Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Huub Bertens
1 2 3 4 5 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, according to your earlier comment I was not supposed to know that he showed heart support and shortness in spades. If this is true, and I think it is, how could I alert 3 ? Am I missing something? Or is this just to difficult.
April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
read it all, over and over again.
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sounds like nobody read what I had to say about all of this and it’s getting quit ridiculous.
This is just not how bridge works. 2-2-2-…… what you EXPECT is 2 or 2NT and you are ready to alert this. Suddenly the CHO bids 3, a non existing bid. How and why did I have to instantly alert that, had no clue what it meant BEFORE I thought some time about it. Probably\maybe should have alerted, and again 90% sure I didn’t, but if they had asked, what would be my answer???? Oh, he screwed up, it’s a splinter, or oh, I screwed up but he has and a splinter in .
Again, I might have done the wrong thing but your suggestion is not realistic.
The nicest one so far was the guy that suggested that 3 showed KQx in , a holding very hard to discribe. That was my second guess about what went wrong, right after all other things.

Did Jeff alert 2? You have to ask the opponents, I really don’t know but for sure he had no reason to do so, systematically it is natural. Playing Kokish you EXPECT your partner to alert 2, it’s not that you are watching like a hawk if he does.

Again, I might have messed up but the Directors and 8 polled players thought we didn’t, lucky us.
And for the last time, it was ME, the 2 opener who forgot.

See you all soon at the table,

Huub
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not defending myself at all, but if you know you screwed up, yes by the 3 bid, you try to find an ethical solution to this problem. That took me a while and it is absolutely possible I didn’t find it but for sure doing it in tempo is just to difficult. Say I could and would bid 6 in a split second, would that be ethical? As David said in his comments I should probably have made my intended bid of 3NT, although I know, but was not supposed to know that this is forcing for us.
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, very good point. I never realized till I read your comment, that I am not supposed to know partner has heart support and a stiff spade. We play 3NT after we established a fit in a Major as a cuebid for the other Major. That is the main reason I did not make that bid. Would be in even deeper s@#% if he cue bids 4cl over that.
Thanks for your insightful comment, never to old to learn.
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1. I woke up because of the non existing 3 call (although I must admit I hesitated already when I put the 2 bid on the table, no idea why)

2. We have an agreement that almost all of these kind of jumps are splinters. Not specific over 2 openers but in general.

3. In Jeff I finally found someone who was willing to play my 2 opening bids with me….. nice, I was the one who forgot.

4. With Curtis it was me who bid 2-2-2-3…..here it was me who made the impossible 3 bid.

5. Opposite a stiff spade my hand is gigantic, would never not try for a slam.

6. Could bid 5 to ask for the Queen of . Jeff would deny by bidding 5 and I could pass. It felt to me I was to strong and had to many good chances to do that.

7. I could have asked for the King of but could never suggest 6 if he didn’t have it. (the spiral thing, after asking for K of and respond, 6 would surely be a GST)

8. I tried 6 thinking that Jeff would always pass with a 4 card suit.

9. Still not sure what I would do after 6 probably pass. They will not always lead a into the strong hand, for sure not if they don’t have a sequence.

10. 90% sure I didn’t alert 3, I always forget to alert a splinter. Where I come from you don’t alert splinters, I think……

11. 100% agree with the opponents to call the director. In fact they wanted to call at the end of the bidding but I acknowledged the brake in tempo and told them to wait till the hand is over. They agreed.

12. I had no clue how the director would rule but if the result was changed I could live with that.

13. I would probably not appeal but have absolutely no problem with it.

14. I think the directors asked the right questions to 8 different players and according to the answers they got made the ruling that the table result would stand.

15. We ALL now that if we by accident ask 8 different players the outcome might have been different.

16. We got lucky twice, first we made it, second result stand. IMO rub of the green.

17. Never in my life would I deliberately look for an unfair advantage. I MIGHT have done but never intentional. Would have absolutely no problem with changing the result to 6 down whatever.

18. I once claimed a 6 contract with the statement “I draw trumps, ruff a and have 12 tricks.
(i played 1 round first to check if they were not 5-0) every body agreed but when I left the table I saw my LHO’s hand and trump split 4-1. I went back and told them to change the result in down 1. They had no clue why but happily wrote +50…. I would never have gone down after playing a 2nd round of trumps, but that was NOT my statement.

19. If I thought I had UI I would not bid this way but I thought I had a good enough bridge reason to bid on.

20. Opponents, sorry about al this, never ment to “steal” imp’s from you.

21. I have to say this, some wonderful comments in this article but also a LOT of BS.

See you at the table,

Huub
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
WHAT REALLY HAPPENED

Love the discussion, here is the explanation.

