Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Harald Berre Skjæran
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“♠KQxx ♥KQxxx ♦x ♣Jxx. Many would make a takeout double with that hand, but 1♥ isn't out of the question.”


For me, a double is definitely out of the question, I'd always overcall 1 With that hand.
June 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“John: we agree basically, this is the earliest claim possible in bridge”

Huh, have you never claimed before the opening lead???
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nobody, knowing about the entry problem, would ever claim. The claim itself shows declarer is unaware of the problem. Thus, playing clubs will not be allowed by a TD.
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree.
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
BR: “So is all that enough to justify bidding 6♥ rather than a logical alternative?”

If there's a logical alternative (pass 5), and the UI suggest bidding 6, nothing can justify bidding 6. That's what the law says.
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
L73D1:It is desirable, though not always required, for players to maintain steady tempo and unvarying manner. I disagree that breaking tempo is an irregularity, but is a firm believer in not doing so - if possible, since it can really only be to your disadvantage. And since many opponents don't know the laws or don't care to call the TD when UI is present, and possibly used.
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Mine would be in tempo, that is 1.5-2 seconds after RHO’s pass.
June 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David: Two huge error in your post. Thinking is legal in bridge. Giving UI hesitation isn!’t an irregularity, using it IS.

And you need to establish if there’s a logical alternative to the action chosen by the receiver of UI before you can consider any adjustment.
June 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Norway more than 95 % of club bridge is MP. I guess it’s close to 99 %.
June 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don’t like the suggestion at all. I understand it in IMP tournaments, it being teams or pairs, But I really dislike it for MP pairs (or BAM teams).
June 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What’s actually the point of this post? There’s no suggestions of a different kind of scoring system.

At to VP scale; in Norway we only use the decimal VP scale when playing IMPed team games.

I really don’t see much problems with the current scoring systems in global use. Don’t fix what’s not broken.
June 9
Harald Berre Skjæran edited this comment June 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Making 16 trumps in NT in a teams match is nice. We did far better some years ago, in a play off for the district teams championships (2nd level) in Oslo. Our teammates brought back +150 in 1NT+2, I had +460 in 3NT.
June 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With a Norwegian on top of the ranking, it surely is working well! :)
June 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Up here, the normal format of teams tournaments is round robin or swiss, with IMP difference converted to VP's. We use the “new” decimal VP scale.

Playing a 3-way as part of a KO (as happens in the KO stage of some tournaments with double elimination), it's obvious that a team winning both matches advance.

Playing a 3-way as part of a RR, or for splitting a tie (as happened once in our premier league) in a VP'd tournament, it's ust at obvious that the team scoring the most VP's rank first.
June 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I totally agree that it's very stupid to ask in the passout seat when you're going to pass anyway. The only participant this can hurt is your own pair, since the TD will rule in favour of your opponents when/if in doubt.

As a TD I'd advice all players to postpone asking to the clarification period; that is, until partner has made a face down opening lead. And then only ask if there's something you think you need to know about the opponents auction. And I'd remind him/her that asking for partner's benefit is illegal.
June 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’ve read the thread. Really don’t get the hurry with 4, especially when you don’t know the king ask responses.
June 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So you’re calling the TD on players doing something they’re specifically allowed to do? I agree it’s stupid asking there, but it’s definitely legal. It can/will give opening leader UI, and you will call the TD after the hand if you think UI has been used in the defense.
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why, oh why did we ask for aces at once? I really don’t understand this hurry at all, why make the bidding a pure guessing game, in stead of getting some useful input (heart control, for example) from partner?
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Norway, the regulation says that the bidding cards should remain on the table throughout the clarification period; that is, they should be removed before the opening lead is faced and dummy is tables.

However, almost everybody remove them after the final pass, or the final passer never puts the final pass on the table, but start putting the bidding card back in the bidding box.
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What’s the agreed meaning of 3 over 1NT? And over 2? Both might influence the meaning og 3 over 2NT.
May 28
.

Bottom Home Top