Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Harald Berre Skjæran
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But why would we reach 6 vs that hand? I'd definitely go to 6NT as long as pd didn't superaccept nor support s.
Feb. 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But responder will bid 6NT after partner didn't superaccept or support diamonds. 6NT is very close to 50%, thus not a great slam. But still OK.
Feb. 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 is the only way to set spades now, except bidding 4. I`m too strong for that.
Feb. 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bob; read the OP again. Partner opened 1, he already showed 5.
Feb. 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When did I see I had piller the wrong card from the bidding box? If that was before parner passed, I could lawfully (L25A) have changed my bid to 2 without any consequences.
Feb. 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'd have opened 1NT, not too hard to foresee this development. I'm far too strong to rebid 1NT.
Feb. 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Declarer has an entry to dummy to play like this. That's got to be by playing the trump deuce to dummy. Thus you know he's got 7-8 spades.
Feb. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner showed an iinv+ raise. 3 is OK with me, I've got a six loser hand, but not enough to bid more IMO.

I'd expect the next two bids to show stoppers initially. And pards 3NT a suggestion to play there after I showed a heart stopper. That's fine with me.
Feb. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
AQx Ax AKJxxx xxx is only 18 hcp, and 6 is great! I really think you need to show your diamond suit now. I still expect the field to reach slam here, and think 4NT to be just too little.
Feb. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This one I thought would be unanimous. But Bob is the odd man out this far.
Feb. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With 20% so far voting for passing, pass obviously is a logical alternative. Thus you're compelled to pass after partner's BIT, the laws are absolutely clear on this. I voted for double, but have changed this to pass.
Feb. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why didn't I lead a trump?
Feb. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'd expect the field to reach slam here.
Feb. 23, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
OP say we play Flannery. Thus partner might have four spades.
The double it t/o, partner will take out more often than passing IMO.
Feb. 23, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think what to do over 4 is very interesting at all, I expect 4NT to be close to unanimous.

The interesting part of this hand is what to bid over parner's 5m - if you bid inobstructed. Or what to do over opps 5.

I'll not stop at the 5-level, but that's not obvious, I think. What style/agreements you have for the 2 overcall matters, though.
Feb. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With opps having ten hearts and 23 hcp between them, it's hard to believe any of them to hold a singleton on this bidding. Thus I play K next. And play for diamonds 2-2 as well.
Feb. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I keep score with a pen in team games, where we compare scores with teammates. In pairs games, I never keep scores here in Norway, since we get printed slips with our scores during the next round.

Playing in Reykjavik last month, I kept scores also in the pairs game, since we got no paper slips back.
Feb. 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ok. If north called the TD during the auction, the TD already have established the BIT when north calls him back later. And should have decided what ruling he will make IF called back.
Feb. 19, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1. No, I'd not call the TD before I know easts hand - that is, after the play. I'd most probably establish during the bidding that my opponents agree ther was a BIT. Btw, after the jump to 4, 10 seconds thought by west doesn't constitute a break in tempo, 15 seconds do.

2. Yes, penalty.

3. No.

4. Yes, of course he can. That's what the laws say. No difference if west called me earlier. But if west called ne earlier about His on bruk in tempo, I'd look at the hand record and decide what/if there should be any ruling.

5. no difference, same as 4.
Feb. 19, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Of course it's illegal to announce 13-17 if there's no 13 and 14 hcp hands you would open 1NT.
Feb. 12, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top