Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jan Lagerman
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wonderful reading! Thank you.
Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“or it could have been that the agreements were different 9 years ago”

http://www.clairebridge.com/textes/bocchi-duboin.pdf

This one seems to be from 2007 and clearly says ATT leading vs Notrumps.
Dec. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This also goes for another players bidding cards.
Dec. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Top ten has a junior that has almost 5(!) years left as a junior.
Dec. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I only would have thought of that too. :)
Dec. 1, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I do not disagree, I just wonder which card is led from 97632 for example playing attitude? No one playes that method here so I am not familiar with it.
Nov. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In his fantastic “Bridgen i mitt liv” (Bridge in my life) Rudolf “Putte” Kock wrote about a cool deal from the days when bridge was young. Ofc, it was not a true deal as they played “Wiener Blood” which those days was what is a Goulasch deal today.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goulash_%28bridge%29

Anyway, Putte picked up AKJT98765432 A - - and cooly opened 7Sp. The lead was a heart that East ruffed with the SQ.

What was also cool with the book are a few ‘Ottlik squeezes’ that Putte called ‘squeeze with no name’ etc etc.
Entry shifting squeezes and winkles happened before Reese's and Geza's books, even if the players didn't know what to call those plays.
Nov. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Against Mr Polanski I will cover.
Nov. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steve C: The story had a sad ending. TD ruled the queen was an exposed card and had to be played whenever declarer said so. I really hope the story is not true. Maybe someone else can verify if it is or not.
Nov. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not sure if someone already posted it, but I heard (long ago) that long ago a french international (Mr Albarran) played in a world champion ship.
Mr A held AQ after the declarer who led small from dummy and then started to tank with KJ what card to play.
Now according to the story (I do not know if it is true, or if I remember it correct, but if it is) Mr A claimed one off as he showed his AQ and ….
yes, declarer called for the TD and demanded Mr A to play his queen under the king.

Nov. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North agreed to play with South and must take a small part of the blame. :)
Nov. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kn = Knekt or Knecht.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knecht

Nov. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The squeeze is indeed one that Reese has in his book.
In the bridge encyclopedia a Steppingstone squeeze must lose a trick (secondary squeeze) and this one does not. But it has some elements the stepping stones does, as you have the tricks, but is blocked. Reese has the squeeze in the Steppingstone chapter so the definition used by the encyclopedia is younger than Reese's book.

I asked around and Mr Pavlicek suggested ‘upside down squeeze’ for the OPs position. This because had the squeeze card been in South it would have been a simple squeeze. In the ‘upside down’ variety, you must have the ‘Ax K’ element, which is not required in a simple squeeze.
I liked that name and have since then used it myself.

(If the clubs would have been Tx J instead, it is a ‘Jettison squeeze’. If east discards his club winner, you have to jettison the club jack to get the last two tricks from Tx.)
Nov. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can North have Kxx Axx Kxxx KQx or would declarer have tried HQ at trick one if that was the case?

Nov. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How does West know about the 4 club tricks?
Nov. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“if we're talking about the honorable thing to do”

Can you explain pls what you mean?
Nov. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Did you talk to them after the accusations started? What did they say after Chennai?
Nov. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I recall a funny convention I heard about. “Dr Hoffmans bitter medicine” The guy who told me about that medicine said he opened 1S with a good hand 5431, against a married couple. Husband to his left overcalled 2D. Pass and 2H from the wife. He passed and saw 3C P P. No where to go he said pass and after partner led a spade dummy hit with 4252 (roughly) and a very weak hand.
She not only psyked 2H but also passed 3C with great support for diamonds! After some questioning it appeard that 2D was ace asking(!), “Dr Hoffmans bitter medicine” in action. 2H was zero aces and 3C was to play. Our man missed an easy 4H and was not amused. This was long before alerts obviously.
Oct. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In a Rosenblum semifinal 1994, declarer saw a high-low signal from one defender. He asked what it meant and the reply was ‘either attitude, count or SP’. It depended on what the signaller believed his partner wanted to know. This was a OK reply, according to Edgar in TBW. There, in USA 1994, the defenders were told by the TD they had to tell their first priority signal normally (whatever that is) in the situation that occured.
Oct. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Eric: As I have written elsewhere the error was not reported. We were never aware of it until at the airport when we went home.

Oct. 15, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top