With this partner I changed the system to 2clubs and 2d both being artificial and strong. 2cl singlesuited or some balanced hands, 2d 2 suited or some balanced hands.
Before this we always played a standard American 2cl opening WITH Kokish.
After 2cl-2d-2h responder ALWAYS bids 2sp EXCEPT with 6+spades, then he will bid 2NT.
Other bids where not allowed. Direct jumps to 3D\H\S showed ace or king 7th and out.
We don’t play KOKISH anymore, I, 2cl opener forgot. When partner jumped to 3spades I knew it was a splinter, explained as one as well.
I was in deep dodo, go high or low. Opposit D king and H king slam would be good, so I decided to be optimistic, that’s who I am. I couldn’t bid 3NT anyway because that would show a spade cue and if partner responded 4cl I had no clue anymore. After 4D, showing the King (I knew he had a stiff spade) I had another decision to make, go high or Low. So 4sp, KC in H, if he shows 1 I am making a GST if rejected I can bid 6NT otherwise 7NT.
0 KC, chips, what next? Believe me it’s not easy if you make a mistake in the second round to make up for it. I could bid 5cl, asking for the queen of H. We play first step is no (5D) and I could pass. I decide to go high. If partner has 1444 he will probably pass 6D, if not I have to guess between 6H and 6NT.
We spiral here so a jump to 6D is extremely unusual for us, don’t believe we have a meaning for this. After the 4nt response I could have scanned with 5D, I didn’t do that.
No clue why partner passed with the actual hand, probably because I never bid like this before.
Knowing JEFF ROMAN very, very, well he for sure did not pass because I suggested something went wrong. I would hate this as an opponent but it feels as just a rub of the green.
Most of the time when you fuck up like I did it will cost you, here we where just very lucky, we bid to a pretty bad contract that accidentally makes. Don’t think anybody would call with the club king of-side.
March 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the Netherlands we have 2 systems, the firstis just your Total nummer of masterpoints, in other words, how old are you, and the second is your accomplishments over the last 4 years.
It counts your best 5 results of the year and halve of your next 5 results.
Last year counts for 100%, next to last for 75%, 2nd for 50% and first of the 4 year period, you guessed it, for 25%. At the beginning of the new year you lose your first year, the 25% one, and the current counts for a !00% etceter.
This is a much better system to determine who is really at the top over a period of 4 years.
At the end of the year ther are a couple of money prizes, payed by a sponsor (TRANSFER SOLUTION), in the different categories.
Jan. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In other words, I would NEVER lead a Diamond from a broken holding if partner doesn’t double.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Double would ask for a diamond lead. Simple rule, you doubled a cue-bid for the lead, not knowing at that moment it would be your lead. If partner now doubles it asks for the suit you doubled.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We have a pretty simple rule. “pass is only forcing if we BOTH know that we have bid game on strength”. Vulnerability has nothing to do with it.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, this is not completely true in the USA. The rule is that if you are late in a round you have to make up the time lost within 2 rounds. That means if you couldn’t do this you used, again, to much time.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It helps if a director stands behind people, but only behind those people who care being late. The habitual slow player doesn’t give a shit. Famous remark from one of them. “ I won’t play faster, they don’t give me a penalty anyway”.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, you to, this is completely NUTS. Although I don’t mind playing with tablets, it’s NOT the solution. Playing by the rules is, and for directors to enforce them.
Your proposal is to find a solution that helps the people who can’t play by the rules, ok you say, let’s change the rules. In the Netherlands we call this “ putting the horse behind the carriage”
Nobody cares if somebody is sometimes a little late, happens to all of us, it’s the habitual slow play that irritates.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
See above. To make sure, only for habitual slow play, not for someone who is a little late once every 3 sessions.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where is the I like it a lot button???
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peter, that is insane. The rules are there to be enforced. If a director can’t do that he should be relieved of his function. He gets paid to enforce the rules. “ a well, let’s not give them a 1 trick penalty for a revoke, he might get more negative feelings about it”. Really totally insane Peter.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
use 1spade to deny 4spades and double as showing 4 or 5. 2ha to show 6 and 2 spades as the cue-bid. Not having agreed this with partner I would pass 1ha or bid 2D. Double is ridiculous.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You looked at the wrong session. I played him yesterday when he was NS, followed him the day before as EW
Nov. 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry, should be a little bit more specific. I am a legal citizen of the Netherlands, a permanent resident of the USA. By USA law all green card holders( might be some exceptions) have to pay US taxes. I also have to file taxes in the Netherlands because I am a legal citizen of that country. That does not mean I have to PAY taxes in the Netherlands. It took only for years to get that sorted out…..
It's very different if you are a USA citizen. There are TWO country's in the world, according to the internet, that might let you pay double taxes, and yes, Iretrea is the other one……
Sept. 28, 2017
1 2 3 4 5 6
.

Bottom Home Top