Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Hendrik Sharples
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 72 73 74 75
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Great story. Congratulations to both of you and thanks for sharing!
May 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yu, I figured posting the initial problem would be a waste of time, with everyone doubling or explaining the great treatment they have to show this hand. Now that a player a lot better than I am has stated 4 is normal, it's apparent that my assumption was wrong.
May 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You played against juniors and they didn't overcall when you opened 1?!? not possible…..
May 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, that is the auction my partner and I had when he gave me just the S hand to bid. So it may not be convincing, but it is what happened.
May 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry, Dave I don't have the matchpoints. I would guess all of them at a club, but I don't know where this happened other than in Canada somewhere
May 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good point
May 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for all the answers. 4S was doomed, but 3S was probably going to make. If the diamond hook had been on 3NT and 5D would have been easy, and 4S would have had play. Partner's hand xxx, Kx, AQJxxx, AJ. As partner was putting down dummy he said he should have bid 3NT instead of 3S. The matchpointers opening 1NT on partner's hand would end up in NT scoring close to a zero, as both opponents have clear heart leads, holding the contract to 8 tricks. 4D makes also.
May 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
sorry I can't add, though obviously I should have
May 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
WBF rules aren't as specific as ACBL. You can be disciplined for “reprehensible conduct”, whatever that is. However, if you pull out your cards and go into a 17 minute long tank, without making any sort of statement as to why you are doing so, I don't see how the WBF can decide that your slow play is “reprehensible”. In any case better to be tossed from the event than from the federation.
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Randy I've been D20 recorder (with a break) for over 25 years. The famous Ron Anderson vs the Juniors case in Reno (1997 or so) was the result of recorder forms. The system worked for a while, then stopped working because the national recorder realized he could do nothing and still get paid. That has changed now that Robb Gordon is national recorder.
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’ve been playing 2 systems for a long time at match points. Open all 10 overcall most hands precision with 4 card majors when invulnerable. It’s fun. We used to consistently finish 4th-8th just playing bridge at regional events, now we win our share. The structure also works well at the nationals where we aren’t really contenders for a win, but we have made it to the finals and placed many times.
April 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I go to hotels like this I make a Walmart run, buy a coffee maker for $10, filters for $3, and coffee for whatever. At the end of 10 days you have had coffee in your room every morning, and leave the coffee maker with a note for the maid to please give it to a friend in need, or donate.
Or you can get 10 pots of lukewarm coffee for $10-12 each - your choice
April 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I took them in high school & college (mostly college) due to a very heavy academic workload. For me all they did is keep me awake when I should have been sleeping. Never found a thrill in uppers, legal or not. I wouldn't think they would improve your bridge unless you were taking them to counteract exhaustion.
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At the club 100% of the other players holding that hand will lead their 4th best without a moments thought. By not leading a you are staking the entire hand on your choice of lead. If wrong you probably have no chance of recovery. However even if a heart is wrong your superior defensive skills might find a trick that the rest of the field doesn’t, so you now get an additional chance to get a good board. I think it’s important to go with th field on the mundane choices when you are the best or among the best players in the field.
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well done!
March 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you don't know what to do over partner's response to Blackwood, you shouldn't be bidding Blackwood. Also you should “never” bid Blackwood with 2 quick losers in an outside suit. 5 as has been mentioned above, is the right thing to do if you decide your hand is worth another bid.
March 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my early days looking for tricks (this was a limited event) holding K9x in dummy opposite Jx in hand (playing NT) I lead low to the J which held. Later I lead low to the K which held also. Several tricks later lefty pitched his now stiff A of the suit, and righty “followed” with the Q, meaning I got to score the 9 as well.
Playing a hand where I had overcalled 1NT and caught a dummy with with some high cards but no tricks. Lefty lead their partner's suit. I got to dummy and tried a diamond to my Q holding 10xx in dummy and Qx in my hand. Lefty won the K, gave me a funny look, and cashed the A, as her partner showed out.
March 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks you for posting this Bahar. I hope we will see you at the bridge table.
March 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wondering how many cell phone penalties it takes to go from 1154 to 78?
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not that I support the guy, but ACBL official stated that although he did not admit guilt the first two times, this time “Mr. Lanzarotti admitted cheating and explained what occurred. He made a complete disclosure and full apology.”
March 25
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 72 73 74 75
.

Bottom Home Top