Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Harald Berre Skjæran
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Much easier with transfer advances….
Dec. 15, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How do you get responder to play 3N after a 1N opening.? :-)
Dec. 6, 2012
Harald Berre Skjæran edited this comment Dec. 7, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 isn't a GF for me. I can't conceive 3 over 3 to be antydning but a GF. A gentle raise to 4NT is enough now, I believe.
Nov. 28, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The best way to learn opening leads is to kib my partner these days, Nils-Otto Eliassen. He is the best opening leader I know of. You won't find his most successful opening leads in any book. I haven't got a clue how he finds some of them - he's just a natural.
Nov. 27, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner showed a distributional minimum by bidding 2. I'd have passed 2. Partner is 6-4. I'm definitely passing now.
Nov. 21, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree with Josh, I believe pass is the winner. And even at MP.
Nov. 10, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And give your partner and opponents UI about your hand????
Nov. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 is forcing for me.
Nov. 4, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Holding a full opener, I'll cooperate towards slam, starting with supporting clubs.
Nov. 3, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I doubt there's a consensus. I know experts who would rebid any of 2, 2 and 2NT AC according to partnership agreements. Pesonally I dislike 2.
Nov. 3, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree on the preempt part, wholeheartedly. I'd open, though.
Nov. 3, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not the worst of this type of problems. Curiously, it seems this hand isn't included in Eric Mansfield's “Bridge: The ultimate limits” from 1986, where he included 45 problems of the same kind.

I've had a copy for years. I worked my way through the first 29 problems some 15 years ago, but haven't opened the book since then.
Nov. 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree.
Oct. 18, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's similar to what I prefer without inference; 1-2 = weak raise or natural 2/1. I prefer 1NT over 1M to be non-forcing.
Oct. 11, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Natural (quant)
Oct. 5, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do they lead A from AK?
Oct. 5, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'd raise to game here as most. However, I'd have overcalled 1 last round, not doubled.
Oct. 5, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A jump to 2 used to show extras. I'd say that's still “standard”. As Bob, I started playing it as Debbie when I played transfer advances over 1. We then played the double over 1m (1) as 4+, and then 1 by opener shows 3 and 2 is considered as a minimum “raise”, showing 4.
Oct. 5, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The hand can, and should be played out. It's the TD's job to sort out after the correct result, either by adjusting the number of tricks won if he judges that the defense due to use of UI have won more tricks than they should. This might of course be difficult, but it's part of his job. In some cases, it might prove impossible to judge the correct outcome of the hand, and A+/A- might be the correct ruling. But that's very seldom the case.
Oct. 4, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's absolutely correct.
Oct. 1, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top