Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Harald Berre Skjæran
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’m on the same side of the pond as you. Standard up here is king from KQ, KQT.

I lead the K from AKJT(x) and the Q from KQT9(x), and partner will unblock the touching honor, if he’s got it. This might be expert practice here, but I’m not absolutely sure. I’ve played it in all partnerships for 30+ years.
Aug. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree with Richard, would never pass over 1.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That’s my experience too.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing the given methods, 1 and rebidding 2 ovner 1 seems clear to me, opening 1NT being the only reasonable alternative. I’m not downgrading this to a weak NT, and I try to avoid bidding a non-suit naturally.

In my soon to be methods, I bid exactly the same. 1 is natural and shows an unbalanced hand, and the rebid shows 11-15 with 4-5+ in the reds (2 showing 6+ diamonds, 1NT clubs and 2 showing most 16+ hands).

(I’m playing the unbalanced diamond already, but plan on changing the rebid structure over 1-1M.)
Aug. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But what difference does it make whether 4 was just competitive???

Passing with the west hand is still from another universe. No way can west avoid reaching game here.
Aug. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not at all. We were (and are still) fast players.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
16 boards in 65 minutes is pretty quick. I played 16 boards vs Finland U25 in the Nordic Junior Teams in 1987 in 59 minutes. And later in the same tournament we used 57 minutes vs the Finland U22 team.
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This hand is not my idea of a unusual NT overcall, with one near empy suit. Agree wit 2.

Obviously, both 2NT and 3 was NF.
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hmm, is it possible that partner intended 4 as Bluhmer? Showing something like Axxxx Kxx xx KJxx (or mayby a tad less, depending on our overcalling style).

(Normally Bluher would show 3-4 small, but given the 2NT advance (natural, I suppose), he's got to have a stopper, and only the ace make sence then.)
Aug. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“- in the absence of the UI, it is doubtful that East, who a moment ago thought he had no spades, would realise that he had ♠K.”

And how do you know he thought he had no spades? More likely, he thought he followed suit (hearts playes), or he was distracted in some way (playing to the next trick in stead of the current, for example).
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Same with Norwegian players; I've sent Barry and Brian data some time back.
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Richard: Only when the players are unfamiliar with screens. My experience is that play is often faster with screens, when the players are familiar with them.
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Paul B: Under what law do you want to make that ruling?
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You're probalby right about that, Richard.

In that case, the TD would have to decide what's the most probable defense after winning the K and rule in accordance with that. To be able to judge this, one would need the whole hand, bidding and the play leading to the ending given.
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“It seems grossly unfair to allow E to correct his ♥T and defend to their best advantage after declarer and partner have faced his cards.”

That's not what happened, the TD ruled, in accordance with law, that the revoke wasn't established, the T a major penalty card that had to be led to the next trick. There's no choice in this matter.

“Law 50E4 says ”If following the application of E1 the Director judges at the end of play that without the assistance gained through the exposed card the outcome of the board could well have been different, and in consequence the non- offending side is damaged (see Law 12B1), he shall award an adjusted score.“”

This applies to the partner of the player with a major penalty card, who can be assisted by seeing the exposed card. It doesn't apply in the OP case, where east had to lead the penalty card to the next trick. West couldn't be assisted by seeing the penalty card; his hand was high when the T was led.
July 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If it was only a fraction, there had to be more….
July 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'd have bid 4 with the east hand, but that's not absolutely clear, IMO. Bidding less than 4 with the west hand is, however, far outside my radar. Thus I voted mostly west.
July 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
PMed you.
July 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’ve only met Fred and Sheri once, during the Junior World Teams Championships in Hamilton, 1997, where we were invited to dinner at their home in Toronto. A wonderful night!

Through the years I’ve been often in touch with Fred regarding BBO issues in my job at the Norwegian Bridge Federation’s office. It’s always been a pleasure; Fred is a fantastic guy. And a great player.

Thank you, Fred, for being you, and for all you’ve done for bridge all over the world! The same goes to Sheri and Uday.
July 19
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is ridiculous, IMHO. South forced to game one round earlier. North showed extras. From south’s point of view, there could be a slam. Don’t blame south when north is falling asleep in the auction.
July 14
.

Bottom Home Top