion the OP has invited it - a piece of life advice for you Michael - No good deed goes unpunished.

Sidebar - I think one of the worst things that has happened to bridge is the death of the dinner break. My biggest skill at bridge historically has been wangling games with better partners and teammates. Second best has been going to dinner with better players. A long-lost skill the ability to calibrate the discussion of the afternoon hands to last exactly as long as dinner. I learned more from those dinner conversations than probably from anything else in bridge.
Sept. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whose gray hair - hers or mine? We both dye our hair!
Sept. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This hand was played live at the club. I think that was clear from my discussion about use of the bidding box. However, I'm not sure that a preemptive raise by a passed hand is alertable. Maybe it is. Surely by an unpassed hand it is.
Sept. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play 10-13NT in some situations and just to avoid getting my wrist slapped, I've never opened a 9-count.

But I do think it's absurd to have a “rule” that:

Ax
Qxx
QJxxx
xxx

is the same hand as:
Ax
QT9
QJT9x
Txx

If you have a computer handy or are named Doug Doub (Doug is the only person I know who can actually do 4 C's count), the first hand is 7.65 4 C's points and the second is 9.35.
Aug. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've been playing a souped-up version of Drury for many years, where 2C is a 4-card constructive raise or better and 2D is a 3-card limit raise. I didn't invent it, I was told it was invented by a very well-known bidding theorist, but I don't name it after the person I heard invented it because I heard they don't play it anymore. I have some adjuncts like 1M-2C (4-card support) - 2D (Min/max) - 3 new suit “I have a fit jump with scattered values” and 1M - 3 new suit is a picture jump.

It also permits 1M-2M to be limited to less than a 4-card constructive raise, so partner will not make light game tries.

Surprisingly, I can't remember the last time I said “Crap, I want to bid a natural non-forcing 2 of a minor.” I do play 2 as weak, which cuts down on the 2 bids I'd want to make.
Aug. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The closest I have to a Rueful Rabbit story was the time in a team match when both tables were playing Multi. At one table, our teammates had a defensive bidding accident, ending in 4H down 6, -300. This was a good complement to our 4H making for +620.
Aug. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the response is one of a suit, 2 of either opposing suit is natural - but that's not what was asked. John Adams makes a good point, although I don't know that I've ever had that discussion with any partner.
Aug. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just time for a short rant - I made LM in 1987 and got five years free of service fee - it would never occur to me to drop my ACBL “active” membership - but it makes me want to puke that if I don't pay my service fee, I can't vote in ACBL elections. I mean, not that I vote anyway! (I don't even think there is anything to vote in, as my unit board never has contested elections.) But I don't see how you can call someone a “member” of an organization if they can't vote.
Aug. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is one of the reasons I prefer the old committee system. I admit that my first inclination was that the UI bars me, but Kit and JD persuaded me differently, and rumor has it that they're both better players than me.
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm agnostic as to this thread, but I can say that in 1995 the Red Ribbon pairs was the second and third day of the summer NABC. My partner and I qualified for the RR event by missing the first cut of the LM's.
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know that at of about 1989, BR Q's worked as follows: It was good for three years or until used. There was a cutoff date, but I don't know what it was, probably a few months before the fall nationals. Of course if you were in the Top 100 lifetime you had an automatic Q.

Mark Jones is absolutely correct; they tried to rotate the fall nationals so that every three years there would be one in the east, middle, and west.

I don't remember what the effect was of winning a masterpoint-limited event prior to the beginning of the Red Ribbon pairs. I won my first regional in 1989, a Flight B swiss, but I don't remember thinking “Wow, I got a blue Q.” Was a long time ago though.

I'm pretty sure there was a period of ambiguity about how Blue and Red Q's worked. I played in the Red Ribbon pairs four times, 1994-97, but I don't remember if there was an upper masterpoint limit or what it was. I'm pretty sure I was under 2000 in 1997.

I know that at the 1989 nationals in Lancaster, the BR was a two-section final.

The Platinum Pairs is the new version of the “exclusive” event. I think you need 200 lifetime platinum points or 50 recent platinum points - I don't know if “recent” is the latest year or latest three years.

F***, if they can hand out monsterpoints like they're candy, why not Ribbon Q's?
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We include the 3-card limit raise in our semi-forcing 1N. We accept that if opener would pass a 3-card limit raise, we'll be content to play two levels lower.

To answer some other questions, the jump shift is game forcing, and 1N denies 3-card support unless it is limit raise strength. 1N can never be a game forcing hand opposite a minimum opening hand (e.g. it cannot be a game force that is just marking time). My partner and I are American.
July 31
Hank Youngerman edited this comment July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It depends what the “hitch” was. If the “hitch” was a second or even a second and a half, I'd consider that “normal tempo.” You're not obligated to give away the show by playing your low card almost instantly with declarer's honor.

As for declarer's comment, I'd just let it go. It's not a novice game where people probably don't know proper procedure and need to be educated, and if declarer wants to make up an excuse for his partner, let him. I, and everybody else who knows you, knows you are an ethical player. If your opponent came up to me and told me until he was blue in the face how this Art Korth swindled him, I would say “Oh, are there two Art Korth's in bridge, the one I know would never do something like this.”
July 31
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
.

Bottom Home Top