Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Harald Berre Skjæran
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would play your two first sequences as natural. The last as a sound spade raise.

(1) - 2 I play as Michaels.
Jan. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After 2-2NT i prefer:
3=max; 3 relay, opener bids his non-suit
3red=min transfer; completion of transfer by responder is INV
Jan. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Standard count and upside down attitude is standard here.
Jan. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But can you see any reason to play it?
Jan. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Had to abstain with the given options. North can’t stay out of slam after 4 from south.

South has an opener, IMO. But that’s a moot point.
Jan. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed: Where I play, most of the field will be in game, in tournaments, at least.

In my local club, it might be better to just invite, as some will invite and others probably will settle for 1NT. And making a trick more than most of those will provide a good score. But I prefer to play my normal game most of the time at the club.

At IMPs, a little more than 1/3 is good enough for me. I suppose your numer are a result of a DD sim.
Jan. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How short can the weak suit be? (37 hcp is possible only with 4333 distribution.)
Jan. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I see two Swedes voting penalty. In Sweden «all» doubles are take out. If two Swedes vote penalty, it IS penalty. :)
Jan. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What MI? As no other explanation is given, I suppose 1 was natural. Thus 2 was a cuebid. Even without an alert, you wouldn’t expect it to be natural. North even said after the hand that he would bid 2 knowing the meaning of 2 and SUPPORT diamonds later. So, knowing the bid isn’t natural, why not ask about the meaning, missing alert or not?
Jan. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Never after 1-1M-1NT, since 1NT shows 5431 with a singleton in my major (5r).

Seldom after 1 - transfer - 1NT, since 1NT denies 3-card support and can have a singleton in my major.
Jan. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With AKxxxx, I’d just bid game.
Jan. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Paul: Azerbaijan won the ESC in 2011.
Dec. 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know, but suspect that if there was an NBO, that would have been an EBL member. Azerbaijan is a member of the European Broadcasting Union, as an example.
Dec. 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There’s no Azerbaijan NBO among the EBL members.
Dec. 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Don’t need to ask. What you discribe was well known in that period of time.
Dec. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’m reading most of the stuff here on BW. The Honolulu 7NT Lead Discussion really stopped being interesting at one point. In addition, it took forever to load, thus I stopped reading it.

Does it really matter to you, though, what I read here?
Dec. 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I stopped reading comments after some 900 of them.
Dec. 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Matt, please elucidate. You're opinion in the matter isn't clear to me, although I have a suspicion.
Dec. 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
420? A ruffed, K, ruff, A, ruff, ruff, ruff, ruff is the first eight tricks, all won by declarer. He's still got three master trumps left in hand, making eleven tricks by the nose.

If the TD didn't offer east to retract his last pass, which seems like a fact reading the OP, this is an easy ruling: TD fault, both sides assumed not at fault. NS table result, EW +450.
Dec. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If pass of 5 is NF (it is, IMO), I prefer double to show extra strength over 5.
Dec. 15, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top