Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Harald Berre Skjæran
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
LAW 15 - WRONG BOARD OR HAND

A. Cards from Wrong Board

1. A call is cancelled (together with any subsequent call) if it is made by a player holding cards that he has picked up from a wrong board.

2. (a) If the offender’s partner has subsequently called, the Director shall award an adjusted score.

(b) Otherwise, after looking at the correct hand the offender calls again and the auction continues normally from that point.

© Law 16C applies to any call withdrawn or cancelled.

3. If the offender subsequently repeats his call on the board from which he mistakenly drew his cards the Director may allow that board to be played normally, but the Director shall award an adjusted score when offender’s call differs from his original cancelled call.

4. A procedural penalty (Law 90) may be assessed in addition to the rectifications above.
Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's North-South who push the tray back and forth through the screen. EW aren't allowed to move the tray at all, except at the start of the play period, IF they're the declaring side. The defenders aren't allowed to move the tray after the bidding is over.
Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Because everyone wouldn’t lead a diamond; there are other logical alternetives.
Dec. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And it looks like a correct ruling, too.

As for the lead problem; I’d always lead a diamond, except when pard hesitated and passed.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West doubled 4, not east.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted yes, too. According to the law 4th hand “should” make a claim statement, that is, he's obliged to do so.

That's got no consequence for the outcome of the claim, though. He'll get both tricks anyway.
Nov. 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed: That’s THE interpretation. DB knows what he’s talking about.
Nov. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After trick ten, declarer knows I have a spade and Qx left and partner a spade and two diamonds. Without the 8, he would just play a spade and have the rest. Playing the K is only consistent with him having the 8, gambling on me having the 10, and do the wrong discard.

I’m keeping the 10 to avoid a bottom.
Nov. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
However, east knows that north most probably has balanced with only four spades (no overcall over 1), and should double.
Nov. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But east doesn't know this when north balances with 2, only when west makes the final pass.
Nov. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The upper limit is indeed higher for an opening bid, disagree with much higher, though.

What’s a reasonalbl spot is highly depending on scoring. Playing in a making minor suit contract is a reasonable spot at IMPs. At matchpionts or BAM it’s not reasonable at all if you have a higher scoring spot (major suit or no trumps). I agree that the odds for already being in a reasonalble spot is higher after an overcall than after a minor suit overcall, though not much higher.

But then there’s those game bonuses, which I prefer to achieve, when possible.
Nov. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Would you bid 1 forcing with Axxxx Qxx xx xxx over a 1 opening?
Nov. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’m not voting without knowing the range for 2NT. I’m not going to make any assumptions regarding this, and find it very strange that the OP doesn’t give this information.
Nov. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I voted on that hand I was the only 5 voter, might have changed by now, though.
Oct. 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can't see how 3 can end the auction here.
Oct. 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
♠ A862
♥ void
♦ AJ532
♣ AQ103

Steve: “Bud, this is a 4 loser hand.”

Maybe you use some kind of adjustment factor I'm unfamiliar with. But I fail to understand how this isn't a five loser hand; 2+0+2-1=5.
Oct. 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The WBF is the authority on the Laws, the ACBL only on local North American regulations.
Oct. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When showing a major and a minor over 1NT, my preference has always been that the major is a four card suit and the minor longer. A weak five card major is OK, though. With 5M4m, I prefer to bid the hand as one suited M.
Oct. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not correct. The ACBL include more than one nation, and isn’t a NBO. The NBO’s in the area covered by the ACBL would be a Canadian, US and Mexican Bridge Federation.

The problem here is that the ACBL (as most NBOs and at least one ZO) predates the WBF. The ACBL is different from ZO’s as it in most cases operates as both a ZO and a NBO.
Oct. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is covered by law 15B. Your ruling was correct.
Oct. 19, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top