Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Harald Berre Skjæran
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 112 113 114 115
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How can north pass a 1NT bid showing 8-10 or 13+? Not that I think such an agreement is playable or makes any sense.
19 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Right: The TD should have offered west to take back his final pass and replace it with some other bid, if he wanted to. If west didn't want to change his pass, a ruling after the hand might still be necessary.
19 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1) The TD was called after south corrected the MI when the auction was over. The TD could have offered east to take back his final pass and make some other bid. But not west.
2) Correct. But that doesn't change anything.
3) Correct.
Jan. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Really well deserved. Congratulations, Dennis!
Jan. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I opened that hand 1 as dealer, so can't be in this position now, unless I miscounted first.
Jan. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree
Jan. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Henrik and Matt got this one right. I overlooked that the TD was called after the round was over. David, you really need to read the law more closely.
Dec. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Easy ruling; down one. There are several normal lines after drawing trumps leading to one down, thus that’s what you should rule.
Dec. 30, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I expect partner to be void in hearts. I double, to show some cards; I didn’t need much to bid 4 in such a cramped auction. I expect partner to bid 6 most of the time.
Dec. 30, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Up here it’s standard to play present count if playing standard count and original count if playing upside down count; thus from an original holding of AJ72, you’ll return the deuce after winning the ace, whatever count you play.
Dec. 30, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There’s nothing pathetic at all in Gordon’s comment. Actually, it’s totally to the point, IMO.

I strongly disagree with your first comment, and Gordon responded quite well to it, whereupon you called it pathetic. I find such behaviour pathetic.
Dec. 21, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know which of these comments I find pathetic, Gordon’s isn’t one of them.
Dec. 21, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You might convince that 4 - 4 is natural. But if you try to tell me that it’s to play, Inwouldn’t believe you. I could by it as a natural NF slam try, though.
Dec. 20, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No lie, rebid 2. Natural, promises no extras. In competition, where you can’t rebid 2NT without a stopper, a reverse can’t promise extras; else you’d have an unbiddable hand quite often.
Dec. 20, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For me, 2 here doesn't show reverse strength. I'd bid 2 with 12-14 (and four spades, of course), lacking a heart stopper. Partner could have a GH hand with 4 and longer s.
Dec. 20, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
14+ to 18.
Dec. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Facing a 15-18 NT sitting over the opener, I’m definitely forcing to game with this.
Dec. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play unbalanced 1, and open 1 on all 11-14 hands without 5cM that we identifies as balanced. We thus open 1 with 3352 and some 2452/4252. I even once opened 1 with 2362 and JTxxxx in diamonds.
Dec. 16, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3c spades for us.
Dec. 15, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play 1-1M, 1NT showing clubs, since 2 is Gazzilli for us.

And we switch the major suit responses at the 1-level after 1. We actually play 2NT after a 1M response as a GF major suit raise.
Dec. 12, 2019
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 112 113 114 115
.

Bottom Home Top