Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Harald Berre Skjæran
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’ve read the thread. Really don’t get the hurry with 4, especially when you don’t know the king ask responses.
June 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So you’re calling the TD on players doing something they’re specifically allowed to do? I agree it’s stupid asking there, but it’s definitely legal. It can/will give opening leader UI, and you will call the TD after the hand if you think UI has been used in the defense.
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why, oh why did we ask for aces at once? I really don’t understand this hurry at all, why make the bidding a pure guessing game, in stead of getting some useful input (heart control, for example) from partner?
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Norway, the regulation says that the bidding cards should remain on the table throughout the clarification period; that is, they should be removed before the opening lead is faced and dummy is tables.

However, almost everybody remove them after the final pass, or the final passer never puts the final pass on the table, but start putting the bidding card back in the bidding box.
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What’s the agreed meaning of 3 over 1NT? And over 2? Both might influence the meaning og 3 over 2NT.
May 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would keep the deposit or whatever is applicable where this happened.
May 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the Nordic Junior Teams Championships in 1987, six working finesses and a squeeze landed me all the tricks in 1NT, for a push. +270 was a push in most (all?) matches.
May 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How do you know who’s got the K? If LHO has it, we should declare 3NT ourselves, if RHO has it, partner should declare. With Qxx it’s preferable that partner declares.
May 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Avon: The negative dbl in the poll promise 4+. The t/o double in the OP suggest, but doesn’t promise 4.
May 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On the last page, commenting on the other table, all hands are rotated 180 degrees in the text. I assume that the original hand was like that and that you’ve rotated the hand in the article to let south be declarer. And forgotten to do this in that paragraph.
May 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play transfer Walsh in a 15-17 NT context, 1 is clubs or 11-14 BAL, and we open all 11 counts in 1st and 2nd seat, use judgement in 3rd and 4th. (We do open lighter in general in 3rd seat, but might pass a non descript balanced 11-12 count.)

We play 1-1nt as a good 10 to 12 (or even a terrible 13). 1-2NT is a balanced GF without 4cM, not 15-17 (1-3NT).
May 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And a doubleton that might be useful too.
May 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 would show a good suit. I’d not jump rebid AJxxxx, for example, nor fake a reverse or jump shift into a non suit.
May 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Such hands would raise 1 to 2 in my partnerships.
May 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I assume partner’s pass over 4 shows a minimum balanced hand and that a double would have been for t/o. A double by me would end the auction here. My choice is 5 or 4. Wouldn’t be in this position, though, having bid 3 initially.
May 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IMO you need to add a king to the hand for 3 to make any sense.
May 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was on the jury deciding the best hand of the year, as a federation representative. The price is given by the Norwegian Bridge Press - our national bridge journalist club. Knut Kjærnsrød was also in the jury. He’s an IBPA member, very active too. I’m confident he’s already sent the hand to John C.
May 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nice, Avon. Trond knows Tom since 35 years back.
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes. Tom is a great player, knew exactly what he was doing.
May 9
.

Bottom Home Top